Virgin America "travel benefits" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Virgin America Employee Reviews about "travel benefits"

Updated 20 Nov 2017

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
74%
Recommend to a Friend
51%
Approve of CEO
Virgin America CEO C. David Cush
C. David Cush
196 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flight Benefits , Health Insurance & 401 Match(in 44 reviews)

  • "This position is great if you like dealing with the public and travel benefits(in 27 reviews)

Cons
  • "low pay and youre based in san francisco out of training and can not afford to live there with the horrible pay starting out(in 23 reviews)

  • "Crashpads are tough and Alaska Airlines is talking over so the company culture is dying(in 17 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "travel benefits"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work until it was acquired..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Virgin America full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Travel Benefits - Fly for almost free, Wonderful teammates and events

    Cons

    Red Tape, some people aren't recognized till it's too late and some are promoted so quickly - just got worse post AS -VX acquisition.

    Continue reading
    Virgin America2017-11-20
  2. "Flight attendant fun but poor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin America full-time

    Pros

    Travel benefits, cool atmosphere, independence

    Cons

    Low salary, demanding, away from home

    Continue reading
    Virgin America2017-08-13
  3. "Flight Attendant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Virgin America full-time

    Pros

    co-workers, culture, travel benefits, health benefits

    Cons

    low pay, not much room for advancement

    Virgin America2017-06-24
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Awesome place to work if you enjoy a busy work environment & taking care of people all the time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pramugari in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin America full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Travel Benefits!, Amazing & FUN Co-workers, unpredictable daily tasks/challenges so you never feel bored.

    Cons

    Hourly pay is below-standard and work rules are frustrating. The schedule can be exhausting @ times & stressful. People can be entitled, rude and/or mean.

    Continue reading
    Virgin America2017-05-28
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Flight Attendant (Inflight Team Member)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Flight Attendant in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin America full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Travel benefits, work culture, uniforms

    Cons

    Low pay and poor work rules for inflight crew (cabin crew). You're at the mercy of crew scheduling.

    Continue reading
    Virgin America2017-05-09
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Flight Attendant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin America full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Virgin America hires AMAZING people and I will have life long friends from this company. I have also seen some beautiful places. They offer great health, dental and travel benefits and match our 401k 6%. The people team (human resources) is very helpful and reliable. As difficult of job as it is, I personally feel like a lot of the guests do appreciate my friendly nature and hard work.

    Cons

    Management plays favorites. They promote who they like and put the wrong people in charge. The people above me and in charge of in flight schedules don't care about the front line at all! We are worked to the bone and extremely underpaid. We do not meet industry standards, from the pay to the schedules. Our raises are $1 a year. Our gate agents raises are about 10 cents! Our QIP and Profit sharing are laughable. People work in the airlines for the flexibility of their schedules. You have zero flexibility here, unless it's a lucky day, and pretty much only at the SFO base. Vacation pay for us is worth 17 hours. We don't even have 4 day trips worth that credit. The only consistency here is inconsistency. Reserves are severely abused, working transcon red eye turns, worked into their days off, put on 24 hour rest on layovers to count as their days off, etc. We can't work 7 days in a row because of a 25.5 buffer rule the company put on us, where as the FAA has a 24/7 rule. The on demand ordering system has created a monster for us. I don't mind working hard, but pay me for it. The ordering never stops and neither does a long bathroom line clogging up the aisle. This company labels everything as a "grey area." If you have a problem and need to refer to the work rules, everything is basically a grey area. Unfortunately my work group voted down our only chance at a contract and I think the pilots are still working on one. Don't ever work for an airline without a union. You have zero job security without one and sadly this company will just let you go like you never meant anything to them. They have been sued many times for as a result. Last thing, pep rallies at HQ that you are required to attend and paid for less than half the time you're there.

    Continue reading
    Virgin America2017-04-23
  7. "Senior Marketing Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Virgin America full-time

    Pros

    Travel benefits and flexible schedules

    Cons

    Pay was not the best and no structure

    Virgin America2017-03-20
  8. "Great Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor in Calif City, CA
    Recommends
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin America full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Travel Benefits are great

    Cons

    Some people can make it difficult

    Virgin America2017-03-09
  9. Helpful (3)

    "It's been a great experience so far...."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    GST in Fort Lauderdale, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin America for less than a year

    Pros

    This position is great if you like dealing with the public and travel benefits. People you work with turn into family.

    Cons

    Pay is low and hours can be long during the busy season. You work very close with coworkers... could be a blessing or a curse.

    Virgin America2017-02-21
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Fun. Enjoy the flight benefits."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Flight Attendant in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin America

    Pros

    Travel benefits Hotel is paid for Per diem covered New locations to see New people to interact with Meet new people

    Cons

    The pay is low It is a customer service job Some people are pretentious You have to be flexible Time zone change differences are challenging

    Continue reading
    Virgin America2017-01-07
Found 27 reviews