Volkswagen Reviews

Updated 29 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
80%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Volkswagen Chairman of the Board of Management Herbert Diess
Herbert Diess
111 Ratings
Pros
  • "good salary, perfect work-life balance(in 31 reviews)

  • "Great incentives ( u get to drive the latest cars )(in 28 reviews)

Cons
  • "Very conservative culture and can be very insular if you're not from Wolfsburg(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Lots of opportunities"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Undergraduate in Milton Keynes, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Volkswagen full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Cohort, great onboarding programme, opportunity to develop through courses

    Cons

    HR can be slow to respond and act

    Volkswagen2020-05-12
  2. "Very good"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Analyst in Milton Keynes, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Volkswagen full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits Car scheme Process led company

    Cons

    Long hours are the norm

    Volkswagen2020-03-12
  3. "Fantastic benefits"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Communications Manager in Milton Keynes, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Volkswagen full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Staff are really looked after with a strong salary and benefits package.

    Cons

    It is a very corporate environment which stifles creativity.

    Continue reading
    Volkswagen2020-02-28
  4. "Good Graduate Scheme"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Graduate in Milton Keynes, England

    I worked at Volkswagen full-time

    Pros

    Rotation gives you access to broad range of work and ability to develop a varied skillset. Good networking opportunities and good level of responsibility.

    Cons

    As skillset is very broad, you can lack the in depth knowledge/skills to secure roles at the end of the scheme.

    Volkswagen2020-02-28
  5. "Poor management and poor training"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Receptionist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Volkswagen part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It is quite a laid back environment.

    Cons

    Poor training- you are sort of just left to figure it out on your own which is difficult if, like me, you have no previous experience in this sort of job. Also, they continuously messed up my pay.

    Volkswagen2020-02-15
  6. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SERVICE ADVISOR in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Volkswagen full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great staff good management

    Cons

    Long hours, weekends no sick pay

    Continue reading
    Volkswagen2020-01-20
  7. "Don't"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Receptionist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Volkswagen part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Not a busy environment which is both a pro and con*

    Cons

    Not busy = means that it is really quite boring, and not just for my position either the sales team are equally as bored. Where to start? • Poor training, had no idea what was going on for the majority of my employment and therefore I didnt learn anything to help me develop any skills. •Lack of communication between all the departments, leads to a lot of confusion •Manager was way too passive aggressive •The Sales team were quite good at returning calls, however some members of the service team just dont care (I dont blame them) but the consequences are that customers get angry at le receptionist. (Which reminder, wasnt trained for) •Diversity is probably good, the other employees had low key racist comments or discriminatory comments to certain races etc. Additional meh things: •The layout of the place made it very hard to see things and do my job •Update employee areas please, the toilets were horrible, the kitchen was just grim and had very basic things, just a kettle actually •You would think for a multi million or billion company they would provide more for the staff like lunch, better utilities, even caring and that's free •Sick isnt paid which is just stupid Probably a lot more, but my experience is mine alone. I wouldn't recommend working here in the dealerships as they are quite boring, high pressure, confused management and bad work/life balance.

    Continue reading
    Volkswagen2020-02-22
  8. "Volkswagen Marketing Assistant"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Assistant 
    Recommends

    I worked at Volkswagen full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Company Car Training International Travel

    Cons

    No cons great place to work

    Volkswagen2019-12-04
  9. "Great place to work, but long hours"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Sales Trainee 

    I have been working at Volkswagen full-time

    Pros

    Great team, company car, varied days, value good customer service.

    Cons

    Long hours, can be boring on quiet days.

    Volkswagen2019-11-10
  10. "Very Poor Company"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Executive in Bristol, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Volkswagen full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The earning potential is quite good with a great quality VW brand

    Cons

    Very poorly run, extremely unorganised, to few staff to do the job properly,shocking management as all they want to do is “hit with a stick” to get results and tick the VW boxes, bullying of some weaker staff is common place hence the revolving door, selling cars seems to be an after thought

    Continue reading
    Volkswagen2019-11-17
Found 437 reviews