Voyage Care Reviews

Updated 25 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
48%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Voyage Care Chief Executive Officer  Andrew Cannon
Andrew Cannon
71 Ratings
Pros
  • "Opportunity for progression, treated well by management and great people we support(in 35 reviews)

  • "Giving service users the life they deserve and teaching them new skills(in 24 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours managment dont listen when you have concerns poorly run service(in 12 reviews)

  • "The job can be very challenging due to the unpredictable behaviour of service users(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "It’s a good company"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Support Work in Thrapston, England

    I have been working at Voyage Care part-time

    Pros

    It pays well, management are awesome too.

    Cons

    Sometimes shifts can be unpredictable.

    Voyage Care Response

    June 5, 2020Voyage Care

    A great review, thanks very much for your comments! We're pleased to hear you feel well supported by management in your role.

  2. "Not for the faint hearted!"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Support Worker in Southampton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Voyage Care full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    So much to learn, courses are great, you hit the ground running 🏃‍♂️ So

    Cons

    communication is terrible, cliques, and paperwork is time consumed

    Continue reading

    Voyage Care Response

    June 5, 2020Voyage Care

    Thank you for your review. It's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the courses we offer and have learnt a lot during your time with us so far. With regards to your comments about communication and cliques we would like you to get in contact with further information so we can look into this. Please can you get in touch with our HR team to discuss your above experiences? You can contact them either by emailing HROperations@voyagecare.com or calling 01543 484679.

  3. Helpful (2)

    "Room to Improve"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior in Gosport, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Voyage Care full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great training and career advancement. Personal job satisfaction

    Cons

    Not a competitive salary, lack financial incentive Demanding hours, with little rewards

    Continue reading
  4. "It’s ok"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Support Worker in Derby, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Voyage Care full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Job satisfaction flexible shifts clean

    Cons

    Clicks Promise training and nvq but still waiting after 2 years

    Continue reading

    Voyage Care Response

    June 5, 2020Voyage Care

    Thank you for your comments, job satisfaction is something that many of our staff members say is the highlight of working for Voyage Care - helping the people we support to gain confidence and independence. Our training programme is often something we are praised on, so we would encourage you to ask your manager or get in touch with the Training team to get further training steps in place.

  5. "Honest and positive"

    3.0
    Current Employee - Support Worker in Shepton Mallet, England

    I have been working at Voyage Care full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Giving service users the life they deserve and teaching them new skills

    Cons

    Pay is not great

    Voyage Care Response

    June 5, 2020Voyage Care

    Thank you for your really positive review! The people we support are at the heart of everything we do, and always will be - this is often what most employees enjoy the most about being a support worker. The social care sector is facing funding challenges, which makes it difficult for us to do all we would like to on pay, however we are continually fighting for fairer funding. We also offer company benefits that give staff access to exclusive discounts, please ask your manager if you’ve not signed up for this.

  6. "Overall Thumbs up"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Manager in Waterlooville, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Voyage Care full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Supportive operations team Career development opportunities Genuinely care about delivering good services Proven track record

    Cons

    Inconsistent pay scales for support staff working in services in the same locations for no apparent reason other than recruitment needs. Voyage should be rewarding the services who retain a stable staff team except they feel deflated when their colleagues 2 doors down are getting paid more to do the same job. Sometimes feels like the company react to quickly to changes/updates. Whilst it's great and reassuring to know that the company monitor changes to legislation and lessons learnt, the response often feels rushed and not well thought out which results in several versions of a new policy or document being released in a short space of time before we reach a suitable and final peice which is highly frustrating.

    Continue reading

    Voyage Care Response

    June 5, 2020Voyage Care

    Thank you for your review, we are really pleased to hear that you feel you have a supportive ops team and opportunities to progress. With regards to your other comments, we would like to know some further information if you could please get in touch as soon as possible with our HR team. You can contact them either by emailing HROperations@voyagecare.com or calling 01543 484679.

  7. "Very good place"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Support Supervisor in Gloucester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Voyage Care full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Opportunity for progression, treated well by management and great people we support. You will read bad reviews on here and indeed from people who either had their contract terminated or who can’t understand basic employments. All company’s have policies and procedures which everyone needs to follow - I have noticed most posts have been by those who don’t recognize the commitment they may have made and then we’re terminated from the service due to being a risk to the team or pws. I worked with a great team of people and always felt supported by everyone. The support workers were difficult sometimes as they didn’t understand the workload or pressure in the DCA offices however this is expected. I wouldn’t go into this role if you want an easy life, it does come with a lot of responsibility but I throughly enjoyed it.

    Cons

    The pay for all support workers and the office team is slightly lower than the average care provider - although this is made up in the fantastic culture and support from the company. No pay for on call! This is a serious problem as the on call is as abused regularly by support workers and therefor it’s more difficult to retain office staff due to unhealthy work life balance - please pay them!

    Continue reading

    Voyage Care Response

    June 5, 2020Voyage Care

    What a wonderful review! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments - fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We wish you all the luck in your future endeavours.

  8. Helpful (2)

    "Jealousies"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Night Worker in Fareham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Voyage Care full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The Residents I guess

    Cons

    I experienced a lot of jealousy from senior s and other staff at voyage care.bit would appear that the more money these people have the more they enjoy seeing me fail, trip up or fall flat on my face. They enjoyed seeing me failing and finding know why?From experience I definitely was getting jealousy attacks but I do believe in Karma

    Continue reading

    Voyage Care Response

    November 29, 2019Voyage Care

    We are extremely concerned to read your comments, please can you get in touch with our HR team to discuss your above experiences? You can contact them either by emailing HROperations@voyagecare.com or calling 01543 484679.

  9. "Fantastic Varied Role that changes daily."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trainer in Christchurch, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Voyage Care full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Amazing supportive teams Fun and rewarding vocation Passionate and hardworking support staff Transforming people’s lives daily

    Cons

    Can be long hours and lots of hard work, which can be emotional and physical.

    Continue reading

    Voyage Care Response

    November 29, 2019Voyage Care

    This is such a wonderful review, thank you. Like you said, being a support worker can be very demanding but the reward of transforming someone's life is what many of support worker's say they enjoy the most about the job. Many thanks again for your review.

  10. "Could not ask for a better team."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Newport, Newport, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Voyage Care full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Outstanding support from management, whatever support iv asked for or needed I have always received it. Even when I have been stranded the manager has gone out of her way to pick me up and make sure I’m safe. The staff team are amazing and for the first time in my life I feel I can honestly say I work for a company that puts the pws first and the staff are supported. If your looking for a job in health and social care, that you can progress and be treated like a person and not a number then this is the job to apply for.

    Cons

    It’s not just a job you can do if you don’t have no ambition or want to be in, if your after just a wage or something easy then it’s not the job for you.

    Continue reading

    Voyage Care Response

    November 1, 2019Voyage Care

    What an utterly fantastic review! It really is heart warming to read about your positive experiences. Thank you for your hard work and dedication.

Found 150 reviews