WE Communications Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

WE Communications Reviews

Updated Oct 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 325 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
WE Communications CEO Melissa Waggener Zorkin
Melissa Waggener Zorkin
200 Ratings
Pros
  • "It also seems that they really value the work-life balance of their employees(in 30 reviews)

  • "Amazing onboarding, great benefits, inclusive environment(in 27 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work life balance differs amongst teams(in 44 reviews)

  • "There is a clique-y sorority type of vibe that may not jive with everyone(in 18 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Talented, fun and hard working group"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at WE Communications full-time

    Pros

    Highly intelligent group of people who work well together across all sectors Great career progression and a real opportunity to develop your personal interests Use an integrated approach to comms which provides diversity to roles

    Cons

    May not work for those in need of a more disciplined environment

    WE Communications2016-05-05
  2. Helpful (3)

    "A Mixed Bag"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at WE Communications full-time

    Pros

    With the right manager, and the right opportunity, you really have the chance to flourish. My experience was exclusively with leaders who empowered me to excel and take on more responsibility. Some great clients. Working on larger accounts brings opportunities for travel and collaboration with other regions. Lucrative salary for junior staff members. Largely speaking managers and directors want to do a good... job for their clients.

    Show More

    Cons

    - Heavily governed by WE US which means bad new business decisions are made - Younger members of staff are entitled - promotions are expected, vs earned - Hiring is close to impossible at all levels due to issues with HR - Salary becomes less lucrative the more senior you become, until you're below industry average when benchmarked against other agencies and in-house salaries - Gossipy, cliquey culture among... many staff members which detracts from work

    Show More
    WE Communications2018-10-31
  3. "Nice benefits."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at WE Communications

    Pros

    They have a good benefits package. Nice attitude to community/ charity days.

    Cons

    Political senior management team. People can work long hours so work life balance can suffer.

    Advice to Management

    Build HR

    WE Communications2018-03-20
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Solid Company, Fantastic Leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at WE Communications for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Leadership, socially conscious and ability to get stuff done for clients.

    Cons

    Political power struggles between people, offices.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing!

    WE Communications2017-01-30
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Dynamic, Creative, Supportive & Fun."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at WE Communications full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Very much an in it all together feel, the office is an incredibly energetic and creative place to work. With the nature of the companies clients, it feels like you're currently ahead of the curve from an experience perspective. There is a massive focus on self development (far more than any other company I've worked for), with Management being reviewed on how their team develops, not just bottom line results.... Great location in Covent Garden, and there is definite 'work hard, play hard' ethos with a number of social activities taking place every month.

    Show More

    Cons

    With so much emphasis on personal development this isn't necessarily a place that someone who wants to 'coast along' would flourish.

    WE Communications2016-04-06
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great people and potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vice President in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at WE Communications full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Excellent consultants that are totally focussed on client service excellence. Really smart, eager and fun teams to work with that are increasingly thinking of integrated campaigns. Office culture is strong with a relaxed atmosphere and local leadership teams who seem to genuinely care about the wellbeing of staff. Lots of extra-mural activities, a busy social calendar and active CSR initiatives. Interesting clients... to work on and some good progress in delivering digital/social integration.

    Show More

    Cons

    Scale of network can sometimes be a challenge in attracting larger clients especially if they want a single-brand agency approach. That said there are many examples of great multi-national work using the alliance partners.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to build out global scale and the wider digital capabilities. I'll follow your progress with enthusiasm and interest.

    WE Communications2016-02-26
  7. Helpful (1)

    "People place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at WE Communications full-time

    Pros

    I work at WE for the people - and the way in which it treats its people. I genuinely feel that senior management cares about the team's ongoing health and that everyone looks out for one another. WE's size and independence allows for a much friendlier and informal vibe than you might find at a bigger agency. People get their work done - but don't take themselves too seriously. I've been here for over four... years which is testament to the fact that I get to work on great clients, with brilliant people, and feel appreciated for what I do.

    Show More

    Cons

    Covent Garden tourists? Though as much a positive, WE's size means that everyone is very hands on, and we are all involved in a lot of things outside of our day to day client work. Some people love this - getting to feel real ownership for the agency - but it doesn't suit everyone.

    Advice to Management

    Tackle an initiative at a time - its great to have ideas for change, but too many can mean a lot of false starts.

    WE Communications2016-02-18
  8. Helpful (2)

    "WE is an enjoyable place to work with great support for career progression"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    EMEA Client Development Coordinator in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WE Communications for more than a year

    Pros

    I have worked at WE for just over a year now and could not be happier in my role. I came into the company as a receptionist and was then approached six months later to take on a new role.  I was offered to progress and join the Client Development team and considering how little experience I had, I was very impressed and grateful for the time spent to train me and the continuous support that was, and is still offered... to me.  WE offers great benefits, much more than what I have been offered before and you really do feel a part of a team when you work here.

    Show More

    Cons

    I haven't noticed a downside to working at WE since I have been here.

    WE Communications2016-02-10
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Ethical, Inspiring, Talented and Successful Agency"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WE Communications full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    WE is a very collaborative agency, not just in the UK but across the global network. There is some super smart rising stars in London who are doing great work and are very highly thought of within their client and peer groups. Benefits are industry leading Global Exchange after 12 months is unrivaled Salaries are competitive and bonus earning potential is very real.

    Cons

    More females on the EMEA management team Missed opportunities over the years to diversify the business offering

    Advice to Management

    Be willing to take the odd risk, WE clearly have the potential to drive forward and into new areas/disciplines - i.e. Consumer.

    WE Communications2016-01-08
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at WE Communications

    Pros

    Good place to start a career. Friendly and creative

    Cons

    Poor progression opps, management lacks direction

    WE Communications2015-02-28
Found 325 reviews