WE Communications Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

WE Communications Reviews

Updated 24 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 332 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
WE Communications CEO Melissa Waggener Zorkin
Melissa Waggener Zorkin
209 Ratings
  1. Helpful (9)

    "Want to work too much for crap salary? That's the place to go"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at WE Communications

    Pros

    Hmmm difficult one. Private health insurance is ok.

    Cons

    Office politics are atrocious. As an employee you cannot complain about anyone that is even slightly higher than you. On of my former colleagues actually made me cry few times and all I was told by my manager was that it is good too cry sometimes, you know relieves the stress. You get paid poorly, work too much and are not allowed to change anything. There's few people in there who are considered gurus and they are always...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hello, I know that WE wants to be seen as the new innovative agency. I think it might be time to allow your employees go with their ideas, pay them better and let them leave the office sometimes. That way your staff turnover will be slightly lower.

    WE Communications2015-02-13
  2. Helpful (7)

    "Once a growing value driven organisation, now a shrinking business as all the good people leave"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at WE Communications full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Right now i wouldn't recommend working here. As a junior a good opportunity to learn a craft but currently struggling with decent leadership and clients.

    Cons

    Highly political environment which promotes 'self advancement' by placing blame on others, does not hold senior executives to account nor to any set of values. A lot of leavers who have tried to retain integrity and behave well have found themselves outcast as they dare question what is happening or won't fall in line.

    Advice to Management

    Hold bad leaders and their behaviour to account or you will be left with all the bad apples, the good ones are fast leaving. Don't ignore what is being said externally - it is true.

    WE Communications2014-11-03
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great culture, great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WE Communications

    Pros

    - Good salary, although best to negotiate hard up front - Great social culture, lots of events, outings etc - Recognised for your good achievements and work done - Really great people

    Cons

    - Senior level employees seem to feel its okay to WFH probably far more than they should, and just come and go

    WE Communications2012-03-25
  4. Helpful (5)

    "The first rule of PR is don't believe your own hype"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at WE Communications

    Pros

    - Some scope for international travel especially the US International projects - Large agency experience - Some smart processes - Get to work with some smart people

    Cons

    - Leaders need to lead, you would hardly see some of the senior management team in the office much of the time - Work | life balance - External image of the agency - Loss of a number of smart people - Culture of fear - You can be better paid elsewhere - Very American in many ways

    Advice to Management

    Spend more time in the office. Stop over-promising to clients. Work out what you actually want to be as a business.

    WE Communications2010-04-23
  5. Helpful (4)

    "The innovators dilemma"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at WE Communications

    Pros

    Waggener Edstrom is an excellent place to start a career in corporate communications. It has some excellent media relations in business media and a number of experienced hands to learn from. The business is part of an international agency and has some good resources and processes.

    Cons

    The business has faced some challenges in recent times, you often dont get to do ground breaking work and many of the client programmes aren't going to change the world. Process can take too much of a role in things and it can suffer from the 'when you are a hammer, every problem looks like a nail' syndrome.

    Advice to Management

    Hard decisions need to be made on the businesses future vision and strategy which needs to move on from the Microsoft heritage. This requires a complete change of mindset: the business is suffering from the innovators dilemma as others such as Edelman and Weber Shandwick have leap-frogged the business. A fresh approach ironically would also make the business more attractive to Microsoft who has been transforming its...

    Show More
    WE Communications2009-07-22
  6. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at WE Communications for less than a year

    Pros

    I always felt very supported by my coworkers and supervisors! When I wanted to take on some additional projects, they did their best to connect me with teams whose work fit my interests and skills. It also seems that they really value the work-life balance of their employees.

    Cons

    I feel that in order to fit here, you need to be comfortable with working and communicating remotely with coworkers, since there are many offices all over the world. I really liked that global aspect, but I understand how it's not for everyone, as some people prefer in-person meetings and contact.

    WE Communications2019-08-24
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Great culture but unrealistic salary for the time/effort you put in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive 

    I have been working at WE Communications full-time

    Pros

    culture, people, off sites, wellness benefits, positive environment

    Cons

    pay is not enough, can be high stress environment,

    WE Communications2019-08-14
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Great place to work, with a few exceptions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at WE Communications full-time

    Pros

    Amazing onboarding, great benefits, inclusive environment... and Melissa is wonderful!

    Cons

    It can get really clique-y, and if you aren't the right "type" of person, you'll have a much harder time making work friends. Additionally, some managers appear to have been promoted because of their account management skills alone *only* - not because of their ability to lead employees.

    WE Communications2019-06-26
  9. Helpful (11)

    "Run far away!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at WE Communications full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good life/work balance which I appreciated.

    Cons

    Mean girl sorority like atmosphere where promotions are decided by an elite group of EVPs/SVPS that resembles more of a Hollywood casting room vs. an open and transparent promotion process based on merit. I work with plenty of ADs/VPs who pawn off work to juniors and take credit for it. Other ADs and VPs come and go as they please while give juniors a hard time for going to a doctor's appointment or taking PTO. Also,...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Modernize your promotion process. Get rid of the dead wood.

    WE Communications2019-07-29
  10. Helpful (11)

    "Toxic Managers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at WE Communications

    Pros

    Great GM Benefits Learning sessions and external speakers

    Cons

    I was nervous a bit nervous before joining WE. While I was interviewing I read the reviews on Glassdoor and a lot of them talk about a mean girl, sorority and cliquey type of culture. Although this should have been warning sign to me, I still decided to accept the offer. I wish I would have taken those reviews more seriously. I want to progress in my career but even if you are a top performer you don’t go very far unless...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Open your eyes! Many of us here at WE are leaving or want to leave because of bad management! Take feedback from employees seriously.

    WE Communications2019-07-20

    WE Communications Response

    July 22, 2019Chief Talent Officer

    Thank you for posting your review. I’m extremely disappointed to hear about your experience with select members of management. Toxicity is unacceptable. We strive to provide a supportive, energizing professional experience where everyone belongs and I’m sorry to hear that this has ...

    Show More
Found 332 reviews