WE Communications Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

WE Communications Reviews

Updated 14 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 321 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
WE Communications CEO Melissa Waggener Zorkin
Melissa Waggener Zorkin
201 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Just ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at WE Communications full-time

    Pros

    Genuinely interested in training and developing their people. They respect work life balance in general.

    Cons

    The experience is largely dependent on the account you work on. If you work on the wrong account, then hours can be long and painful.

    WE Communications2019-05-23
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Better than the industry, but still quite traditional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Middle Management in Asia
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at WE Communications full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People are great. Global brands and more flexible than other agencies.

    Cons

    The industry has a lot of churn, especially for entry-level. If you haven’t been at the company for a long time, it can feel like a lot of people are leaving all the time.

    Advice to Management

    Find ways to retain middle managers and provide better training.

    WE Communications2019-05-14
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing Company, Typical PR Agency Craziness"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at WE Communications full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - independent company that genuinely cares about its employees - good perks (getting to travel to other offices, twice annual $$ for a health-related purchases, commuter reimbursement)

    Cons

    - smaller offices feel forgotten (focus seems to be on the largest offices- e.g. HQ in Seattle) - leaders adopt the crazed attitude that leads to burnout and is rampant across the PR industry (acting as if PR is the ER)

    Advice to Management

    Provide leadership training to local office leaders and incorporate/check in with the smaller offices more so they don’t feel forgotten

    WE Communications2019-04-12
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Solid place to start a career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Account Executive 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WE Communications full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I recently started working here at headquarters in Seattle and already love it. Benefits are great, work-life balance is valued, and the people here are highly motivated. Pay is decent as well, compared to other mid to large PR agencies. Employees exhibit a great deal of pride in the service they provide to their clients. Work is work, but WE has built a company culture that makes work more enjoyable and immersive.

    Cons

    The agency is understandably tech-dominant in the Seattle office; most of the employees at headquarters provide support on enterprise tech company accounts, limiting some options in trying out different sectors. HOWEVER, working on non-tech accounts is entirely possible, just requires some forethought and research to find out what you want to work on.

    Advice to Management

    None!

    WE Communications2019-01-31
  5. Helpful (9)

    "Account Servicing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Singapore
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at WE Communications full-time

    Pros

    Diverse opportunities for work due to breath of clients. Direct peers and seniors are mostly driven and great to work with.

    Cons

    Blatant favouritism, especially when it comes to promotions. Hardwork is not recognised. Instead, those "chummy" with senior management get the best dips despite clearly lacking in expertise and workplace professionalism. Senior management is haphazard in the way forward. Toxic, abusive, and lazy employees are kept despite them chasing away good, honest ones. Tremendous focus on meeting plan at the expense of burnt out...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Please listen to what's going on on the ground, there is clear unhappiness across all teams. Don't dismiss the many recent departures as a fact of life because most of them are being pushed away instead of being attracted to new prospects. Have a clear plan ahead and don't set unrealistic goals. The big issue needs to be addressed, otherwise risk losing more amazing employees.

    WE Communications2019-01-11
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to start your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WE Communications full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent internship to hire program, really great work life balance, opportunity to work on big client accounts, good benefits, learning and development opportunities

    Cons

    Not very competitive salary, once you hit a certain level difficult to get promoted because agency has low turnover, leadership on certain larger accounts can get political

    WE Communications2018-11-14
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Associate Account Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at WE Communications full-time

    Pros

    Collaborative environment, flat hierarchy, flexibility

    Cons

    Efficiency can improve, can work on review systems

    WE Communications2018-10-24
  8. "Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at WE Communications full-time

    Pros

    Great people, quality work, great benefits

    Cons

    Outside of Seattle (in Bellevue)

    WE Communications2018-09-20

    WE Communications Response

    September 24, 2018Chief Talent Officer

    Thanks for sharing your experience, please contact me if you have other ideas or questions. I always appreciate hearing from employees. Have a great week.

  9. Helpful (11)

    "Agency that produces strong work, but doesn't value employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Account Executive in Bellevue, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at WE Communications full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The agency does great work for its clients. The brands that are part of the client portfolio provides great opportunities to work on accounts that are household names.

    Cons

    Extremely inconsistent promotion tracks. Incredibly poor managers. Extremely long hours with pressure to meet high billable hour goals. Bonus program is used extremely sparingly and oftentimes was used to keep employees who were clearly unhappy. Tremendous loss of middle level (AE/SAE) staff due to those levels carrying huge burdens of the workload while higher levels took credit. Benefits are mediocre. The agency touts...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Find a way to let your employees shine for the work they do. Get rid of the superficial attempts to keep your employees and take a much closer/careful look of how you honor your mid-level employees. Get in-touch with your employees. The company is not big enough for key senior leaders to not know what is happening in the day-to-day account roles.

    WE Communications2018-08-22

    WE Communications Response

    September 4, 2018Director

    Thank you for sharing feedback about your experience at WE, we’re disappointed to read that you didn’t experience how much our agency values employees. As a professional services company, employees are the heartbeat of our company. The ideas, energy and hard work from each employee ...

    Show More
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Executive Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Assistant in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WE Communications full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing benefit program, work life balance is real, strong leadership and thought leaders, organic culture, independently owned female founded agency.

    Cons

    Lack of synergy between global offices.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    WE Communications2018-08-12

    WE Communications Response

    September 4, 2018Director

    Thanks for sharing your experience and feedback. We’re pleased to hear that your positive experience mirrors our aspiration. Have a great day!

Found 321 reviews