Voyage Care Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Voyage Care Reviews

Updated 28 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
42%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
Voyage Care Chief Executive Officer  Andrew Cannon
Andrew Cannon
70 Ratings
Pros
  • "Opportunity for progression, treated well by management and great people we support(in 35 reviews)

  • "Great service users and some good staff(in 23 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours managment dont listen when you have concerns poorly run service(in 12 reviews)

  • "No support whatsoever from management(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Very good place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Support Supervisor in Gloucester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Voyage Care full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Opportunity for progression, treated well by management and great people we support. You will read bad reviews on here and indeed from people who either had their contract terminated or who can’t understand basic employments. All company’s have policies and procedures which everyone needs to follow - I have noticed most posts have been by those who don’t recognize the commitment they may have made and then we’re terminated from the service due to being a risk to the team or pws. I worked with a great team of people and always felt supported by everyone. The support workers were difficult sometimes as they didn’t understand the workload or pressure in the DCA offices however this is expected. I wouldn’t go into this role if you want an easy life, it does come with a lot of responsibility but I throughly enjoyed it.

    Cons

    The pay for all support workers and the office team is slightly lower than the average care provider - although this is made up in the fantastic culture and support from the company. No pay for on call! This is a serious problem as the on call is as abused regularly by support workers and therefor it’s more difficult to retain office staff due to unhealthy work life balance - please pay them!

    Continue reading
    Voyage Care2019-11-21
  2. "Overall Thumbs up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Manager in Waterlooville, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Voyage Care full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Supportive operations team Career development opportunities Genuinely care about delivering good services Proven track record

    Cons

    Inconsistent pay scales for support staff working in services in the same locations for no apparent reason other than recruitment needs. Voyage should be rewarding the services who retain a stable staff team except they feel deflated when their colleagues 2 doors down are getting paid more to do the same job. Sometimes feels like the company react to quickly to changes/updates. Whilst it's great and reassuring to know that the company monitor changes to legislation and lessons learnt, the response often feels rushed and not well thought out which results in several versions of a new policy or document being released in a short space of time before we reach a suitable and final peice which is highly frustrating.

    Continue reading
    Voyage Care2020-01-28
  3. "Jealousies"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Night Worker in Fareham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Voyage Care full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The Residents I guess

    Cons

    I experienced a lot of jealousy from senior s and other staff at voyage care.bit would appear that the more money these people have the more they enjoy seeing me fail, trip up or fall flat on my face. They enjoyed seeing me failing and finding know why?From experience I definitely was getting jealousy attacks but I do believe in Karma

    Continue reading
    Voyage Care2019-11-17

    Voyage Care Response

    November 29, 2019Voyage Care

    We are extremely concerned to read your comments, please can you get in touch with our HR team to discuss your above experiences? You can contact them either by emailing HROperations@voyagecare.com or calling 01543 484679.

    Continue reading
  4. "Fantastic Varied Role that changes daily."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trainer in Christchurch, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Voyage Care full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Amazing supportive teams Fun and rewarding vocation Passionate and hardworking support staff Transforming people’s lives daily

    Cons

    Can be long hours and lots of hard work, which can be emotional and physical.

    Continue reading
    Voyage Care2019-11-01

    Voyage Care Response

    November 29, 2019Voyage Care

    This is such a wonderful review, thank you. Like you said, being a support worker can be very demanding but the reward of transforming someone's life is what many of support worker's say they enjoy the most about the job. Many thanks again for your review.

    Continue reading
  5. "Could not ask for a better team."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Newport, Newport, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Voyage Care full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Outstanding support from management, whatever support iv asked for or needed I have always received it. Even when I have been stranded the manager has gone out of her way to pick me up and make sure I’m safe. The staff team are amazing and for the first time in my life I feel I can honestly say I work for a company that puts the pws first and the staff are supported. If your looking for a job in health and social care, that you can progress and be treated like a person and not a number then this is the job to apply for.

