Virgin Holidays Limited Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Virgin Holidays Limited Reviews

Updated Oct 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 116 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Virgin Holidays Limited CEO Joe Thompson
Joe Thompson
34 Ratings
Pros
  • "Supportive management team, great development, great incentives, overseas trips, great staff travel benefits(in 11 reviews)

  • "free flights - great staff travel(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "Constant restructures leave you rebuilding relationships with line managers and senior management every few months(in 12 reviews)

  • "There could be more opportunities for progression in retail for part time staff(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Working at Virgin Holidays"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Holiday Advisor in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin Holidays Limited full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing perks, people and opportunities to progress

    Cons

    There are no cons to working for Virgin Holidays

    Virgin Holidays Limited2019-08-28
  2. "Average company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Consultant in Crawley, West Sussex, South East England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin Holidays Limited full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great flight benefits and hotels sometimes free

    Cons

    Management just talk targets

    Advice to Management

    More support

    Virgin Holidays Limited2019-10-08
  3. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Holiday Advisor in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin Holidays Limited full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Staff benefits after your 6 month probation period,

    Cons

    Low salary to start with

    Virgin Holidays Limited2019-10-06
  4. "By far, the best brand i have ever worked for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail/Trade Marketing Executive in Crawley, West Sussex, South East England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Virgin Holidays Limited full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great travel benefits High performing and talented people Amazing culture and a brand with big ambitions

    Cons

    Salary is lower than average for the role (given the number of benefits offered) Being based in Crawley means that there's no opportunity for social outings Lack of career progression opportunities (as people generally don't leave once they join)

    Advice to Management

    Offer your staff more training and development opportunities

    Virgin Holidays Limited2019-06-26
  5. "Amazing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Consultant in Liverpool, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin Holidays Limited full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great Perks, Colleagues, opportunities, travel

    Cons

    Salary, Shifts, commission, communication, expenses

    Virgin Holidays Limited2019-06-25
  6. "Best Company Ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin Holidays Limited full-time

    Pros

    Amazing benefits! Amazing people! Lovely environment. Such a fantastic company.

    Cons

    Honestly cannot give you any. So grateful for this job.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing!

    Virgin Holidays Limited2019-05-13
  7. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Crawley, West Sussex, South East England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin Holidays Limited full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Celebrate individuality Encourage creative thinking Informal atmosphere

    Cons

    Worklife balance can be a challenge Sometimes too informal Great ideas but sometimes lack of follow through Encourage development but lack of tools to truly help There isnt alot of opportunity for internal promotion

    Virgin Holidays Limited2019-05-14
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Best company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin Holidays Limited part-time

    Pros

    Benefits Happy, fun and social place to work

    Cons

    Pay not as good as non travel companies

    Virgin Holidays Limited2019-03-13

    Virgin Holidays Limited Response

    March 14, 2019Recruitment Manager

    Thanks for taking the time to post your thoughts about Virgin Holidays. It’s not easy to sum up what it’s like working at Virgin in just a few words so it's great hear your enjoying our culture and values . We’re passionate about making holidays perfect and challenge ourselves daily to make things better, for everyone so it's great that your feel happy and engaged in your working environment. In regards to our salaries I will share your comments with our senior management team as we strive to learn from feedback and improve the business so thank you for letting us know your thoughts on the pay you receive.

    Show Less
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Travel consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Virgin Holidays Limited full-time

    Pros

    Training Potential travel if you can earn enough money

    Cons

    Where do I begin!!! Lack of support, clicky mean girls instore, bullying goes unpunished, pay is awful and the commission is capped!! Management try to keep everything under wraps and lie to cover staff who’ve been there longer. It’s like being back at school. Awful experience due to certain individuals who seem to get away with everything because of their position! I know it’s not like this all over but... unfortunately its happening a lot more than it should. Not the happy working environment Richard Branson promotes

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Don’t always believe the person you’ve known longest!! As a manager there should be boundaries.... some people will take your kindness and use it to their advantage!!

    Virgin Holidays Limited2019-03-26
  10. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Virgin Holidays Limited full-time

    Pros

    Great travel benefits, great commission structure , great team to work with

    Cons

    Not flexible when changing shifts

    Virgin Holidays Limited2019-02-18

    Virgin Holidays Limited Response

    March 14, 2019Recruitment Manager

    Thank you for your feedback, I appreciate the time that you have taken to place your review and we are pleased to hear your enjoying the benefits of working for Virgin which includes our fantastic commission structure and travel benefits.

Found 116 reviews