WE Communications Director Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

WE Communications Director Reviews

Updated 2 Mar 2017

To filter reviews, or .

Found 17 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
77%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
WE Communications CEO Melissa Waggener Zorkin
Melissa Waggener Zorkin
14 Ratings
  1. Helpful (24)

    "past its prime"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at WE Communications full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay and benefits and there some genuinely nice, hard-working incredibly smart people who work there. When I first started to work there over a decade ago it was the most inspiring, supportive place to be. I gained amazing communications skills from even more amazing people and grew so much professionally and personally. Those people have all left.

    Cons

    The agency has become a dead end. They are not considered innovative in the market and have not secured a new, major client since landing Microsoft in the 80s. I have learned so much more about the changing field of communications since leaving. If you don't fit the mold, you may lose your soul trying. I've seen the term "mean girl" used to describe the work environment, and I would have to agree. Senior management...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    After working here for more than a decade, I honestly don't know what to say to management that would be heard. All the advice I see here on Glassdoor is solid, but it's been given over and over for many years now. No one is listening. I would simply work elsewhere.

    WE Communications2017-03-02
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Director in Bellevue, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at WE Communications full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Wonderful place to work, smart and fun colleagues, clients with a high bar that push and challenge you to go above and beyond your previous best, great leaders, flexible work from home policy.

    Cons

    Not for everyone, must be willing to go beyond the billable hour, will stretch you outside of your skillset ( a great thing for a lot of people)

    WE Communications2016-05-09
  3. "Working at WE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Director in Johannesburg
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at WE Communications full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Nurturing, great culture, supportive leaders

    Cons

    Lack of integrated offering

    Advice to Management

    Hire more skills in-house

    WE Communications2016-03-24
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Wonderful company driven by a visionary leader & a passionate agency focused on doing good."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Creative Director in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at WE Communications full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    If you want to work with good wholehearted, intelligent, creative people the WE Agency is your home. Independent. Dynamic. 31 years strong & definitely 30+ more years ahead work hard on behalf of their clients.

    Cons

    WE is not terminally unique to agency politics. No different than any where else. With Kass Sells at the helm in North America & incredible leaders around the globe whatever negatives you've read are being addressed.

    Advice to Management

    Stay strong. Don't bend to market demands and continue to be a purpose driven business.

    WE Communications2015-12-04
  5. "Being fiercely independent matters -- and I haven't found better!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Director in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WE Communications full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I have worked at several different Market/PR/Comms agencies in my 15 years in the industry, and I have yet to experience or hear of an agency as focused on the growth of its business AND its people than WE. I've been at WE just over five years, and while no place is roses and butterflies all the time, I truly do believe that WE's leadership cares about its people--so I stay. Evidence: great benefits (I mean, who still...

    Show More

    Cons

    Some people don't like our Bellevue location (I personally don't mind it at all -- would rather have free parking and less congestion vs downtown Seattle). Not every manager is a great manager -- but the grass is never greener at other places I've learned, that's just how every workplace works.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to invest in your people -- they're your greatest asset and differentiator.

    WE Communications2015-10-16
  6. Helpful (19)

    "Toxic and Aging."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at WE Communications full-time

    Pros

    They have a strong 401 K program and an average health care program.

    Cons

    If you have seen the movie Heathers or Mean Girls, it sums up the culture and mission of WE. This alone should give you pause prior to joining this "Sorority" filled haven. Leaders have stayed too long and look the other way to achieve marginal success.

    Advice to Management

    Your day has passed. Open your eyes to the toxic environment that you call first in class. Most hires don't even stay beyond a 1 year time frame.

    WE Communications2015-05-19
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Good people, frustrating culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Director in Lake Oswego, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at WE Communications full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great coworkers, generally well-intentioned leadership, generally good work/life-balance. Decent health benefits, though that was changing as I left the company.

    Cons

    Lots of politics, demanding clients, very limited growth options as you get to the Account Director level - especially in the Portland office. Compensation and benefits kept eroding over the time I was there.

    WE Communications2014-10-03
  8. Helpful (2)

    "A Great Place to Work, When it Comes to Agency PR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Director in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WE Communications full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great opportunities, pay is competitive, challenging work, encouragement to grow skills, encouragement to volunteer, top notch clients

    Cons

    Lack of consistent criteria for what is valued in a leader, can be "clicky"

    Advice to Management

    You should find ways to recognize middle managers more consistently. Not necessarily with money but some of the company/team awards are more geared toward junior staff

    WE Communications2013-10-10
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Trial by Fire... Demanding and driven"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at WE Communications full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    One year at Waggener Edstrom is like a tour of duty in a war zone. Challenging, exciting, great people in a dynamic industry, the best of the best in public relations

    Cons

    Hard, unforgiving culture, with many talented people that are well meaning and dedicated ... a very polifical organization where information is king

    Advice to Management

    Nurture the potential in the good people that are there. Actively encourage learning, even when it comes as the result of a unintentional mistake. Be a little kinder.

    WE Communications2013-03-25
  10. Helpful (2)

    "If you like Microsoft you'll love Wagged"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WE Communications full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Organized around the same principals as microsoft; seniority uber alles. Waggener Edstrom is typical of the corporate world. If you want a place to build a career over a decade or more, especially in the NorthWest of America, this is a great pr shoppe to start with.

    Cons

    not the place for aggressive innovators. Most programs and strategies deployed here are designed to be safe. Like most public relations firms with a single anchor client, every other client takes a back seat.

    Advice to Management

    Spin off the MSFT account.

    WE Communications2012-12-15
Found 17 reviews