Volvo Trucks Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Volvo Trucks Reviews

Updated 23 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 332 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
88%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Volvo Trucks CEO Dennis R. Slagle
Dennis R. Slagle
87 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "I really recommend you Volvo"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Automation Engineer in Felixstowe, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Volvo Trucks part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic atmosphere and also well stuff

    Cons

    Literally no cons for me because i dont have much experience with Volvo is not

    Advice to Management

    Let everything remain the same because in my opinion that time for Volvo was incredibly helpful for my experience

    Volvo Trucks2018-08-16
  2. "A good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Accountant in Warwick, West Midlands, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Volvo Trucks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Good work environment -Subsidised cafeteria

    Cons

    - Need more training given to staff - need to be more approachable and helpful

    Advice to Management

    - Provide more training

    Volvo Trucks2019-02-13
  3. "Culture, benefits, management style"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Volvo Trucks full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good camaraderie in the depots, down to earth people A lot of trust and autonomy to do job Good facilities Good intentions to look after staff

    Cons

    Terms and conditions need to be improved Monthly 1 to 1s that should happen don’t happen The support you get very dependent on individual manager Slow career progression for most

    Advice to Management

    Managers too pressurised and don’t have time to look after the staff properly

    Volvo Trucks2019-01-25
  4. "Good company to work for although could do with looking at development opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Warwick, West Midlands, England

    I worked at Volvo Trucks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Doesn't expect overtime encourages you to work your set hours only, great culture

    Cons

    No focus on development and limited opportunities to progress

    Volvo Trucks2018-11-09
  5. "volvo tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Maintenance Technician in Washington, North East England, England

    I worked at Volvo Trucks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great company to work for, all staff are very well thought of and the salary's are very good

    Cons

    the equipment used in the workshop is very dated

    Advice to Management

    none

    Volvo Trucks2017-10-26
  6. "Project manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Volvo Trucks

    Pros

    It has a great corporate culture, providing an enjoyable working environment for employees. The company attaches great importance on safety and environmental care. Its organisation and governance structure are employee-centred. The HR staff are professional, friendly and supportive. The organisation is large but not hierarchical. It provides smooth channels to communicate with senior management.

    Cons

    The organisational structure kept changing almost every six months. It is not easy to follow the logic of every change and to figure out its potential impact on one's own career development.

    Advice to Management

    It is of great importance to give a frequent and regular update on the company's overall business strategy and plan, help employees at all positions develop a perspective of the big picture.

    Volvo Trucks2015-09-10
  7. "Truck Service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Automobile Engineer in Singapore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Volvo Trucks full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Now,i'm working Volvo service in Myanmar.So,i have more experience in Volvo service.

    Cons

    I get many more experience in Volvo Service Department.

    Advice to Management

    1. Teamwork 2. Share as family.

    Volvo Trucks2019-06-23
  8. "Overall good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Volvo Trucks full-time

    Pros

    Good work life balance and work culture

    Cons

    Less strategic, no food or transportation which is basic in other good mnc

    Volvo Trucks2019-06-05
  9. "Good work opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Engineer in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Volvo Trucks full-time

    Pros

    Good exposure of working in global products. Good opportunities for local & abroad travel. Great growth opportunities. Great company for Female Mechanical Engineers, as there is no biasing.

    Cons

    Politics to promote people from a certain geographical area.

    Volvo Trucks2019-05-14
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Full time employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Development Engineer in Gothenburg

      I have been working at Volvo Trucks full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Relaxed and interesting working environment

      Cons

      Underpaid as PhD, no Traveling. They dont like if you travel 2x per months, guhe discussions about it. Poor salary increase. They even dont cover the inflation!

      Volvo Trucks2019-04-29
    Found 332 reviews