Voyage Care "people we support" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Voyage Care Employee Reviews about "people we support"

Updated 21 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .
2.8
40%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
Voyage Care Chief Executive Officer  Andrew Cannon
Andrew Cannon
75 Ratings
Pros
  • "Opportunity for progression, treated well by management and great people we support(in 35 reviews)

  • "Giving service users the life they deserve and teaching them new skills(in 24 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours managment dont listen when you have concerns poorly run service(in 12 reviews)

  • "The job can be very challenging due to the unpredictable behaviour of service users(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "people we support"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Very good place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Support Supervisor in Gloucester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Voyage Care full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Opportunity for progression, treated well by management and great people we support. You will read bad reviews on here and indeed from people who either had their contract terminated or who can’t understand basic employments. All company’s have policies and procedures which everyone needs to follow - I have noticed most posts have been by those who don’t recognize the commitment they may have made and then we’re terminated from the service due to being a risk to the team or pws. I worked with a great team of people and always felt supported by everyone. The support workers were difficult sometimes as they didn’t understand the workload or pressure in the DCA offices however this is expected. I wouldn’t go into this role if you want an easy life, it does come with a lot of responsibility but I throughly enjoyed it.

    Cons

    The pay for all support workers and the office team is slightly lower than the average care provider - although this is made up in the fantastic culture and support from the company. No pay for on call! This is a serious problem as the on call is as abused regularly by support workers and therefor it’s more difficult to retain office staff due to unhealthy work life balance - please pay them!

    Continue reading
    Voyage Care2019-11-21
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Better wages"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Support Worker in Haworth, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Voyage Care full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people we support are lovely,

    Cons

    Lots of bit#@ng, need extra shifts to get a living wage, no extra for working Sundays, deputy chooses shifts to suit

    Voyage Care2019-08-03

    Voyage Care Response

    August 9, 2019Voyage Care

    We are pleased to hear that a big positive of working for Voyage Care is the people we support, it is extremely rewarding to help some of the most vulnerable people in society. Funding challenges across the sector mean although we can’t always do as much as we’d like to in terms of pay, we’re constantly improving our benefits package so our employees can see their money go further. We will certainly take your feedback on board and If you would like to find out more about the benefits available to you as a Voyage Care employee please contact companybenefits@voyagecare.com.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Management need a shake up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Support Worker in Keighley, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Voyage Care full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Rewarding looking after people we support,

    Cons

    It's turning into a cleaning job, seniors pass on jobs they don't want to do and magers get to pick hours and come and go as they please, ( change maxtime )

    Continue reading
    Voyage Care2019-02-07

    Voyage Care Response

    February 19, 2019Voyage Care

    We are really happy to hear that you find caring for the people we support rewarding – something that many of our staff members agree is a job highlight. However, your comments about management are very concerning and we would really like you to share some more information with us directly. Please call our friendly HR team on 01543 484679 or send them an email at HROperations@voyagecare.com. We really hope we can help you to get these issues resolved.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Fantastic company :)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lichfield, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Voyage Care full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Voyage gives you the platform to excel. The company provides ambitious people with opportunities to fulfil their aspirations within their respective fields. There are many stories here of individuals starting off as support workers and becoming Operations Managers!! I believe that if you have the drive to want to succeed and make real change both within the organisation and for the individuals that you support, this is the company for you. although it is a big company, there is still a "family" like feel as everyone from the top down are extremely friendly. The CEO and the executive team are very warm and welcoming and make you aware that you are not just a number. Voyage Care's first and foremost about ensuring that we provide the highest quality of care to the people we support but it has great commercial plans as a company. Therefore, if you are have a passion for ensuring vulnerable people in the community receive the best care possible whilst also helping the company be successful in its commercial plans, this is the place for you. The head office location (where I work) is perfect as there are easy links to the M1, M6, M45, A406, A38, A5 etc. There are also great benefits and discounts which can be applied to companies such as EE, Tesco, Cineworld etc. There are a good mix of individuals from different backgrounds who work at the company as well as age ranges, so it is great as you are able to learn different things from different people.

    Cons

    Generally positive about the company as a whole, but I would like to see more events which are specifically directed towards employees.

    Voyage Care2018-09-04

    Voyage Care Response

    September 4, 2018Voyage Care

    What a truly fantastic review, thank you! It is amazing to hear that our message of valuing our team members, and helping them to grow has been noticed. We will continue to embed our values into everything we do and support our staff in every way we can. Thank you again for your review

    Continue reading
  5. "Support worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Support Worker in Swindon, Wiltshire, South West England, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Voyage Care full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great working relationships . Support for all staff and people we support

    Cons

    Under staffed . Bad pay

    Continue reading
    Voyage Care2018-08-25

    Voyage Care Response

    September 17, 2018Voyage Care

    Thank you for your review, it is great to hear that you felt supported in your role and enjoyed fulfilling work relationships. We work hard to show the government just how important the care sector is and will continue our efforts to achieve this goal as soon as possible.

