Virgin Atlantic Airways Employee Reviews about "cabin crew"

Updated Jan 13, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 16 of over 529 reviews

3.8
68%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Virgin Atlantic Airways CEO Shai Weiss
Shai Weiss
175 Ratings
Pros
  • "Customer focused, great people and Company ethics(in 28 reviews)

  • "Extensive Travel benefits including lounge access(in 28 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "long hours can be tiresome but the team helps time go by(in 12 reviews)

  • "Difficult to move from London Heathrow to another base (cabin crew)(in 11 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "cabin crew"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Good employer, clear and transparent. Fair treatment with average pay for the job role.

      Dec 30, 2019 - Cabin Crew in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits - best in the industry. Fair sickness policies. Ability to change roster to suit you.

      Cons

      Pay is no better than any other airline. Difficult to move from London Heathrow to another base (cabin crew). Difficult to get desired holidays, as everything is seniority based.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Dream Job, - but things have changed

      Jan 13, 2021 - Cabin Crew in Heathrow, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people are what make this company! Fab travel concessions. As cabin crew option to take conpanions on your lay overs. Very stress free, you leave the working day behind when you step off that aircraft. Good amount of days off if you preference trips well. Good ability to swap duties too

      Cons

      Can be very long hours, overpaid isn't paid you could work a 10 hour day or 24 hour. Same rates. Remote working, lacking support from managers. Never met mine. Leave bidding is done in senority. After 8 years I still couldn't get leave over Christmas, Easter or Aug Bank Holiday. Very much a payroll number.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Good start, Sour ending.

      Aug 4, 2020 - Cabin Crew in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good training, exciting work environment, travel perks, flexible working.

      Cons

      Too many layers of overpaid management bleeding the company dry. Bizarre promotions process carried out by ‘managers’ who have never worked on an aircraft. A culture of clickiness and favouritism depending on which managers you cosy up to or whether or not you live in Brighton/Crawley. Length of service means nothing to this company, they prefer to promote children with zero life experience & smart tongues. Working conditions & goal posts constantly change. Performance monitoring is too opinionated and rarely based on facts & will prevent you being promoted. Most onboard managers are lazy and spend more time drinking tea in the galley or hiding in the flight deck so they can avoid helping with service. Far too many part time crew & managers who haven’t a clue once they’re onboard & are out of touch with correct service/safety procedures. The full timers who do know their stuff end up carrying the lazy ones with no thanks. I suffered two pay drops in my last year here whilst my workload increased due to reduction in crew numbers on each aircraft. It was a good job when we had Senior Cabin Crew but that’s a distant dream now. Might as well work for a no frills airline as the professionalism and glamour has long gone.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Used to be so good

      Jul 7, 2020 - Cabin Crew Member in Wirral, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The cabin crew and pilots are exemplary, incredible team work and a lot of fun on the job

      Cons

      Poor management at senior level

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      You are just a number

      Mar 28, 2020 - Cabin Crew in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Travel the world and look glamorous whilst doing so.

      Cons

      The staff are ultimate bullies, the day I joined I was far younger than the training group and was alienated. In my first 6 months I had better flight reviews than crew that had been there for 20 years, working hard gets you nowhere unless you brown nose. You end up bullied and hated by other crew for being outstanding at your job. Cabin Crew management are unsupportive and you are just a number, they don’t care for your concernes. They stalk crew Facebook profiles to find what they don’t deem appropriate to force disciplinary upon you, thank god for the union.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Great to begin with....then it all went downhill....

      Oct 29, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Cabin Crew community is what makes it.

      Cons

      Great crew, mid & upper management not good. Pay, T&C's dreadful. 5 -6 long haul flights per month average. No scope for progression. Have to pay to attend annual SEP exams.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Advertise as the best, far from the truth.

      Aug 18, 2019 - Cabin Crew in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The chance to travel much of the World. Discount on flights, holidays & other retailer's goods. If you want to travel, meet people & experience different cultures & have the opportunity to try experiences away from the normal 9-5 then this may be for you.

      Cons

      Poor wage for Cabin crew. Little chance of promotion. Bullying culture which is fed from management down & getting worse. Not allowed to voice opinions, those that do often face disciplinary action.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      No Support for Parents

      Nov 28, 2017 - Cabin Crew in Heathrow, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Private health care for me and my loved ones.

