Virgin America Guest Services Teammate Reviews

Updated 29 Oct 2017

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
50%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
Virgin America CEO C. David Cush
C. David Cush
19 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Used to be great, after takeover don’t bother."

    2.0
    Current Employee - Guest Service Teammate 
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Virgin America full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flight benefits. It used to be a great company.

    Cons

    This used to be an excellent company, with a fabulous corporate culture. Coming to work was fun, and as a smaller airline, you quickly got to know everyone from the CEO down. We did things differently, and won a lot of awards for it. Enter: Alaska Airlines. The subpar legacy airline was struggling to retain customers with its lackluster fleet and limited relevant destinations. They have quickly started stripping down the once excellent virgin product, replacing it with their own boring and dated versions. Virgin employees have lost schedule flexibility, weeks of Vacations, competitive starting wages, and worst of all, our spirit. Once they get the single operating certificate, Alaska will finish gutting the Virgin name, and it will look like ever other boring airline. If you want to work for an old fashion carrier, I’d go with a bigger one, because at least you’d get better destinations to fly to. RIP Virgin America.

    Virgin America2017-10-29
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Working here is a COMPLETE waste of your time, trust me!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Guest Services Teammate in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Virgin America full-time

    Pros

    - "Travel Perks" - "nice" coworkers Why the quotations, I'll explain below

    Cons

    -low pay ($14.47) for an overload of work and constant yelling from guests -hours are terrible, will have to work here for a long while until you can get the schedule that you want so expect to work either really early in the morning (4-6am) or late in the evening (3pm). -sure some of the coworkers are nice, BUT just when you think you're making good friends ha nobody is a friend here; it's almost laughable. -travel perks only good when you can go on your days off, which I can tell you will not be a weekend so good luck trying to travel with someone. AND WHAT THEY DON'T TELL YOU: If you're traveling with a travel companion (who is not your parents or spouse or children, i.e. domestic partner, significant other, friend, even grandma, etc.), you will get imputed taxed, which means that IT'S REALLY NOT FREE. It's FREE* (* for fine prints). -even with your day off, you'll only be able to go somewhere for 1 day, 1.5 day if you're lucky. -good luck trying to get people to trade or cover you when you want to travel longer or on say a weekend (for those of you with bf/gfs that have normal work schedules). Need an idea of how shady people are here? Example: I asked someone who I thought was nice and everything, if she/he didn't mind switching one of their days off with one of mines. His/Her response: Thursday's are more work you know, I should get another of your days off. -last but not least, they're merging with Alaska Airlines, and so far, it's going downhill; most people have already left because of this. What am I trying to say? ALL-IN-ALL, none of this is worth the perks and stress.

    Continue reading
    Virgin America2017-09-24
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Don't waste your time"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Guest Services Teammate in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Virgin America part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Free tickets with airline Nice uniforms with nice colors San Francisco is a nice city for a headquarters You can travel often

    Cons

    Bad management Low pay Hard to work up in company Favoritism Unstable due to high turnovers No organization Point systems

    Continue reading
    Virgin America2017-08-03
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Guest Services Teammate"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Guest Services Teammate 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Virgin America part-time

    Pros

    The awesome people you work with makes it worth it. Travel Perks are great.

    Cons

    Recently got acquired by Alaska Air.

    Virgin America2017-04-25
  5. "GST"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Guest Services Teammate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Virgin America

    Pros

    Perks perks perks and a great group of people ...

    Cons

    Hours not a morning person

    Virgin America2017-04-15
  6. "Guest Service Teammate"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Guest Services Teammate in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin America full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Culture and the exemplification of the Virgin Values from the top down for the most part

    Cons

    Alaska Airlines Acquisition and the lack of information given to the VX teammates

    Continue reading
    Virgin America2016-12-02
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Pros and Cons"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Guest Service Teammate in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Virgin America full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of responsibility, trusted with high security stuff, very interesting people, fun culture at times, cool uniforms, standby flight perks, get inside perspective on airline industry, meet a ton of people, free food around Virgin anniversary celebrations, company-sponsored "office" parties, lots to learn, better than most hourly gigs, doesn't require schooling

    Cons

    Customer service job, airports are the place where emotions are high and everything is a crisis for the customer, training takes you away from your life for 3 weeks straight - to another state, not much opportunity for career growth, lots of favoritism in how you're managed, fear-based management, not a great deal of trust with your bosses, sometimes they're younger and more immature than your peers, standby is not exactly a fun way to live when hoping to travel as almost everything is a maybe, airport work hours can be crap - 4 am start and 4 hour shifts for example, full-time or part-time isn't guaranteed and changing between the two is a whole process, wearing panty hose and required makeup everyday means you spend a lot of money month to month on them, you have to worry about how you look constantly, the pay is pretty crappy, the management doesn't trust the headquarters "higher ups" to be transparent either, it's an edgy environment sometimes because of this.

    Virgin America2016-10-17
  8. Helpful (1)

    "LOVE"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Guest Services Teammate in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin America full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fun, young, innovative, flexible schedule, flight benefits

    Cons

    highly demanding during weather related issues or cancellations

    Continue reading
    Virgin America2016-05-24
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Great company, great people."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Guest Services Teammate in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin America full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule and good co workers make this job one that's easy to come to everyday. You get to travel the world for next to nothing. It's fun to hear about guest trips and meet many different types of people.

    Cons

    Parking at the airport can get pricey, and traffic going to and from can definitely become annoying. You have to pay a toll every time you leave work...

    Continue reading
    Virgin America2016-05-09
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Virgin America (SFO)"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Guest Service Teammate in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Virgin America full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flight benefits Lots of catering Fun coworkers Cute uniform It's a new airline so lots of exciting new destinations being added Richard Branson occasionally stops in Official airline for the Giants Profit sharing Small yearly raise

    Cons

    You will not get promoted even if you are qualified to do so If the manager doesn't want you promoted, you won't be Management plays favorites It seems as though only certain races get promoted You bid for your shift every 3-4 months

    Continue reading
    Virgin America2016-03-12
Found 23 reviews