Vocalink Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Vocalink Reviews

Updated 3 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
75%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Vocalink CEO Paul Stoddart
Paul Stoddart
7 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Mastercard took over a couple of years ago and since then the senior management have used that as an excuse as to why the company is run so poorly(in 10 reviews)

  • "The integration with Mastercard created a bit of uncertainty(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "This is a great place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Software Engineer in Dunstable, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Vocalink full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great people and lots to learn

    Cons

    Sometimes people may not get proper salary rise unless you keep requesting.

    Advice to Management

    Situation has changed for much better after it became MasterCard. But, salaries must be properly reviewed to keep employees motivated, specially for employees who are loyal and have been servings the organisation for a long time. Also, when a employee salary is more than their Manager’s, it could be demotivating for the Manager.

    Vocalink2019-07-03
  2. "Good all-round experience for a prospective graduate in this industry."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Assistant (Placement) in Rickmansworth, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Vocalink full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very friendly environment encouraging learning and cooperation to achieve the best potential in yourself.

    Cons

    Not enough social gatherings for colleagues to interact outside of work.

    Advice to Management

    Encourage further social events to boost optimism in the workplace.

    Vocalink2019-06-19
  3. "Work flexibility"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Engineer in Rickmansworth, England

    I have been working at Vocalink full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good bonus Work flexibility Good team to work with and friendly

    Cons

    Not much effort from managers for employees who matter

    Advice to Management

    Focus more on full time employee rather than contractors

    Vocalink2019-06-05
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Good stable company with great benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Middle Management in Rickmansworth, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Vocalink full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Was allowed to grow in the early stages of employment. Really enjoyed the early journey.

    Cons

    Change of management and then a feeling of under valuemeny set in. Nothing was done about it .

    Advice to Management

    Take care of the staff that make management look good. Without these employees management will fail.

    Vocalink2019-01-12
  5. Helpful (1)

    "APPLICATION SUPPPORT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Applications Support Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Vocalink full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good Place to learn payment system

    Cons

    You need to fit with the crowd

    Advice to Management

    Always under pressure to deliver

    Vocalink2019-01-25
  6. Helpful (15)

    "Welcome to the world of Corporate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Vocalink full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Knowledgeable staff who work hard

    Cons

    Vocalink as a company is declining rapidly. Staff moral is the lowest I have ever seen and although the most people at the 'coalface' are amazing individuals who work hard, they do have to put up with total incompetence at senior levels. Mastercard took over a couple of years ago and since then the senior management have used that as an excuse as to why the company is run so poorly. Good people have been forced out... (and others sacrificed just so the target can be made redundant). Incompetence is rewarded with promotion and bonuses. Lazy and inept staff are protected by 'friends' in senior roles. Discrimination runs rife through the company and it covers all genres, racial, sexual, knowledge and ability. The key with Vocalink is not to be good at your job, do not exceed expectations, do not question ludicrous decisions and if something is wrong never, ever say so. Every corporate stereotype is played out at Vocalink daily and it is laughable to be involved with meetings where individuals actually believe their own BS. Why say 1 word when 462 will give the same answer (Q: Has this been done? A: I monitored the deliverable status of the solution proposed and instigated a full indepth collaboration of relevant parties in order to assign the necessary chronological committment and have suceeded in part, to deliver a relevant clarification of the original solicitation. Thats a No then). These people should have been in politics, it's where they belong. If there's a problem, Vocalink management will arrange a meeting and if they think it's a serious problem they'll arrange another meeting, meanwhile, the problem will get resolved by one the amazing few who actually know what they are doing and the management will take full credit. You have to understand that this company runs the ENTIRE UK payments infrastructure system, your money/mortgage/direct debits are in the hands of management baboons who would struggle with a tea party! If you're one of the chosen few you will ride the Vocalink gravy train, doing nothing, spouting BS, fraudulent paid annual leave, undeserved bonuses, ludicrous expense claims and all with a clear conscience. I hope that Mastercard will see the light at some point but I doubt they ever will because Vocalink are very good at putting on a front and papering over the enormous cracks. LONG LIVE CORPORATE BS

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The Tea party is all yours

    Vocalink2019-01-21

    Vocalink Response

    January 28, 2019Social Media

    Thank you for your post, we appreciate you taking the time to raise your concerns. Our business takes pride in ensuring we are always delivering excellent levels of service to our scheme partners, as we have been doing, in some cases, for decades. These are delivered by a workforce of highly skilled employees in the UK and around the world, the talent of which is recognised by our business through a number of different channels. We take all feedback very seriously especially around potential discrimination claims and would ask you to contact VL-HRBusinessPartnering@mastercard.com to discuss further, or if you would prefer, you can expand on your concerns anonymously through our Mastercard Ethics Helpline, https://secure.ethicspoint.com/domain/media/en/gui/35023/index.html.

    Show Less
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to work - good work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Vocalink full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Plenty of opportunity to move and develop your skills

    Cons

    Things can take a long time to get done

    Vocalink2018-09-15
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Good company, but where is it going?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Architect in Rickmansworth, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Vocalink full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Historically a very good organisation, leading the UK Payments market. Friendly people, top table management very good and very visible.

    Cons

    Since the take over by Mastercard, the organisation has been in a constant state of reorganisation. Future direction of the company seems to be confused All focus is upon sales, with less thought on what happens next

    Vocalink2017-11-20

    Vocalink Response

    November 23, 2017

    Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear that you have so many good things to say about our organisation! Our expertise has recently been recognised by a panel of judges from the industry, who recognised us with both the ‘Payments Infrastructure’ and the ‘Overall Winner’ awards at the Payments Awards ceremony last week. We understand that the acquisition has created some changes in our structure and these in turn create a level of uncertainty which is to be expected with any acquisition of this size. It is important that we support our employees and recognise that communication is very important during such changes which is why we ensure our Line Managers along with collateral on our Intranet site is available for reference. Thank you again for your comments.

    Show Less
  9. "Technical Author - Technical Publications Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Writer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Vocalink full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fast paced interesting environment Leading wage of financial services technology Terrific in house experience Terrific perks Decent salary Very modern office facilities

    Cons

    Bother really to change here, great colleagues and well rewarded with salary and benefits, perhaps a flatter management structure, but that would just be knit picking

    Vocalink2017-10-26

    Vocalink Response

    October 30, 2017

    We are pleased that you enjoyed your time at Vocalink. We’re passionate about the continuous development of our people and believe that investment in this area not only supports the future of our business, it also creates a positive culture. We are happy to hear that the modern office facilities are being appreciated as significant time and resources has been invested in this area to try and enhance the way we operate and move towards an even more collaborative work style. Thank you for your review.

    Show Less
  10. "Fantastic place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Developer in Harrogate, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Vocalink full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - The work is varied, with changes and projects always coming and going - The teams are friendly and open to ideas - Training is good, usually in-house by experienced staff willing to teach

    Cons

    I had no negatives during my time here

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing!

    Vocalink2017-10-12

    Vocalink Response

    October 13, 2017

    Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you have so many positive comments about your experience of working at Vocalink. We’re passionate about the continuous development of our people and believe that investment in this area not only supports the future of our business, it also creates a positive culture. Thanks again for your comments.

    Show Less
Found 39 reviews