Volkswagen Group of America "work environment" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Volkswagen Group of America Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated 1 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
60%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Volkswagen Group of America President and CEO, VWGoA Scott Keogh
Scott Keogh
21 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good benefits in terms of work flexibility(in 31 reviews)

  • "the ERL has really embraced the idea of a Silicon Valley like work environment(in 29 reviews)

Cons
  • "Sometimes it's a pain to have to communicate with Germany to get information on the cars or have to translate German text when I don't speak(in 27 reviews)

  • "Work life/balance is non existent(in 22 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Product Marketing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Volkswagen Group of America full-time

    Pros

    Fast paced working environment. Great perks.

    Cons

    Opportunities to grow with a lean structure

    Volkswagen Group of America2019-12-02
  2. "Overall a good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineering Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Volkswagen Group of America full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    VW has many policies to support work-life balance, for example the work-from-home and summer hour programs add great flexibility to my work arrangements. VW also made effort to promote ethics and compliance by empowering employees of all levels to speak up. The leadership and work environment is generally supportive.

    Cons

    As with any large international company, transparency and information sharing can be a challenge. I feel that a large portion of my effort is spent fighting political battles rather than doing actual productive work. The company can really benefit from better transparency and collective effort, instead of each individual or team safeguarding her/their own interest and pulling in different directions.

    Continue reading
    Volkswagen Group of America2019-07-03
  3. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 

    I worked at Volkswagen Group of America for less than a year

    Pros

    Great working environment and excellent coworkers

    Cons

    fast paced and many levels of communication

    Volkswagen Group of America2019-04-09
  4. "Great atmosphere!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Operations in Belmont, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Volkswagen Group of America for more than a year

    Pros

    A true melting pot of ideas as people from different teams and disciplines within the ERL have the opportunity to collaborate and work together on projects. Nice that walls aren't built between teams and there's a real sense of even hierarchy. Overall a fun group of people to work with. Stocked kitchens too with snacks, drinks, fruit, muffins, etc! Pool table, ping pong, and foosball! From the relaxed dress code, provided snacks, modern furniture, tons of break areas, etc., the ERL has really embraced the idea of a Silicon Valley like work environment. Opportunities within the larger VW Group sent to all employees on bi-weekly basis.

    Cons

    Above average employee turn over and lots of contractors. Some teams are good about converting from contractor to FTE...others aren't.

    Volkswagen Group of America2019-02-21
  5. "A job for cattle"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Coordinator in Auburn Hills, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Volkswagen Group of America for more than a year

    Pros

    It paid better than most companies, for similar job functions.

    Cons

    Toxic work environment. Blatant favoritism. Promoting those that weren’t qualified. Terminating (culling entire teams) without notice. Contractors are the bulk of the workforce. Parking is challenging.

    Volkswagen Group of America2018-11-28
  6. Helpful (5)

    "I love working at the electronics research lab for VW group of America"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Intern - Hourly in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Volkswagen Group of America full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Awesome work environment. Cool fun projects and the chance to with for the largest Automotive manufacture in the world. The Erl had about 200 or so employees and had the feel of a small tech company with tht resources of VW.

    Cons

    Sometimes it's a pain to have to communicate with Germany to get information on the cars or have to translate German text when I don't speak German

    Volkswagen Group of America2018-03-23
  7. "great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 

    I worked at Volkswagen Group of America

    Pros

    great company to work for that provides challenging yet rewarding work environment with something new every day

    Cons

    systems are challenging to understand at first but many training sessions are offered

    Volkswagen Group of America2018-02-07
  8. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Volkswagen Group of America

    Pros

    Very good working environment at Volkswagen

    Cons

    Very competitive with peers and managers

    Volkswagen Group of America2017-11-11
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Herndon, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Volkswagen Group of America full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, health care, 401K match, bonus structure and cultural events.

    Cons

    Stressful work environment, no true employee standard of conduct. A few HQ US executives that act unprofessional, raise voice and yell at employees.

    Continue reading
    Volkswagen Group of America2017-11-20
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Great Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Volkswagen Group of America full-time

    Pros

    VW is a great place to work. I enjoy what I do and feel challenged every day. I also have found that this is a work environment that provides its employees a good work life balance. There are also fun events/activities for employees to participate in. Benefits/Perks: Summer Hours Community Service Leave Ride/Drive events when new vehicles are launched Employee Leave/Purchase Program Competitive Benefits/401(k)/Bonus Structure

    Cons

    Leadership has been very receptive to employee feedback that is given through annual surveys.

    Continue reading
    Volkswagen Group of America2017-08-30

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 34 reviews