Virgin Media Employee Reviews about "liberty global"

Updated Jan 23, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 36 of over 1,315 reviews

3.7
72%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Virgin Media CEO Lutz Schüler (no image)
Lutz Schüler
224 Ratings
Pros
  • "great people and collaborative workspace(in 59 reviews)

  • "Pay is decent and some good benefits(in 53 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "When sold to liberty global went cut throat and stripped everything back including the care for its employees(in 37 reviews)

  • "Sometimes your working long hours(in 36 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "liberty global"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Graduate job - non graduate position!

      Aug 30, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very approachable management, and there is plenty of time for overtime and huge payrises. I work shifts, and the overtime package is outstanding.

      Cons

      Brilliant company to work for, at the minute I don't see the integration with Liberty global at all. They are two separate companies and it feels that way!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Virgin Media Response

      Employer Brand and Marketing Manager

      Thanks for your review - watch this space for improved integration and close working with Liberty Global. We've got lots planned and you're in the business at a very exciting time for all of us.

    2. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Rollercoaster

      Jan 23, 2021 - Residential Field Technician in Oldham, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Staff cable rates Medical People Van mates rates

      Cons

      Long hours No work life balance if you have children No progression No recognition poor bonus schemes unrealistic targets Progression opportunity goes to the friends of the hiring managers rather than suitability for the role. HR need to do more to make recruitment a fair opportunity to everyone. More focused on sales and refferals from customers than actually installing and servicing customers Since Liberty Global had aquired us, everything has gone downhill and not the family type of company that looks after its employees that it once was unfortunateley.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Reactive rather than proactive thinking

      Nov 21, 2020 - Access Planner in Southport, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits, fair pay, big company, opportunities to move job role if you want to.

      Cons

      Lost its heart since Liberty Global acquired the company.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Started well, went down hill

      Nov 6, 2020 - IP Network Engineer in Slough, Berkshire, South East England, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits are pretty good in the main

      Cons

      Liberty Global came along and.....

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Going down hill and no sign of it stopping

      Jan 16, 2020 - Retention Agent in Sheffield, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      People are nice and friendly enough. Money's alright if you hit commission but that's about it.

      Cons

      - Stats, numbers, stats, numbers. That's all it's become. - Any time off booking is a nightmare - Communication on any level is awful. (Between management, departments, business areas, customers). - All about money and cost cutting since liberty global took over. - The older the customer, the worse their price

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Toxic-Stressed- Poor pay-No future

      Dec 15, 2019 - Residential Field Technician in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fantastic shift pattern free healthcare

