Virgin America Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Virgin America Reviews

Updated 27 Jan 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 325 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
53%
Approve of CEO
Virgin America CEO C. David Cush
C. David Cush
195 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flight Benefits , Health Insurance & 401 Match(in 45 reviews)

  • "This position is great if you like dealing with the public and travel benefits(in 27 reviews)

Cons
  • "low pay and youre based in san francisco out of training and can not afford to live there with the horrible pay starting out(in 23 reviews)

  • "Crashpads are tough and Alaska Airlines is talking over so the company culture is dying(in 17 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Seats"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - GST 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Virgin America part-time

    Pros

    Great people and fun environment

    Cons

    no seats at ticket counter

    Virgin America2019-01-28
  2. "Supervisor of Uniform Program"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Virgin America full-time

    Pros

    Amazing people Family atmosphere growth opportunities

    Cons

    We were acquired by another airline

    Virgin America2018-09-28
  3. "Awesome culture. Amazing people."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Burlingame, CA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Virgin America full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Incredible relationships built here. Loved that I could bring my whole self to work.

    Cons

    Pay is not as competitive as other companies in the area.

    Virgin America2018-09-22
  4. "Flight Attendent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Virgin America full-time

    Pros

    travel, meet new people. start your work day in one city and end it in a different one

    Cons

    low pay and youre based in san francisco out of training and can not afford to live there with the horrible pay starting out. other than that, its a very fun job

    Virgin America2018-09-20
  5. "Flight Attendant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Flight Attendant in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin America full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Be who you are always

    Cons

    Nothing that u can think of

    Advice to Management

    Love vx forever

    Virgin America2018-09-19
  6. "VXForever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin America full-time

    Pros

    Best Airline. It was a lot of fun and great energy.

    Cons

    That Alaska bought the airline and ruined everything

    Virgin America2018-09-18
  7. "Great airline"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Burlingame, CA
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Virgin America full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Fun, fast paced environment, great teammates.

      Cons

      senior managers: For an innovative company they were pretty old school on managing. really frowned on remote work. Would not give titles/promotions due to being a "flat organization" which was baloney.

      Advice to Management

      Sr Management took the golden parachute so all ends well for them. If they move to other adventures I would suggest to become better with their own teammates, be honest and don't hide behind words like "flat organization"

      Virgin America2018-09-11
    • "Director"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Director in San Francisco, CA
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Virgin America full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Culture. Culture. Teammates. Creativity. Innovation.

      Cons

      None. That Alaska Airlines acquired Virgin.

      Virgin America2018-09-11
    • "Guest Service Teammate"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Virgin America full-time

      Pros

      Free flights in the US ans Mexico

      Cons

      Unpredictable schedule by seniority

      Virgin America2018-08-15
    • "Guest Service Teammate"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Virgin America part-time

      Pros

      None unless you had a high seniority number.

      Cons

      Zero up front communication regarding training and pay, fake personalities, upper management gossip, slander, and bullying. In addition, bidding experience for a reasonable schedule was a joke unless you had high seniority and those with high seniority would stalk and harass you so they could end up with the perfect schedule while you end up working over 35 hours as a part time teammate with zero benefits.

      Advice to Management

      None. Vx no longer exists. But if it did I'd say learn how to communicate without being a bully and treat people how you would like to be treated otherwise don't work in customer service.

      Virgin America2018-09-10
    Found 325 reviews