Volvo Cars Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Volvo Cars Reviews

Updated 17 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 89 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
83%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Volvo Cars CEO Håkan Samuelsson
Håkan Samuelsson
43 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Swedish attitude rether slower response than some german competitors(in 5 reviews)

  • "(in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Very good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Volvo Cars full-time

    Pros

    Drive new cars nice managers

    Cons

    No respect for selling a car on behalf of someone else

    Advice to Management

    Show appreciation more on high achievers

    Volvo Cars2018-07-22
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Poor Swedish leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Volvo Cars

    Pros

    Good people trying to do the best thing locally

    Cons

    Completely hopeless senior Swedish leadership team. Still reaping the benefits of Stefan Jacoby's past decisions and vision. No new ones of any substance since he unfortunately went.

    Advice to Management

    There are other countries & cultures outside of Sweden. Stick to design & let the markets sell the product.

    Volvo Cars2015-11-18
  3. "Great Family owned business with Upper Management concerns."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Volvo Cars full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people to work with, benefits (health insurance, vacation, sick time, 401K),

    Cons

    No work performance reviews.

    Volvo Cars2019-06-17
  4. "..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lot Attendant in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Volvo Cars full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Very good place to work

    Cons

    Nothing to say ...... .. ....

    Volvo Cars2019-05-22
  5. "Good workplace for a family father"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Electronics Technician in Gothenburg
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Volvo Cars full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - It is a very good balance between family and working life. - Good development opportunities

    Cons

    - In my current position I feel underpaid for the work I do. - Sometimes you don't have to work overtime when a project requires it

    Volvo Cars2019-05-28
  6. "Good experience overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Master Thesis Student in Torslanda
      Negative Outlook

      I have been working at Volvo Cars full-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      Access to facilities, Good Environment, Freedom

      Cons

      Lack of clear communication, very compartmnetalized

      Volvo Cars2019-05-20
    • "Not as they claim to be as an "employer""

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Senior Software Developer in Gothenburg
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Volvo Cars full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Flexible working hours and a good name.

      Cons

      Discrimination on many bases. Some managers don't have an interest in employees progress/development. Lots of talking and promising (oral, avoiding any form of writing) and nothing would happen. Micromanagement.

      Advice to Management

      Leave their ivory tower and try to open their eyes and take actions other than running away from reality. Treat all employees the same way, without discrimination based on anything.

      Volvo Cars2019-05-25
    • "Good place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Analytics Manager 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Volvo Cars full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Freedom to decide your roll

      Cons

      Departments no synced, hard to move up

      Volvo Cars2019-04-19
    • "Good place and relaxed ambient"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Lead Engineer in Gothenburg
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Volvo Cars full-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      Good Benefits, Relaxed ambient, Great coworking, Lots of benefits, great life balance

      Cons

      Little bit slow when trying to move a project, lots on management things changing al over

      Volvo Cars2019-03-24
    • "Awesome"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Volvo Cars full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Culture and management along with value system

      Cons

      Performance management and future link

      Advice to Management

      Be watchful of mediocrity and biasness

      Volvo Cars2019-02-17
    Found 89 reviews