Virgin Atlantic Airways Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Virgin Atlantic Airways Reviews

Updated 28 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
66%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Virgin Atlantic Airways CEO Shai Weiss
Shai Weiss
30 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Pay is no better than any other airline(in 16 reviews)

  • "Cabin Crew management are unsupportive and you are just a number, they don’t care for your concernes(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Love being part of the Virgin family!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Crawley, West Sussex, South East England, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin Atlantic Airways full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great team spirit and work with so many like-minded people Open culture which encourages you to bring your full self to work Amazing travel benefits worldwide (lounge access, space available upgrades, etc.) Varied work and responsibilities

    Cons

    Limited career progression unless open to trying other departments or functions Not much access to external training or courses

    Virgin Atlantic Airways2020-03-10
  2. "Unconventional but great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin Atlantic Airways full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The people are amazing. They pride themselves in being 'Virgin' and it really is a thing.

    Cons

    Pay is not great at all. They have archaic rules about pay rises promotions. Even when you get promoted your salary can't increase more than 10%.

    Continue reading
    Virgin Atlantic Airways2020-03-05
  3. Helpful (1)

    "You are just a number"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cabin Crew in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin Atlantic Airways full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Travel the world and look glamorous whilst doing so.

    Cons

    The staff are ultimate bullies, the day I joined I was far younger than the training group and was alienated. In my first 6 months I had better flight reviews than crew that had been there for 20 years, working hard gets you nowhere unless you brown nose. You end up bullied and hated by other crew for being outstanding at your job. Cabin Crew management are unsupportive and you are just a number, they don’t care for your concernes. They stalk crew Facebook profiles to find what they don’t deem appropriate to force disciplinary upon you, thank god for the union.

    Continue reading
    Virgin Atlantic Airways2020-03-29
  4. "Great People Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head of Operations in Crawley, West Sussex, South East England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin Atlantic Airways full-time

    Pros

    Fantastic Company to work for

    Cons

    Needs more back office investment

    Virgin Atlantic Airways2020-02-11
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Customer relations admin executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative in Crawley, West Sussex, South East England, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Virgin Atlantic Airways part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The challenges, never a dull moment

    Cons

    Better training support needed, norlt enough

    Continue reading
    Virgin Atlantic Airways2020-01-14
  6. "Ultra long haul"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Airline Pilot in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin Atlantic Airways full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Staff travel benefits if you don’t mind unpopular routes

    Cons

    Long haul fatigue if you’re on the wrong fleet. Poor pay progression. Bad management

    Continue reading
    Virgin Atlantic Airways2020-02-18
  7. "Good employer, clear and transparent. Fair treatment with average pay for the job role."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cabin Crew in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin Atlantic Airways full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits - best in the industry. Fair sickness policies. Ability to change roster to suit you.

    Cons

    Pay is no better than any other airline. Difficult to move from London Heathrow to another base (cabin crew). Difficult to get desired holidays, as everything is seniority based.

    Virgin Atlantic Airways2019-12-30
  8. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Virgin Atlantic Airways full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Travel and night stops

    Cons

    Pay Not great and no pay tises

    Virgin Atlantic Airways2019-12-26
  9. "Bad pay, management is awful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cabin Crew in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin Atlantic Airways part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I worked here for the travel. The trips are getting shorter. We work hard and yet we are treated appallingly

    Cons

    Pay, our recent pay deal actually saw us take a bit of a pay cut.

    Continue reading
    Virgin Atlantic Airways2020-01-07
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Hello"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Virgin Atlantic Airways full-time

    Pros

    Paid every single month without fail

    Cons

    Working hard all of the time is boring

    Virgin Atlantic Airways2019-11-25
Found 233 reviews