Vertex Pharmaceuticals Employee Reviews about "senior management"

Updated 15 Sep 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 18 of over 579 reviews

3.8
68%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Vertex Pharmaceuticals President and CEO Reshma Kewalramani
Reshma Kewalramani
96 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits at Vertex pharmaceuticals(in 41 reviews)

  • "Great people that are all committed to the company's mission statement(in 25 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Work life balance can be a challenge(in 29 reviews)

  • "Very little career progression, incompetent senior management(in 18 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "senior management"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Research Scientist II

      15 Sep 2020 - Research Scientist II in Oxford, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      good salary, good benefits, good bonuses, good culture

      Cons

      Very little career progression, incompetent senior management

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Vertex Pharmaceuticals Response

      Vertex Pharmaceuticals

      Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We will make sure to provide your feedback to the leadership team in Oxford.

    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great comp & bens, hell after a few months

      29 Aug 2019 - Administrative Associate IV in Paddington, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great onboarding for new employees Salary and benefits (which is the only reason people start/stay) Great office location Usually some type of BS campaign being held every week, free food.

      Cons

      Senior management appear to lack basic communication skills. (My team were called in for a "team update" when a co-worker had been fired, it was extremely uncomfortable) Bullying is rife and goes unchecked, across more than just my dept and across all levels. Admins are expected to do way above the norm by working many long hours! **NB although if you have the right Manager you can also get away with doing the bare minimum, enabling you to take as many smoke breaks outside when you want, 2hr lunches plus extra long coffee breaks, can also farm out your duties to other admins (got to be in the know though) If you aren't up to the job, you're shown the door very quickly (no coaching or support given) Promotions are generally only given to "favourites" no matter how hard you work, or length of service. During my service I saw countless numbers of people leave, both pushed and jumped, but nothing is ever addressed, so you either like it or lump it!

      Continue reading
      16 people found this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Toxic Culture

      18 Jun 2020 - Director in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good salary and benefits. Probably the reason why people join.

      Cons

      Work life balance is abysmal, the expectation is that you all even till midnight if that is what it takes. Senior management have a blame culture and favouritism is rampant.

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful

      Vertex Pharmaceuticals Response

      Vertex Pharmaceuticals

      Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your time at Vertex and would have suggested you talk to your manager or to Human Resources. Good luck in your next role.

    4. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Ask good questions at interview

      27 Sep 2016 - Anonymous Employee in Oxford, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Really great science in challenging disease areas. Colleagues are highly trained and work hard under considerable time pressure. Growing company which can be an energising environment.

      Cons

      Deadlines for delivering work are usually unrealistic. Very fearful culture, with senior management pressing for results urgently, whether or not this is required. Values include "We wins", although the fear that project Leaders have that they will be berated by senior managers makes it a very uncollaborative environment.

      Continue reading
      15 people found this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      All talk, no walk

      24 Aug 2019 - GMDA in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great salary and benefits: -10%+ yearly bonuses with 20-50% stock awards that vest over 3 years. -4 weeks vacation to start and company shut down between Christmas and New year -$300/month commuter benefit, charitable donation matching, and $125/month student loan payment  -401k is just OK with 100% match for up to 3% and 50% match for an additional 1-3% I am lucky that I work on a team with a manager who is supportive, empathetic, and reasonable. The people I work closest with are smart, helpful, and generally easy to work with. Like most places, your experience will vary depending on the department and immediate team. Vertex as a whole is extremely successful, and I take pride in working for a company that focuses on rare genetic diseases and research.

      Cons

      All the comments about senior management in GMDA are spot-on. The comment about adding barriers instead of value is particularly accurate. Extra layers of process and review add inefficiencies and confusion. Decision makers are either unresponsive, unreasonable, or can't agree with each other. They also want their hands in every. little. thing.  Vertex talks a big talk about wanting to support its employees, help them grow, maintain work-life balance, "push decision making down and out" (please), but never follows through. There is a lot of unnecessary pressure and finger-pointing that leads to fear and burnout. They badger and bribe employees to complete an "optional" development plan so that they can say they got 100% participation and claim they did something to support employee development; whether the content of these plans is actually useful is another story. Vertex also talks big about innovation and excellence, but, in my department in particular, opportunities are decided by seniority instead of merit. I am told time and again that I'm ahead of my peers who have been here longer, and yet they get most of the choice projects and growth opportunities. People are ridiculously sensitive about fairness.

