Vocalink Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Vocalink Reviews

Updated 19 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
64%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
Vocalink Chief Executive Officer Paul Stoddart
Paul Stoddart
8 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Mastercard took over a couple of years ago and since then the senior management have used that as an excuse as to why the company is run so poorly(in 11 reviews)

  • "The integration with Mastercard created a bit of uncertainty(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Feels like a small company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Senior Developer in Harrogate, England

    I worked at Vocalink full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great location, friendly people and a good atmosphere

    Cons

    Older technology, could be difficult to effect change

    Vocalink2020-02-13
  2. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Manager in London, England

    I worked at Vocalink full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good set of benefits available

    Cons

    none that I can think of

    Vocalink2020-03-19
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Run while you can"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Rickmansworth, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Vocalink full-time

    Pros

    Pension and medical insurance On site canteen

    Cons

    The leadership is weak. The ship is slowly sinking with a terrible work culture. Very old fashioned company with furniture to match. No alignment with MasterCard. Very amateur with everything from management to simple procedure or processes. It operates like a company in the dark ages. The top dogs here are of course all men.

    Continue reading
    Vocalink2020-02-08
  4. "This is a great place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Software Engineer in Dunstable, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vocalink full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great people and lots to learn

    Cons

    Sometimes people may not get proper salary rise unless you keep requesting.

    Continue reading
    Vocalink2019-07-03
  5. "Good all-round experience for a prospective graduate in this industry."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Assistant (Placement) in Rickmansworth, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Vocalink full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very friendly environment encouraging learning and cooperation to achieve the best potential in yourself.

    Cons

    Not enough social gatherings for colleagues to interact outside of work.

    Continue reading
    Vocalink2019-06-19
  6. "Work flexibility"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Engineer in Rickmansworth, England

    I have been working at Vocalink full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good bonus Work flexibility Good team to work with and friendly

    Cons

    Not much effort from managers for employees who matter

    Continue reading
    Vocalink2019-06-05
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Good stable company with great benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Middle Management in Rickmansworth, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Vocalink full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Was allowed to grow in the early stages of employment. Really enjoyed the early journey.

    Cons

    Change of management and then a feeling of under valuemeny set in. Nothing was done about it .

    Continue reading
    Vocalink2019-01-12
  8. Helpful (1)

    "APPLICATION SUPPPORT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Applications Support Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Vocalink full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good Place to learn payment system

    Cons

    You need to fit with the crowd

    Continue reading
    Vocalink2019-01-25
  9. Helpful (16)

    "Welcome to the world of Corporate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Vocalink full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Knowledgeable staff who work hard

    Cons

    Vocalink as a company is declining rapidly. Staff moral is the lowest I have ever seen and although the most people at the 'coalface' are amazing individuals who work hard, they do have to put up with total incompetence at senior levels. Mastercard took over a couple of years ago and since then the senior management have used that as an excuse as to why the company is run so poorly. Good people have been forced out (and others sacrificed just so the target can be made redundant). Incompetence is rewarded with promotion and bonuses. Lazy and inept staff are protected by 'friends' in senior roles. Discrimination runs rife through the company and it covers all genres, racial, sexual, knowledge and ability. The key with Vocalink is not to be good at your job, do not exceed expectations, do not question ludicrous decisions and if something is wrong never, ever say so. Every corporate stereotype is played out at Vocalink daily and it is laughable to be involved with meetings where individuals actually believe their own BS. Why say 1 word when 462 will give the same answer (Q: Has this been done? A: I monitored the deliverable status of the solution proposed and instigated a full indepth collaboration of relevant parties in order to assign the necessary chronological committment and have suceeded in part, to deliver a relevant clarification of the original solicitation. Thats a No then). These people should have been in politics, it's where they belong. If there's a problem, Vocalink management will arrange a meeting and if they think it's a serious problem they'll arrange another meeting, meanwhile, the problem will get resolved by one the amazing few who actually know what they are doing and the management will take full credit. You have to understand that this company runs the ENTIRE UK payments infrastructure system, your money/mortgage/direct debits are in the hands of management baboons who would struggle with a tea party! If you're one of the chosen few you will ride the Vocalink gravy train, doing nothing, spouting BS, fraudulent paid annual leave, undeserved bonuses, ludicrous expense claims and all with a clear conscience. I hope that Mastercard will see the light at some point but I doubt they ever will because Vocalink are very good at putting on a front and papering over the enormous cracks. LONG LIVE CORPORATE BS

    Continue reading
    Vocalink2019-01-21

    Vocalink Response

    January 28, 2019Social Media

    Thank you for your post, we appreciate you taking the time to raise your concerns. Our business takes pride in ensuring we are always delivering excellent levels of service to our scheme partners, as we have been doing, in some cases, for decades. These are delivered by a workforce of highly skilled employees in the UK and around the world, the talent of which is recognised by our business through a number of different channels. We take all feedback very seriously especially around potential discrimination claims and would ask you to contact VL-HRBusinessPartnering@mastercard.com to discuss further, or if you would prefer, you can expand on your concerns anonymously through our Mastercard Ethics Helpline, https://secure.ethicspoint.com/domain/media/en/gui/35023/index.html.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to work - good work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Vocalink full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Plenty of opportunity to move and develop your skills

    Cons

    Things can take a long time to get done

    Vocalink2018-09-15
Found 43 reviews