Virgin Atlantic Airways Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Virgin Atlantic Airways Reviews

Updated Oct 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 213 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
75%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Virgin Atlantic Airways CEO Shai Weiss
Shai Weiss
19 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "unconscious bias alive and kicking in the airline(in 15 reviews)

  • "I decided to leave Virgin Atlantic for many reasons, but mostly because I felt undervalued and ignored by cabin crew management(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "pros outweigh cons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Cabin Crew 

    I worked at Virgin Atlantic Airways full-time

    Pros

    travel perks and meeting new people

    Cons

    tiring when you do long haul

    Virgin Atlantic Airways2019-10-02
  2. "Good benefits shame about the working environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Virgin Atlantic Airways full-time

    Pros

    7 free flights a year and you get to work with some genuine people that want to help.

    Cons

    You only get promotions if you're in with the correct people. The ones that want to climb the ladder never seem to get noticed.

    Advice to Management

    Employ supervisors that actually want to be there and that aren't just there for the pay cheque.

    Virgin Atlantic Airways2019-10-13
  3. "Great people delivering a great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head of Reward in Crawley, West Sussex, South East England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin Atlantic Airways full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Opportunities to grow and develop

    Cons

    lack of people IT investment

    Virgin Atlantic Airways2019-09-22
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Constant challenge to overcome inter section bickering. Changing targets and priorities with too few staff and difficult"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Relations in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Virgin Atlantic Airways full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Travel perks and a bit of glamour if you are customer facing.

    Cons

    Bad managers, promotion to gorgeous people lacking skills, too much work, too short timescales so always patched over problems. Not a quality place to work.

    Advice to Management

    Promote based on skills, appreciate your staff, don't come in late in last night's clothes!

    Virgin Atlantic Airways2019-10-04
  5. "A good company but has been challenging times!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Crawley, West Sussex, South East England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin Atlantic Airways full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Most of the people you work with are very passionate about there job and customers. Great travel perks.

    Cons

    Constant change of management and lack of direction, although this is starting to get better. So many restructures it has become exhausting to keep up with, and some great people have left. Some of the changes have been rushed through without much thought. Some very stressed and worn out people.

    Advice to Management

    There is a real gap form EVP level down, and communication is generally poor. it would be good to actually see the senior leaders!

    Virgin Atlantic Airways2019-10-03
  6. "See the world"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cabin Crew in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin Atlantic Airways part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    You get to travel and see the world, meet lots of new people

    Cons

    You work long and unusual hours

    Advice to Management

    Take care of your employees and they’ll take care of your business

    Virgin Atlantic Airways2019-09-10
  7. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pricing Analyst in Crawley, West Sussex, South East England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin Atlantic Airways full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The benefits are very good

    Cons

    None, Great company to work for. Can’t fault them.

    Virgin Atlantic Airways2019-09-08
  8. "Great Job for travel"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cabin Crew in Leicester, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Virgin Atlantic Airways full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great opportunity to travel and stay in nice hotels, lovely crew to work with for the most part. Some opportunity for free tickets excluding tax

    Cons

    Remote working so no real relationship with management, scheduling holiday 6 to 12 months in advance. Constant pay disputes and limited progression. Very tiring long term.

    Virgin Atlantic Airways2019-09-04
  9. "CSA LHR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Agent in Heathrow, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin Atlantic Airways full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Be amazing, make friends and always think red.

    Cons

    No downsides to the role.

    Virgin Atlantic Airways2019-08-25

    Virgin Atlantic Airways Response

    August 28, 2019Consultant- Social Media & Search

    Lovely to hear this positive feedback - thank you for sharing it.

  10. "Best spa job I've ever had"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SPA Therapist in Heathrow, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin Atlantic Airways part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits of flights, Virgin Group and some passengers tip you,

    Cons

    Short treatments so alot of massage and most people want deep tissue

    Advice to Management

    Over the shirt massage should be a maximum of 15 mins. Aromatherapy massage should be the 30-60 min option

    Virgin Atlantic Airways2019-08-01

    Virgin Atlantic Airways Response

    August 28, 2019Consultant- Social Media & Search

    Thanks for the positive recommendation about working at Virgin Atlantic, and indeed many of our staff agree that the travel benefits are a great perk. Thank you for the role specific feedback- we would actively encourage you to share this feedback with your manager, and we can assess how this aligns with what our customers desire. Our spas offer such a great service to our passengers, so its wonderful to hear that you love the role and environment that you work in. Thank you again for sharing.

    Show Less
Found 213 reviews