Volvo Cars Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Volvo Cars Reviews

Updated 4 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 103 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
85%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Volvo Cars CEO Håkan Samuelsson
Håkan Samuelsson
50 Ratings
  1. "Okish"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Consultant in Gothenburg
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Volvo Cars full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Stability, growth potential, good car lease package

    Cons

    They don't care much about employees. You earn based on how many years you work, not on your performance.

    Volvo Cars2019-07-08
  2. "Great people and an enjoyable place to work, but not overly driven"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Safety Analysis Engineer, First in Gothenburg
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Volvo Cars full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The work environment is relaxed and positive, and one of their greatest strengths is their employee retention. With so many people that have been working together for so long, the company works well together in many ways. The company has many ways in which it is employee centric and offers a lot of possibility to move around within the organization. Current changes in corporate structure may improve cross-functional work and information exchange, but it remains to be seen as it's a work in progress. The benefits are good and the management is flexible to the life interests and demands outside of work.

    Cons

    The company is very conservative, which slows its innovation and market share growth. Because employee retention is so high, there is limited opportunity to grow into new positions, and they are the slowest I've ever experienced with regard to static promotions (eg moving someone from an engineer to senior engineer, which doesn't require a vacated position). The salaries are also very low compared to similar positions in automotive companies located outside of Sweden.

    Volvo Cars2019-06-27
  3. "Good work environment with flexible work hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analysis Engineer in Gothenburg
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Volvo Cars full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good work environment, Flexible work hours Carrier growth and learning Stability

    Cons

    Oraganizational transformations Team activities support is limited

    Volvo Cars2019-06-25
  4. "Great Family owned business with Upper Management concerns."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Volvo Cars full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people to work with, benefits (health insurance, vacation, sick time, 401K),

    Cons

    No work performance reviews.

    Volvo Cars2019-06-17
  5. "..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lot Attendant in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Volvo Cars full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very good place to work

    Cons

    Nothing to say ...... .. ....

    Volvo Cars2019-05-22
  6. "Good workplace for a family father"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Electronics Technician in Gothenburg
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Volvo Cars full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - It is a very good balance between family and working life. - Good development opportunities

    Cons

    - In my current position I feel underpaid for the work I do. - Sometimes you don't have to work overtime when a project requires it

    Volvo Cars2019-05-28
  7. "Good experience overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Master Thesis Student in Torslanda
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Volvo Cars full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Access to facilities, Good Environment, Freedom

    Cons

    Lack of clear communication, very compartmnetalized

    Volvo Cars2019-05-20
  8. "Not as they claim to be as an "employer""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Developer in Gothenburg
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Volvo Cars full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible working hours and a good name.

    Cons

    Discrimination on many bases. Some managers don't have an interest in employees progress/development. Lots of talking and promising (oral, avoiding any form of writing) and nothing would happen. Micromanagement.

    Continue reading
    Volvo Cars2019-05-25
  9. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analytics Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Volvo Cars full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Freedom to decide your roll

    Cons

    Departments no synced, hard to move up

    Volvo Cars2019-04-19
  10. "Good place and relaxed ambient"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Engineer in Gothenburg
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Volvo Cars full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good Benefits, Relaxed ambient, Great coworking, Lots of benefits, great life balance

    Cons

    Little bit slow when trying to move a project, lots on management things changing al over

    Volvo Cars2019-03-24
Found 103 reviews