      Cons

      After working for Virgin Atlantic for 5 years as part of the cabin crew I fell pregnant with my first child, after 6 months of maternity leave, I was made to believe there were Child Care benefits however after having had my child it became clear there were no benefits as you were in fact paying for the child care out of your salary!! Baby sitters can become hard to rely on so flexibility was needed however this was not offered for me, resulting in my partner having to take all the time off himself causing him to loose his job. The fact there are no ACTUAL benefits regarding child care is so disheartening and caused me to leave the job.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful

      Virgin Atlantic Airways Response

      Recruitment Manager

      Many thanks for your review and sorry to hear of your experience. We do operate a childcare benefit scheme for all UK employees with children under the age of 16 which allows all employees to save tax and National Insurance (NI) contributions on a proportion of the childcare costs that they pay through the scheme. In addition to this we also offer parental leave to help with childcare and part time working options following maternity leave as we understand the flexibility that people may require when returning to work. Your feedback is appreciated as we are continually reviewing our benefits to ensure that we can remain competitive for our employees.

    9. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Brilliant people but physically demanding & no holiday for 2 years!

      Sep 29, 2017 - Cabin Crew in Heathrow, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Working for Virgin Atlantic was my dream job in my time of being there I met some of the most incredible people have made memories that I will cherish forever & been to some truly beautiful places. All in all as a company Virgin Atlantic is one you feel proud to work the job it self is a feel good one when your strutting though the airport in your unifrom to stepping out of the car at the gas station to fill up and turn a few heads for the first few months at Virgin I sometimes had to pinch myself at times it really feels that you are living the dream. The trainers and managers are very supportive and majority very lovely people the other crew you fly with and the pilots are what make the job Virgin worth doing they are what kept me in it for the last 7 months despite deciding that I wanted to leave very early on. Paywise yes it could be better but it is a very fair wage and with the trip allowance you wont be waiting for payday.

      Cons

      Very unsociable hours you will be away at least 2 days a week so if you have family or like being at home a lot and do not want to miss a birthday or wedding this is not the job for you!.. Fair enough its what we sign up for but when you do actually miss a birthday to go to Lagos its a lot harder living the reality! Oh also unless you have been there for 10 years forget about even trying to get Christmas off or any time off near it! The night flights home are exhausting you will land back and feel shattered and need to spend the day sleeping when you do get back one of the biggest things for me that contributed to me leaving the job was that in the interview we were told we could not book holiday for the first 6 months which was fair enough but then they changed it so we could not book holiday until 2019! Seriously what sort of work place doesn't let you book holiday for 2 years! Also another major factor into me leaving was that the job it self I found to be incredibly repetitive you go out with your cart clean the toilets occasionally you might have a medical incident or FSM to flight deck when an engine shuts down mid flight but for the most part you will be serving or cooking food or answering call bells most of them PAX wanting a coffee. In general the lifestyle of being cabin crew was not suitable for me a lot of the social aspect revolves around drinking down route which is all fun and good but its soon wears you down & in the long run is not the most healthy of lifestyles you will feel tiredness like you have never felt before. I really respect crew that stick it out for 5/10/20 years it is a very emotionally & physically demanding hard job.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Virgin Atlantic Airways Response

      Recruitment Manager

      Many thanks for your review, it sounds like you visited some amazing places during your time as crew with us and appreciated what a great brand we have. You’re right that the hours crew have to work can be anti-social and impact on your social life which is why it’s really important that people think about this when applying to work with us as it may mean having to miss important birthdays or even being away at Christmas and Easter when everyone back at home is relaxing. The business always ensures that crew have adequate rest between flights so they are able to carry out their duties effectively. We appreciate your comments in relation to annual leave, due to the nature of the role and operational demands it may mean that people might not always be given their first preference but we will ensure we share your feedback with the team. It sounds as if you have now moved on to another role so we hope you have found something that meets your expectations and wish you all the best.

    10. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Fun for a few years, but not a long term career

      Jul 13, 2017 - Cabin Crew in Heathrow, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Lots of amazing destinations, chance to visit some places that you may never under normal circumstances. Met some fantastic colleagues and usually great fun onboard despite the unsociable hours. It's the fellow crew that make the job bearable. Staff travel concessions.

      Cons

      Zero room for progression. Actually going backwards. Worked for them for over 10 years. Was Senior Cabin Crew but the job role was made redundant. Choice to leave or take pay cut and revert to original starting role. Obviously this is horribly demotivating. Despite the fact that had proven excellent feedback from colleagues and onboard managers, this was never recognised or rewarded. You feel like just a number in a massive machine and very undervalued. Also it gets you down when the only thing that makes Virgin different from other airlines these days is the crew, a fact that is constantly reiterated and yet crew are the worst paid job in the business. Crew management constantly changing so you never really have a chance to build a rapport with your manager. Also since the latest changeover emails and telephone calls go unanswered.

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 16 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Virgin Atlantic Airways Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Virgin Atlantic Airways? Share Your Experiences

    Virgin Atlantic Airways logo
    or