    Cons

    It’s not just a job you can do if you don’t have no ambition or want to be in, if your after just a wage or something easy then it’s not the job for you.

    Continue reading
    Voyage Care2019-10-28

    Voyage Care Response

    November 1, 2019Voyage Care

    What an utterly fantastic review! It really is heart warming to read about your positive experiences. Thank you for your hard work and dedication.

    Continue reading
  6. "Support worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Newport, Newport, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Voyage Care full-time

    Pros

    Great place, the houses I work in are enjoyable and rewarding. Really good training and the staff work together helping eachother our making it flexible when needed. Management are approachable and contactable at all times to help out.

    Cons

    Pay could be a little better

    Continue reading
    Voyage Care2019-10-28

    Voyage Care Response

    November 1, 2019Voyage Care

    Thank you for your review, it is fantastic to hear that you find your work enjoyable and rewarding. Our comprehensive training programmes are something that we really pride ourselves on so it's great that you have found this useful. The social care sector is facing funding challenges, which makes it difficult for us to do all we would like to on pay, however we are continually fighting for fairer funding. We also offer company benefits that give staff access to exclusive discounts, please ask your Manager if you’ve not signed up for this.

    Continue reading
  7. "AVOID AT ALL COST!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Support Worker in Wolverhampton, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Voyage Care full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    people you support are lovely and learning new things every day

    Cons

    AWFUL management BAD ATTITUDES FROM MANAGEMENT working over 60 hours per week above contracted. LESS THAN FIVE HOURS SLEEP BEFORE NEXT SHIFT DUE TO TIME YOU'D HAVE TO GET UP READY FOR THE NEXT ONE

    Continue reading
    Voyage Care2019-11-16

    Voyage Care Response

    November 29, 2019Voyage Care

    We are very concerned to read your comments, please can you get in touch with our HR team to discuss your above experiences? You can contact them either by emailing HROperations@voyagecare.com or calling 01543 484679.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Avoid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Support Analyst in Litchfield, England

    I have been working at Voyage Care full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There’s is nothing great about voyage care. Broken company!

    Cons

    As soon as you start working you want return home

    Voyage Care2019-10-30

    Voyage Care Response

    November 1, 2019Voyage Care

    We are extremely concerned to read your comments, please can you get in touch with our HR team to discuss your above experiences? You can contact them either by emailing HROperations@voyagecare.com or calling 01543 484679.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Better wages"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Support Worker in Haworth, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Voyage Care full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people we support are lovely,

    Cons

    Lots of bit#@ng, need extra shifts to get a living wage, no extra for working Sundays, deputy chooses shifts to suit

    Voyage Care2019-08-03

    Voyage Care Response

    August 9, 2019Voyage Care

    We are pleased to hear that a big positive of working for Voyage Care is the people we support, it is extremely rewarding to help some of the most vulnerable people in society. Funding challenges across the sector mean although we can’t always do as much as we’d like to in terms of pay, we’re constantly improving our benefits package so our employees can see their money go further. We will certainly take your feedback on board and If you would like to find out more about the benefits available to you as a Voyage Care employee please contact companybenefits@voyagecare.com.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Under-paid, poorly managed, bullying - avoid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Support Worker in Newport, Newport, Wales
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Voyage Care full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Actually supporting the service users. Being able to make life easier for genuinely vulnerable people is rewarding.

    Cons

    • Terrible pay. You get better wages stacking shelves and cleaning • Talking of cleaning, a large proportion of the job involved cleaning. I'm no lazy, filthy type, but I signed up to be a support worker, not a cleaner • Office (or rather care home) politics. I thought school was bad...

    Continue reading
    Voyage Care2019-08-28

    Voyage Care Response

    August 30, 2019Voyage Care

    We are very concerned to read your comments, and assure you that we take all our reviews very seriously. Please get in touch with our HR team to discuss your experiences, you can contact them either by emailing HROperations@voyagecare.com or calling 01543 484679

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 143 reviews