    Continue reading
  6. "support worker supported living"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Housing Support Worker in Liverpool, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Voyage Care full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    the people we support are nice and i like to help them

    Cons

    everything and your expected to pay for everything yourself be warned!

    Continue reading
    Voyage Care2018-05-25

    Voyage Care Response

    May 30, 2018Voyage Care

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We're very concerned to read your comments. Voyage Care is committed to providing the best working environment for our staff. We have a number of channels through which you can report your issues. We would encourage you to contact our HR team to discuss your experiences. You can get in touch with them via email at HROperations@voyagecare.com or call 01543 484679

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Amazing, Family Friendly Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Resourcer in Lichfield, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Voyage Care full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I have been working at Voyage Care for almost 2 years. The knowledge and support I have been given not only on a professional level but also personal is second to none. There is great career progression and the company is welcoming and friendly, a lot of companies I have worked for we never see the CEO, however Andrew walks around the office regularly and addresses everyone by their first name. Little things that make you feel that are noticed and appreciated which makes you want to go the extra mile! I look forward to continuing to progress within Voyage Care and do my job to the best of my ability to get great results, and ensure the people we support are cared for by great support workers. This is a fair, enjoyable company to work for, with a great work life balance.

    Cons

    There are no downside, I love my job

    Voyage Care2017-11-20

    Voyage Care Response

    November 23, 2017Internal Communications Team Leader

    What a wonderful review, thank you! It's reassuring to read that not only do you feel supported as a professional, but as an individual too. Career progression and support for those who want to further their knowledge and experience is a vital part of our future development, as happy and fulfilled staff will bring us closer to our goal to make Voyage Care a wonderful place to work. It's also great to see that you feel you have a good work life balance, and enjoy your work. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Nothing less than Outstanding!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Scarborough, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Voyage Care full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Everything, excellent company to work for, the main focus of the company is the people we support!! As it should be!! Training excellent, every part of the company and every department brilliant. The company listens to new ideas to improve quality as it doesn't just sit it continues to strive for excellence. I would definitely want my loved ones to be cared for by this company!!! Reward systems are brilliant and recognition awards are just brilliant!! The people we support achieving goals daily and that's what it's all about! I read so many comments about poor pay in the care sector ...... ask yourself did you get in to care because of the money or did you get in to working in to care because you CARE? You can't put a price on the reward of seeing that your making a genuine difference to someone's life!!

    Cons

    Not enough services in this area

    Continue reading
    Voyage Care2017-10-23

    Voyage Care Response

    November 20, 2017Internal Communications Team Leader

    Thank you for your review! It's great to see that you feel valued in your role and believe that Voyage Care is delivering on it's purpose to deliver great care and support. We're committed to improving things further and are always open to new and innovative ideas. Why not check out our great new benefits package to help you to feel even more rewarded for the great work you do?!

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Great company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lichfield, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Voyage Care full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Whilst working at Head Office I have found Voyage to be very supportive with numerous career development opportunities available, whether it's progressing within your team or transferring to another department to broaden your skill set. The company also actively encourages you to visit services to help understand, amongst other things, the fantastic job the staff teams do every day! It's a team effort whether you work st the services or at Head Office - Something that is demonstrated by the senior management. The company has great benefits, including flexible working, reward schemes and free days annual leave for your birthday. Everyone I have come across whilst working for Voyage will always try their best to do what's right for the people we support and the employees, and they always take the time to listen to you.

    Cons

    None - Its the best company I have worked for!

    Voyage Care2017-09-29

    Voyage Care Response

    October 24, 2017Internal Communications Co-ordinator

    Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review. We’re glad you’ve taken advantage of many of the benefits available to our staff, including the opportunities for career development. All our staff play an important role in the support we provide. Enabling office staff to visit a service or spend time working there helps them understand the impact their work can have on our services and the people we support. Similarly we encourage support staff and the people we support to visit our Group Support office on open days, to meet and speak with the teams.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (4)

    "manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Reading, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Voyage Care full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The people we support, and the staff. Very rewarding job.

    Cons

    Nothing to add at present

    Continue reading
    Voyage Care2017-08-02

    Voyage Care Response

    September 15, 2017Internal Communications Co-ordinator

    Thank you for your review, we’re glad you find your job rewarding. We can’t always do as much as we’d like to on pay, due to funding challenges, therefore we have worked to improve the company benefits we offer our employees, with the aim of helping you make the most of your money. Please contact the company benefits team If you are unsure of how to access these benefits.

    Continue reading
Found 27 reviews