Vivint Solar Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Vivint Solar Reviews

Updated 26 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
67%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Vivint Solar CEO David Bywater  (no image)
David Bywater
303 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free lunch is nice (not amazing food but free)(in 52 reviews)

  • "VIVINT solar has figured out what it takes to be the top company in such a booming industry(in 51 reviews)

Cons
  • "Lead generation through door to door(in 32 reviews)

  • "Should have applied sooner with Vivint Solar and share more time with them(in 23 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Care about themselves not their employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Intelligence Analyst in Lehi, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vivint Solar full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lunch is technically not 'free' it comes out of your paycheck but okay, free soda, and new building

    Cons

    Mangers only care about themselves, will over work you, so much gossip you will feel like you are in high school.

    Continue reading
    Vivint Solar2020-03-26
  2. "Good place to work with a lot of opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Packet Designer in Lehi, UT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Vivint Solar full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are a lot of positions at this company so you can move to different departments and change roles fairly easy.

    Cons

    I felt like there wasn't really any stability in the department I worked in. Leadership changed a little bit too often so there wasn't any real direction. It's a good operation and I understand that change in the workplace is a common thing but when things are changing week to week it causes chaos and morale can take a hit.

    Vivint Solar2020-03-25
  3. "Great short term/college job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accounts Manager in Lehi, UT
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Vivint Solar full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Free lunch is great, always opportunity for growth and change. The culture is light and fun, some of my co-workers became my best friends. Overall great environment.

    Cons

    Like a lot of places, it's a big political game, if you know how to play it to your advantage then you're golden but if not, good luck. I always felt the pay was lacking and was ignored when approaching leaders about serious issues. Felt like there was no transparency with leadership when I would repeatedly ask for transparency, we're all adults in a corporate setting, let's stop beating around the bush to avoid hurting feelings. Leaders were put into positions they're not qualified for because they were top performers, top performers do not equal good leaders. Poor leadership leads to poor teams and poor culture.

    Continue reading
    Vivint Solar2020-03-22
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Fun, good culture, poor pay, questionable lower level management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Concierge 

    I have been working at Vivint Solar full-time

    Pros

    Fun culture, relaxed atmosphere, free ethically sourced lunches, snacks, and drinks, ability to move up quickly if you can survive on the initial low pay, great work/life balance, some of the managers and coworkers are amazing inspiring people with hearts of gold

    Cons

    low pay ($24k a yr after taxes at a large national company's corporate office is a joke), some of the lower level managers should not be in their position if they can't be better-dishonesty, inconsistency, and favoritism isn't a good professional look and is completely uninspiring to coworkers and those on your team, some supervisors and managers are AMAZING here. Promotion practices are questionable at best, it's more about who you know than the work you do. This isn't a one person opinion-ask around. You will hear this from more than one person and/or dept.

    Continue reading
    Vivint Solar2020-03-02

    Vivint Solar Response

    March 2, 2020HR Communications Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. We care about our employees and are continually looking for ways to improve the employee experience.

    Continue reading
  5. "Its good."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Warehouse Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vivint Solar full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There are alot of hours.

    Cons

    Alot is changing and it seems a bit chaotic.

    Vivint Solar2020-02-18
  6. "Don’t let the door hit you on your way out!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Anonymous Employee in Cottonwood Heights, UT
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Vivint Solar

    Pros

    A job in a new building.

    Cons

    Major lay-off with Covid-19. They don’t care about there employees. One of their values is put people first... I guess that meant in hard times sacrifice your “people first”!

    Continue reading
    Vivint Solar2020-03-23
  7. Helpful (2)

    "IT management is in shambles"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Devops Engineer in Lehi, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Vivint Solar full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    If you have a good supervisor, you can be insulated from some of the BS. Unlimited PTO is nice - if you can get it approved Depending on your supervisor, there is quite a bit of flexibility for working from home

    Cons

    IT leadership, starting from the CTO. A direct quote from the CTO when my manager was relaying a complaint about the overhead lights: "they can just wear shades!" Since I already wear prescription glasses, and their benefits plan only covers a single pair... how exactly am I supposed to pay for those? You also never know if your project is going to be cancelled. I went from "you are doing a great job, management is 100% behind this project!" To "your project is being mothballed, but everyone on your project will be moved to other projects, nobody is losing their job" to laid off (along with dozens of others...) in under 2 weeks.

    Continue reading
    Vivint Solar2020-03-21
  8. "Wonderful Position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Solar Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vivint Solar full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great culture and self development.

    Cons

    Need to be proactive to succeed.

    Continue reading
    Vivint Solar2020-02-13
  9. "Fast Growth and great community"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Vivint Solar full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A good community and great support.

    Cons

    You will be treated as an outsider

    Vivint Solar2020-02-26
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Does Not Care About Employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Installer 
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Vivint Solar full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You get free clothing for work.

    Cons

    With Covid-19 going around the United States, a lot of business' are making it a priority to take care of their employees, making sure they receive paid time off if they are sick, or if they are closing down their shops, they pay them for the time they are closed down. Vivint Solar on the other hand, with their stocks actually gaining is making employees use their PTO if they are sick, and if they are sick and do not have PTO they have to take time off -unpaid. I find this very dis-concerning since PTO is built up by your time there and shared with sick leave and vacation, they are not separate. The whole country is in a state of panic and people still need to survive if something happens. I wish that Vivint Solar would show more appreciation to their employees.

    Continue reading
    Vivint Solar2020-03-17
Found 666 reviews