Virgin Australia Airlines Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Virgin Australia Airlines Reviews

Updated 6 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 135 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
80%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
Virgin Australia Airlines CEO John Borghetti
John Borghetti
69 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Early starts, rotating roster, unflexible(in 15 reviews)

  • "long hours but you sign up for this(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company to work for, staff morale is very high"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Digital Marketing Coordinator 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Virgin Australia Airlines full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Travel benefits, staff internal culture at company

    Cons

    Pay rate, layers of management

    Virgin Australia Airlines2019-07-22
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Customer Service Rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Virgin Australia Airlines full-time

    Pros

    Staff travel discounts, industry wide benefits

    Cons

    Discrimination from colleagues and the wave of redundancies

    Virgin Australia Airlines2018-08-30
  3. "Virgin Australia Cabin Crew"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cabin Crew in Melbourne
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin Australia Airlines full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great company to work for. Systems usually always improving. Great people and good pay compared to the new contracts offered at other major employers. Staff travel perks have always improved with great perks for me, friends and family.

    Cons

    The work/life balance needs further improvement, such as abilities to better swap trips. The strategic direction of the company is not known, which is difficult to know where we're heading.

    Virgin Australia Airlines2019-08-06
  4. "It’s OK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Schedule Planner 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin Australia Airlines full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits New CEO which is putting new breath in the company.

    Cons

    Culture is horrendous but no one admits it Technology lags. Constantly changing

    Advice to Management

    Take a step back and start again

    Virgin Australia Airlines2019-08-05
  5. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Guest Services Agent in Sydney
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin Australia Airlines part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great friendships and staff travel benefits

    Cons

    Passengers treating you like you have personally ruined their entire lives

    Virgin Australia Airlines2019-07-07
  6. "Love working as cabin crew for VA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cabin Crew in Brisbane
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Virgin Australia Airlines part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working with the most amazing people Travel Positive environment Awesome team work

    Cons

    Only being able to plan your life from roster to roster Sometimes management a little out of touch

    Virgin Australia Airlines2019-07-03
  7. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pilot 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin Australia Airlines full-time

    Pros

    Great team culture in my view

    Cons

    No Cons I could recall

    Virgin Australia Airlines2019-06-21
  8. "Not ideal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cabin Crew 

    I worked at Virgin Australia Airlines full-time

    Pros

    The benefit is the Travel

    Cons

    The con is the people

    Virgin Australia Airlines2019-07-04
  9. "Excellent staff benefits and career progression"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cabin Crew in Brisbane
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin Australia Airlines full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Nice brand, excellent business class cabin on A330 & B777 aircraft; Great crew leaders who are approachable and friendly; opportunity for career progression or movement between departments, excellent staff benefits including our awesome staff travel. Also, excellent training department.

    Cons

    With a fleet of only five B777 and six A330’s, VA only flies to Hong Kong and Los Angeles in terms of long-haul.

    Advice to Management

    Given the local geography and the market/population of Australia, it is obvious that the company needs to find a way to expand its long-haul operations to other potential countries/markets, and that way not end up relying only in our domestic/Int’l short-haul market. Also, bases only need 3 managers per base (Max), rather than 5, 6 or 7. That’s a waste of expenditure when that money can be spent on other more important...

    Show More
    Virgin Australia Airlines2019-06-18
  10. "Great Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cabin Crew in Sydney
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin Australia Airlines part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The people, the benefits, engaging with new people everyday, great for those who love being on the move.

    Cons

    Shift Work, money, unpredictability, 365 days a year business, no public holidays no Christmas etc.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your crew, and stop treating those like staff numbers there are real life people behind those numbers.

    Virgin Australia Airlines2019-05-23
Found 135 reviews