      Cons

      So I’ve been at virgin for over 10 years, our job as technicians is to fix faults affecting customers tv & internet etc, the last 5 years have been a rough, stress filled spiral into a corporate toxic fake daily stress. It’s such a shame as most if not all other departments still have a great virgin culture but the service department seems to be picked on by its senior management. As soon as Liberty Global purchased virgin media they announced that they feel they “over paid” for the company and that we need to make a huge amount of cost savings. First to go was our management structure which didn’t really affect things too much, then it was the uk call centres and boy let me tell you the one we now use in India do their best I’m sure but the level of customer service is shocking, Almost every customer I speak of which I see around 10 a day all have to vent to us just how bad it is, customer tell me they are rude, lacking in knowledge and are completely scripted, it on average takes 2-3 separate calls just to get a appointment if you need help which is causing massive frustration. To mitigate this virgins launched a app called my virgin media so you won’t have to call in anymore, not let’s get his sorted let’s just avoid it. Once we do get there we have to desperately ask the customer to recommend their friends and family, which in it’s simplest form is a great way for customers to save money as you get £50 if you do it, however from the tech point of view we have been targeted to get our customers to do like a sales target and this is a huge cause of stress for field management and techs as our senior management see us as a cost to virgin not a investment keeping our customers happy and connected so to mitigate our own cost we are to get our customers to recommend our services to help pay for ourselves. That is straight from the head of department words himself nice one JP. If we miss our targets then we are micro managed to the point of desperation as the field manger also has his target for his techs to hit and if we miss it so dose he and then sits on your shoulders all day every day making sure you are working to our recommend processes which is a whole other story. Another great example of just how toxic it is is our internal staff survey called ZOOM, this was designed to test the water and see how the staff are doing, trouble is if anyone is unhappy with anything we are seen as not engaged with the company even if the company is making bad decisions if you disagree with them then the field manger gets the blame for you not being engaged so to save the manger getting sacked or put on a performance improve plan we all have to lie and rate the company as amazing or my manager who deep down is a good guy gets in from the senior manager and there’s only one way *#*# rolls and that’s down hill so to spare us all we need to say how great it all is even thou we all (me and my area at least) currently hate our working days not our work just the environment. Work amount is another bugbear, at the end of your very long 8am to 7pm shift without commute your asked to stay late to cover extra appointments that we couldn’t cover on time due to current incompetence, if you had plans after work forget it, if you say I can’t stay late the senior management phone you to guilt trip you, if you still say no your reputation is left in in bits and your own manager is forced to leave his house to come out to cover that job/jobs himself which you can imagine how your treated after that. It’s also advertised as having a bonus each month, that’s unrealistic to get and further more there’s a new bonus system in 2020 that makes sure more will get bonus turns out to be a money saver for the company where is better if we all get pennies then some earn hundreds. Our pay is another bugbear, new starters currently start on 24k where current staff are on 23k although most new starters find this job so stressful they leave within 6 months but that’s not the point, there’s no loyalty from the company for length of service they do usually increase our pay in line with new starters but you would have thought that a tech with 5 years experience or even 10 years would earn more then new starters. There are options to move departs but for example the last internal job that came up to get out of here had 96 applicants.... so options are limited at best. The best example of the toxic culture is customer satisfaction survey NPS in our world, If the customer visited responds to a emailed survey and rates the overall experience as a 9 or a 10 I get £10 great huh? If only the call centre hadn’t upset them if only they hadn’t had to call in 3 times to get help if only we hadn’t put the price up mid contact 3 times in 18 months, you get the picture, the next great idea from the senior management is to get us to tell the customer that that question about overall experience relates directly to the technician visit so please give me the tech a 10 for my visit, it’s for me we have to say before we leave not anything else please give me a 10 have I said it enough yet it’s for me please please please give me a 10. Those NPS surveys turn out to have a impact on the share price no wonder we have to tell customers that, faking the customer experience too huh, I’m sure if BBC watchdog got wind of what we are doing they would be all over it. If I wasn’t trapped in a job by my House I would of left years ago but as all the training I’ve done within the company isn’t transferable to any other job I’ll be starting again as a trainee elsewhere. My advise to anyone who is switched on enough to check reviews before starting here is not to, get a real trade, gas electrical etc it’s defo harder to train but you never see a poor sparky or a unhappy gas man. Don’t join virgin service department become a professional elsewhere and definitely don’t become a apprentice in this department. FYI These are just some examples I could go on. I’m sure virgin will respond with how we are developing etc, don’t buy the bull.

      Continue reading
      10 people found this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Good money

      May 25, 2019 - Retention Advisor in Sheffield, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good hours if you don’t have any responsibilities however if you go part time it can be hard getting hours to fit around other commitments etc childcare

      Cons

      Liberty global don’t care about staff

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Good, but on an uncertain path

      Jan 9, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great community Access to specialists and their knowledge Good pension and comprehensive health insurance

      Cons

      Uncertainty on new direction of Liberty Global Can be intense during busy periods

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Contractors rule at VirginMedia

      Dec 5, 2018 - Technical Architect in Hook, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Historically one of the reasons to work here was their flexibility work practices and strong family brand value brand. However in many areas of the company this is now being eroded by the new company owners Liberty Global.

      Cons

      What used to be a pro is now a major Con, the company has introduced its new 'Smart working policy' which is far more restrictive than ever before. Liberty Global ownership means that the Virgin 'family' feeling is being eroded, the only focus since LG ownership has been ever tougher cost savings. Employees are now just seen as an Operational Expense overhead, with ever more reliance on contractors and offshore outsourcing.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful

      Virgin Media Response

      Virgin Media Team

      Hi there, thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. Your feedback is really important. We understand that change isn't always easy. We will be sure to pass along your review to the team.

    10. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Used to be a great place to work

      Jun 11, 2019 - Service Assurance Advisor in Swansea, Wales, Wales
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Currently no pros as closure of an entire site

      Cons

      Liberty Global takeover has turned the company into a faceless corporate entity

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 36 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Virgin Media Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Virgin Media? Share Your Experiences

    Virgin Media logo
    or