Virgin Atlantic Airways Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Virgin Atlantic Airways Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 188 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
75%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
Shai Weiss
5 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "unconscious bias alive and kicking in the airline(in 16 reviews)

  • "I decided to leave Virgin Atlantic for many reasons, but mostly because I felt undervalued and ignored by cabin crew management(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Customer Relations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin Atlantic Airways full-time

    Pros

    Great perks Great people Great Brand

    Cons

    Restructures happen quite alot

    Virgin Atlantic Airways2019-05-13
  2. "Limited Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Revenue Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin Atlantic Airways full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Great environment and travel perks

    Cons

    Limited opportunity for career progression

    Advice to Management

    Rotate more

    Virgin Atlantic Airways2019-05-24
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great Airline to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin Atlantic Airways full-time

    Pros

    Amazing fun but hard working culture, friendly and social place to work, salaries are reasonably good, great staff travel perks.

    Cons

    Progression can be challenging within areas, but hiring internally is encouraged.

    Virgin Atlantic Airways2019-05-02
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Outdated"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Management in Crawley, West Sussex, South East England, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin Atlantic Airways full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Brand Image, colleagues, travel benefits, building

    Cons

    Prehistoric IT, no clear path for development, Lagging behind competition, constantly changing strategy and never allow time for changes to bed in before changing again

    Advice to Management

    Trim management levels, become a PROPER business not a billionaire mans play thing. Get rid of the old staff and cabin crew who are too comfortable and change averse to let you move forward.

    Virgin Atlantic Airways2019-04-30
  5. "Good benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cabin Crew in Crawley, West Sussex, South East England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin Atlantic Airways full-time

    Pros

    nice staff friendly atmosphere good canteen great benefits

    Cons

    poor leadership style and implementation

    Advice to Management

    support teamwork

    Virgin Atlantic Airways2019-04-23
  6. "Me"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Virgin Atlantic Airways full-time

    Pros

    Travel the world with your friends, lots of shopping, duty free, great food and experiences in different countries.

    Cons

    Unsociable hours, night flights, low pay, missing important family events such as Christmas birthdays, hard on relationships micro.managment.

    Advice to Management

    Need to remember staff are peopel not numbers

    Virgin Atlantic Airways2019-04-16
  7. "Airworthiness"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin Atlantic Airways full-time

    Pros

    Tickets tickets tickets tickets tickets

    Cons

    Management. No planning. Salary. No flexible. No manager Man

    Advice to Management

    Listen

    Virgin Atlantic Airways2019-03-23
  8. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Virgin Atlantic Airways full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Great culture and value. Good perks if you love travel.

    Cons

    Some changes are for the worse. It's losing its Virgin-ness.

    Virgin Atlantic Airways2019-03-08

    Virgin Atlantic Airways Response

    March 19, 2019Recruitment Manager

    Thank you for this feedback and your 4 star rating, it's good to hear the positive elements on our culture and values in your comments. It can be hard to fully define 'Virgin-ness' as it means different things to different people, but we hope that the culture of celebrating people's ...

    Show More
  9. "Very good for European standards"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Flight Attendant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Virgin Atlantic Airways part-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    Easy swapping system Many days off Good destinations Good staff travel

    Cons

    Very basic request system / obsolete No seniority perks Unfair promotion system

    Virgin Atlantic Airways2019-02-14
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Shame on VAA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Relations & Former LHR Staff in Crawley, West Sussex, South East England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Virgin Atlantic Airways full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Colleagues and travel benefits.

    Cons

    Management is so poor and in may positions without the experience, suitability or passion for their position. Bullying from management is commonplace and has been going on for far too long. It’s overlooked by many people who should know better.

    Advice to Management

    Stop recruiting management into positions through longevity with the company and no other reason . Look for the right skills and qualifications for the job .

    Virgin Atlantic Airways2019-03-08

    Virgin Atlantic Airways Response

    March 19, 2019Recruitment Manager

    Thank you for sharing your comments and we are sorry to hear the nature of some of this feedback. We would hope that staff would use the channels available to tackle any elements of bullying; it is a real concern to hear this and we would not want our staff to feel bullied within ...

    Show More
Found 188 reviews