Vertex Pharmaceuticals Employee Reviews about "great benefits"

Updated 20 Jan 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 41 of over 579 reviews

3.8
68%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Vertex Pharmaceuticals President and CEO Reshma Kewalramani
Reshma Kewalramani
96 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits at Vertex pharmaceuticals(in 41 reviews)

  • "Great people that are all committed to the company's mission statement(in 25 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Work life balance can be a challenge(in 29 reviews)

  • "Very little career progression, incompetent senior management(in 18 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "great benefits"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Intern, less than 1 year

      Good work environment

      10 Mar 2020 - Industrial Placement Student in Abingdon, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good pay and great benefits and great people

      Cons

      nothing to have notice so far

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Corrupt organization that retaliates

      4 Jan 2021 - Pharmacovigilance Specialist in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits, beautiful location, wonderful cafeteria

      Cons

      Upper management of my department was and still is corrupt. I went to Human Resources because my manager did something he should not have. Human Resources agreed, but just gave him a slap on the wrist and were more upset and put it in my records as they did not the way I went about reporting it. That manager left, and my new manager was great but she told me I she tried to get me promoted but the VP of my department will never promote me because of my report to Human Resources. That is pure retaliation and against the law. I just did a training on this at my current job so thought of this and it upset me so am writing this.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Great company benefits/pay but micro-management culture

      4 Jan 2021 - Associate Director - IT in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits, growing company, good location.

      Cons

      Management not supportive, tend to micromanage.

      1 person found this review helpful

      Vertex Pharmaceuticals Response

      Vertex Pharmaceuticals

      We appreciate you taking your time to post a review.

    4. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Overall good company

      20 Jan 2021 - Associate Director in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Strong product/revenue base, good equity comp, work life balance is decent, great benefits

      Cons

      advancement opportunities are limited, some politics and silos

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Good place to start if you have a lot of industry experience

      13 Nov 2020 - Lab Technician in Kansas City, MO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits and good location

      Cons

      Individual development is limited depending on department

      1 person found this review helpful

      Vertex Pharmaceuticals Response

      Vertex Pharmaceuticals

      Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

    6. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great place to start your career

      17 Nov 2020 - Innovation Manager in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits and starting salaries

      Cons

      difficult location to travel to in seaport

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Vertex Pharmaceuticals Response

      Vertex Pharmaceuticals

      Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Definitely on a journey

      4 Oct 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits and truely passionate people that want to learn, make a difference and help our patients.

      Cons

      Fast moving, top leadership heavy, some areas fix a symptom not the route cause.

      2 people found this review helpful

      Vertex Pharmaceuticals Response

      Vertex Pharmaceuticals

      Thank you for taking to post your review. It is great to hear when our employees appreciate the benefits. We will provide you feedback to the leadership team.

    8. 4.0
      Current Employee

      exec admin

      22 Oct 2020 - Executive Assistant in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits at Vertex pharmaceuticals

      Cons

      The commute is terrible for most

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Vertex Pharmaceuticals Response

      Vertex Pharmaceuticals

      Thank you for posting your review. We hope that your current commute is going better with the remote working in place due to COVID.

    9. 4.0
      Current Contractor, more than 1 year

      Great company, if you can ever get in

      31 Mar 2020 - Scientific Associate in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people to work with, very open to fresh ideas no matter how new you are. Great benefits and events that keep the workplace fun (beer hour, special activities for holidays, etc.) and amazing benefits for full time employees (commuter benefits, tuition reimbursement, vacation time)

      Cons

      If you're a temporary employee, good luck getting converted. Your colleagues will treat you fine but the company excludes you from pretty much everything, no benefits through the temp agency, and you'l be strung along in terms of getting converted to a full time role.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Corruptive Management

      26 Nov 2019 - Administrative Coordinator in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great company culture and company wide start up training on job. Great benefits packages.

      Cons

      Management will use administrative staff as personal secretary. Will make you believe your position will go somewhere and that you're making good money, but it's not worth the degrading work you have to do to get there (at least with the head of clinical trials management). Duties were far from what was anticipated after interview. Duties will include bringing blanket to manager when cold in meetings, cleaning up meeting messes, answering to children of manager's non-work-related phone calls, and being overall degraded by manager. From what I have heard, other departments are great to work with, however, if you don't want to be humiliated as a human, DO NOT work for this department.

      Continue reading
      21 people found this review helpful

      Vertex Pharmaceuticals Response

      Vertex Pharmaceuticals

      We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your time at Vertex. If you were still employed with the company, we would have suggested you reach out to your HR rep. We will make sure to provide feedback to the proper departments.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 41 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Vertex Pharmaceuticals Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Vertex Pharmaceuticals? Share Your Experiences

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals logo
    or