      Continue reading
      27 people found this review helpful

      Vertex Pharmaceuticals Response

      Vertex Pharmaceuticals

      Thank you for taking the time in posting your review. We take feedback seriously and are working on the issues you wrote about. We will make sure your feedback is sent to the leadership team and HR.

    6. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Run far away

      23 May 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The Boston location is in the heart of the seaport and the building is beautiful.

      Cons

      Unfortunately this company has taking a turn for the worst. GMDA was once a group that worked collaboratively for the greater good. Now, it is a completely toxic culture, which is lead by fear. It is now the norm to see the senior management throw their team under the bus, back-up and do it again. There is no leadership at the VP level, no desire to listen or help employees (HR is a joke), and horrible discrimination based on gender/race/ethnicity. Be certain that if you try to talk to HR or a senior leadership there will be significant retaliation. Do not be fooled! The pay and benefits are not that good, you will never get anything above a 3% pay raise and promotions are extremely difficult. There is zero work-life balance, as senior management expects you to work round the clock to hit the ridiculous timelines they set in order to be able to brag about being the fastest drug company to bring new products to market.

      Continue reading
      22 people found this review helpful

      Vertex Pharmaceuticals Response

      Vertex Pharmaceuticals

      Sorry to hear about your experience at Vertex. We take pride in Diversity and Inclusion and the benefits we offer. We will make sure to provide your feedback to GMDA and HR. Thank you.

    7. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Get rid of the rotten apple

      20 Nov 2019 - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Beautiful location and good industry with upside potential.

      Cons

      Vertex Pharmaceuticals is a very political place to work. The executive management team has their own small clique and their own favorites. Workplace bullying and harassment results in the victim suffering from degenerating health, diminished morale, and poor work performance. Benefits and pay are a slap in the face. The senior management doesn't know how to run the company and the hard working employees are the ones paying the price.

      29 people found this review helpful

      Vertex Pharmaceuticals Response

      Vertex Pharmaceuticals

      We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your time at Vertex. If you were experiencing difficulties in your role, we would have suggested you speak with your manager or HR. We will make sure to provide this feedback to our senior leadership team.

    8. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Stay miles away from this company

      8 Oct 2019 - Director in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There are few (very few) true professionals left in the company

      Cons

      Micromanagement, harassment by Senior Management, mediocre talent at executive leadership.

      Continue reading
      19 people found this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      A Good Company To Work For (Until It's Not)

      8 Nov 2015 - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The company itself does very well, and I liked the company's approach to pharmaceuticals, investigating areas that needed attention, not just the ones that were going to make the most money.

      Cons

      In my area of work, senior management micro-managed my team. Further, I did not like how I was laid off. Noone likes to be laid off, of course, but there was no notice, it was not performance-based, I was simply pulled into an office and told that they were going in a different direction and I was no longer needed.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Vertex has become a company without a soul

      26 Apr 2018 - Scientist in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Really smart people work there.

      Cons

      In 2 words: senior management. The goals are set by senior management and they set unattainable goals and then hold everyone to achieving them. Senior management is out of touch with the workforce. They do not care about people or patients. They are driven by their personal bonuses and corporate profit. There is no loyalty to employees. Everyone is viewed as a replaceable commodity. They like to talk about work place diversity but the executive team is exclusively white, middle aged men. The environment is highly adversarial. Those that want to climb the corporate ladder step on one another to get recognition from senior management.

      Continue reading
      33 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 18 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Vertex Pharmaceuticals Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Vertex Pharmaceuticals? Share Your Experiences

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals logo
    or