Vision Express Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Vision Express Reviews

Updated Aug 28, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.3
20%
Recommend to a Friend
32%
Approve of CEO
Vision Express President Leonard C Emrick (no image)
Leonard C Emrick
16 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Optical assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Vision Express part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great team Professional Supportive Great atmosphere

    Cons

    There were no cons, thoroughly enjoyed my time with them.

    Vision Express2018-04-22
  2. "Avoid at all costs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - D O in Bristol, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Vision Express full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    There is nothing positive to say.

    Cons

    Dire. They make out they are a great employer. Couldnt be further from truth. Discrimination is rife. No career pathway. Its all about sales figures, nothing more. Awful management, they lie, twist the truth and really hate loyal intelligent staff. All they want is unqualified sheep they can walk over. Avoid this company at all costs

    Advice to Management

    Get proper qualified people in upper positions. Not vain wannabe numptys

    Vision Express2019-08-28
  3. Helpful (1)

    "complain"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Optical Assistant in Leicester, England
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Vision Express full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    the customers ,just one colleague

    Cons

    poor manager,bullies ,discrimination ,humiliations

    Advice to Management

    change your job ,because you are not good for this lovely company

    Vision Express2019-03-15
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Over worked & underpaid....."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Optical Assistant in Cwmbran, Wales
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Vision Express part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I cannot think of a single one! I just don't know why I stayed so long. Lack of confidence, probably, but I can honestly say I am so much happier since leaving. Best thing I ever did.

    Cons

    Short staffed, you do not get paid for staying late/starting early and when you leave they deduct money from your pay, hoping you will not notice. Difficult to take a break as it's so short staffed. The job involves carrying out duties which an optometrist should be doing, yet the optometrist gets paid do less! Some optometrists treat the staff like dirt - there is no teamwork and optometrists do not help staff,... even when they aren't busy - and that culture is tolerated in such a big company! Career advancement is never talked about. Pay rises have been nonexistent since the minimum wage was introduced and all bonus was cut then.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Your regional managers could at least make a courtesy phone call to staff when they leave after several years of faithful employment. Nothing from Vision Express, not even a thank you. My advice to all remaining staff is to get out now.

    Vision Express2017-12-26
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Would not recommend roles within HR/Recruitment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Vision Express full-time

    Pros

    Pleasant office facilities, modern building

    Cons

    Poor remuneration within market Cannot retain staff within HR/Recruitment - so something is amiss Very clique-y within certain departments, makes being a new starter more difficult when you feel like an outsider from day 1 It is like being at school

    Advice to Management

    Look at your HR/Recruitment teams - you are constantly losing people in this area

    Vision Express2017-12-19
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Advitised as a retial job - far from it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Vision Express full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    discount on glasses and contact lenses

    Cons

    long hours... working with minimum staff

    Vision Express2017-10-05
  7. "Vision Express"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Personal Assistant in Nottingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Vision Express full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice bright building. Friendly reception staff, onsite parking

    Cons

    Work life balance, expectation to work longer hours with no payment contrary to contact. No training or induction for new starters. Values and behaviour mean nothing to anybody in the business

    Advice to Management

    Take an interest in your staff/ live your values and behaviour by valuing you staff by great leadership. Invest time in your staff and you will reap the rewards

    Vision Express2017-07-26
  8. "Optical Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Vision Express full-time

    Pros

    Excellent training, stimulating job to work in

    Cons

    Poor management, left to fend for ourselves a lot of the time, poor pay

    Vision Express2017-07-10
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Don't do it you'll regret it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Optometrist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Vision Express full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    My test room was heated

    Cons

    You will be beaten with your conversion rate on a daily basis. It is a truly miserable place to work.

    Vision Express2017-03-10
  10. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Optical Assistant in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Vision Express

    Pros

    Good career progression if you want.

    Cons

    Working Sundays - difficult to 'look busy' when the store is always empty.

    Advice to Management

    Close Sundays.

    Vision Express2017-02-03
Found 37 reviews