Virgin Atlantic Airways Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Virgin Atlantic Airways Reviews

Updated 14 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
66%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Virgin Atlantic Airways CEO Shai Weiss
Shai Weiss
26 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Pay is no better than any other airline(in 16 reviews)

  • "Was Senior Cabin Crew but the job role was made redundant(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Hello"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Virgin Atlantic Airways full-time

    Pros

    Paid every single month without fail

    Cons

    Working hard all of the time is boring

    Virgin Atlantic Airways2019-11-25
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Customer relations admin executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative in Crawley, West Sussex, South East England, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Virgin Atlantic Airways part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The challenges, never a dull moment

    Cons

    Better training support needed, norlt enough

    Continue reading
    Virgin Atlantic Airways2020-01-14
  3. "Good employer, clear and transparent. Fair treatment with average pay for the job role."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cabin Crew in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin Atlantic Airways full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits - best in the industry. Fair sickness policies. Ability to change roster to suit you.

    Cons

    Pay is no better than any other airline. Difficult to move from London Heathrow to another base (cabin crew). Difficult to get desired holidays, as everything is seniority based.

    Virgin Atlantic Airways2019-12-30
  4. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Virgin Atlantic Airways full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Travel and night stops

    Cons

    Pay Not great and no pay tises

    Virgin Atlantic Airways2019-12-26
  5. "Bad pay, management is awful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cabin Crew in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin Atlantic Airways part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I worked here for the travel. The trips are getting shorter. We work hard and yet we are treated appallingly

    Cons

    Pay, our recent pay deal actually saw us take a bit of a pay cut.

    Continue reading
    Virgin Atlantic Airways2020-01-07
  6. Helpful (2)

    "It's better than some places"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Swansea, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin Atlantic Airways part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, looking to make the centre a better place to work all the time.

    Cons

    Sometimes to much pressure to hit targets, they change the bonus scheme and sometimes I think they forget we are a customer care.

    Continue reading
    Virgin Atlantic Airways2019-11-16
  7. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Crawley, West Sussex, South East England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin Atlantic Airways full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great culture Wonderful people Exciting industry Excellent CEO

    Cons

    Limited progression opportunities due to small size of company

    Virgin Atlantic Airways2019-11-04
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great to begin with....then it all went downhill...."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Virgin Atlantic Airways full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Cabin Crew community is what makes it.

    Cons

    Great crew, mid & upper management not good. Pay, T&C's dreadful. 5 -6 long haul flights per month average. No scope for progression. Have to pay to attend annual SEP exams.

    Continue reading
    Virgin Atlantic Airways2019-10-29
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Red"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin Atlantic Airways full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great benefits. Car parking, pension, leaders, development

    Cons

    Lack of team work and collaboration

    Continue reading
    Virgin Atlantic Airways2019-10-23

    Virgin Atlantic Airways Response

    November 4, 2019Consultant- Social Media & Search

    Thank you for your feedback and congratulations on your 10+ service milestone. With regards to our benefits, indeed many of our staff agree that the benefits are a great perk of VA. With 'Make Friends' as a core value within our business, team work is important for us to deliver our strategic ambitions. If you haven't already, we would encourage you to talk to your Line Manager about this, as we are certain there are solutions to encourage more collaborative working. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (2)

    "It's alright"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Advisor in Swansea, Wales
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin Atlantic Airways full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits are great - 7 free flights a year Bonus is great if you can get through the impossible list of requirements to achieve it

    Cons

    There is no work life balance - the contact centre is open 24 hrs a day every day, therefore if you like your public holidays, think twice about applying. To progress within the company is impossible unless you know somebody higher up, otherwise they won't look at you twice.

    Virgin Atlantic Airways2019-10-18

    Virgin Atlantic Airways Response

    November 4, 2019Consultant- Social Media & Search

    Thank you for sharing your comments and we are pleased to hear that you have been enjoying our fantastic staff travel benefit 🙂 As an airline it is essential for us to be there for when our customers need us, which requires our extended opening hours. We hope our rotas provide some flexibility for our teams, but we acknowledge it does bring shifts with unsocial hours. During the recruitment process we are as open and honest to ensure that people are aware of this need prior to joining. Thanks again for your feedback.

    Continue reading
Found 227 reviews