WE Communications Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

WE Communications Reviews

Updated 11 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
51%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
WE Communications President and CEO Melissa Waggener Zorkin
Melissa Waggener Zorkin
205 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Great culture but unrealistic salary for the time/effort you put in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive 

    I have been working at WE Communications full-time

    Pros

    culture, people, off sites, wellness benefits, positive environment

    Cons

    pay is not enough, can be high stress environment,

    WE Communications2019-08-14
  2. Helpful (7)

    "Mean Girl Society"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Account Executive in Bellevue, WA
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at WE Communications full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I can't think of any at the moment - the free snacks are nice when they are available.

    Cons

    The reviews written here about 'mean girls', rampant favoritism & an outdated promotion system is accurate. As pervasive at it is and as wrong as it is, it continues despite HR's "recognition of wanting to do better." In my experience at WE, managers often take credit for the work of juniors, playing favorites is a way of life, not the exception. Unrealistic deadlines and a stressful work environment. We are always understaffed. Management views employees as a means to an end to make profits for the company. Unhealthy work environments. There a lot of legacy SVPs who don't contribute much but are friends with the owner.

    Continue reading
    WE Communications2019-09-08
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Great place to work, with a few exceptions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at WE Communications full-time

    Pros

    Amazing onboarding, great benefits, inclusive environment... and Melissa is wonderful!

    Cons

    It can get really clique-y, and if you aren't the right "type" of person, you'll have a much harder time making work friends. Additionally, some managers appear to have been promoted because of their account management skills alone *only* - not because of their ability to lead employees.

    WE Communications2019-06-26
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Great agency to join"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WE Communications full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Having been with the agency for a number of years, I've seen our agency go through quite a bit of change and there are so many more opportunities now to learn something other than tech PR. The people that work here really are passionate about what they do; it's not an agency that will work for everyone, but those that succeed here have really been the ones who work hard with the team mentality; everyone's in it together Leadership - Melissa is a genuine leader and is transparent when she can be. Of course there are so many decisions made at the top level that some of us will never know about, but having been under her leadership for so many years, I've seen her as being someone very genuine and that cares about everyone, even if she doesn't know you personally. Clients are growing - not just tech PR at all anymore Fun people who come together and work hard

    Cons

    Of course there are always some cons in any organization. Unfortunately in the agency world, one of those is compensation. Very tenured employees receive small raises each year that doesn't always accurately reflect the performance of the individual. New hires coming in are more than likely coming in with higher salaries. Come up with more monetary benefits/bonus structure. Everyone plays a part in the success of this company. Sometimes leaders are kept in roles much longer than they should be - despite feedback directly from teams, somehow those leaders always know to manage up and then makes the little people take the fall or not get the support they should have Wish we could expand into Los Angeles, or at least Chicago, to continue to grow. Could probably be a bit more transparent in what is happening with the agency

    Continue reading
    WE Communications2019-05-13
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Just ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at WE Communications full-time

    Pros

    Genuinely interested in training and developing their people. They respect work life balance in general.

    Cons

    The experience is largely dependent on the account you work on. If you work on the wrong account, then hours can be long and painful.

    WE Communications2019-05-23
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Better than the industry, but still quite traditional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Middle Management in Asia
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at WE Communications full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People are great. Global brands and more flexible than other agencies.

    Cons

    The industry has a lot of churn, especially for entry-level. If you haven’t been at the company for a long time, it can feel like a lot of people are leaving all the time.

    Continue reading
    WE Communications2019-05-14
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Amazing Company, Typical PR Agency Craziness"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at WE Communications full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - independent company that genuinely cares about its employees - good perks (getting to travel to other offices, twice annual $$ for a health-related purchases, commuter reimbursement)

    Cons

    - smaller offices feel forgotten (focus seems to be on the largest offices- e.g. HQ in Seattle) - leaders adopt the crazed attitude that leads to burnout and is rampant across the PR industry (acting as if PR is the ER)

    Continue reading
    WE Communications2019-04-12
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Solid place to start a career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Account Executive 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WE Communications full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I recently started working here at headquarters in Seattle and already love it. Benefits are great, work-life balance is valued, and the people here are highly motivated. Pay is decent as well, compared to other mid to large PR agencies. Employees exhibit a great deal of pride in the service they provide to their clients. Work is work, but WE has built a company culture that makes work more enjoyable and immersive.

    Cons

    The agency is understandably tech-dominant in the Seattle office; most of the employees at headquarters provide support on enterprise tech company accounts, limiting some options in trying out different sectors. HOWEVER, working on non-tech accounts is entirely possible, just requires some forethought and research to find out what you want to work on.

    Continue reading
    WE Communications2019-01-31
  9. Helpful (13)

    "Account Servicing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Singapore
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at WE Communications full-time

    Pros

    Diverse opportunities for work due to breath of clients. Direct peers and seniors are mostly driven and great to work with.

    Cons

    Blatant favouritism, especially when it comes to promotions. Hardwork is not recognised. Instead, those "chummy" with senior management get the best dips despite clearly lacking in expertise and workplace professionalism. Senior management is haphazard in the way forward. Toxic, abusive, and lazy employees are kept despite them chasing away good, honest ones. Tremendous focus on meeting plan at the expense of burnt out and overworked employees. Superficial means towards employee welfare. Little to no worklife balance. HR biased in judgement, proven to not listen to all parties before making conclusions and not the right channel to speak about workplace issues (more concerned with superficial things like gym discounts etc. and not addressing real problems). Used to be a great place to work, but things changed.

    Continue reading
    WE Communications2019-01-11
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to start your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WE Communications full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent internship to hire program, really great work life balance, opportunity to work on big client accounts, good benefits, learning and development opportunities

    Cons

    Not very competitive salary, once you hit a certain level difficult to get promoted because agency has low turnover, leadership on certain larger accounts can get political

    WE Communications2018-11-14
Found 332 reviews