Waitrose Reviews

Updated 16 May 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
81%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Waitrose Chairman Sharon White
Sharon White
98 Ratings
Pros
  • "flexible overtime great benefits good pay(in 402 reviews)

  • "John Lewis/Waitrose are such a great company to work for(in 216 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Long hours sometimes short staffed(in 88 reviews)

  • "Most new contracts are part time(in 67 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place to work

      10 Apr 2021 - Night Stocker in Lymington, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good pay and high availability for extra shifts if wanted.

      Cons

      Unsociable hours of work (expected for overnight work though).

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Overall OK, but the pay isn't good for the amount of work they require

      23 Apr 2021 - Currently Unemployed and Seeking Work in Newcastle upon Tyne, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pleasant staff, mostly pleasant customers. Employee discount was above average.

      Cons

      I worked for them for two years and both years they denied my holiday requests repeatedly meaning I had to fight each January to have my remaining holiday allowance paid to me before it was lost. They pushed and pushed me to be crosstrained across the store (I ended up working in 9 roles and training new people in 8 of them) but kept my pay at the bottom of the lowest level, despite their guidelines stating being crosstrained meant you should move up in your pay range. They always had tons of overtime, but would never allow people to have full time hours. They changed my contracted hours a lot (from 8/week to 5/week to 12.5/week to 18.5/week to 11/week to 15/week in the space of 2 years) but always expected me to be fully flexible and work up to 20 hours/week overtime regardless of my contracted hours. I started off on a xmas temp contract and they wouldn't tell me whether they were keeping me on until 2 days before my contracted ended, causing me a lot of stress and financial uncertainty.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Just like any other retail job

      16 May 2021 - Customer Assistant Nights in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      If your on the old crontract then I would understand why some people stay here as it makes sense. Most of the old contract staff earn alot more than alot of the office based jobs and there are good perks for them for example double pay Sunday or time and half. They also earn premium working over 37 hours.

      Cons

      If your new to this company i.e less than 5 years then treat this as any other retail job because the pay is average and you can do better.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      A downwardly spiralling company.

      5 May 2021 - Service Counter Team Leader in Leicester, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Varied work, lots of overtime, opportunity for training

      Cons

      Slowly cutting staff, low pay, no more bonus for sunday working / bank holiday.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great place to work at for first job

      24 Apr 2021 - Waitrose Supermarket Assistant in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Friendly & helpful staff, good shift patterns, took me on as someone whom had no experience of working in a supermarket + was first permanent job, so are willing to give people a chance. Already been given encouragement & advice regarding progression and have only worked at Waitrose for 3 months. Holiday leave is approved quickly.

      Cons

      Shift starts are early for morning partners 05.30 - 06.30 starts & only a 30 minute break for an 8 hour shift.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Good place to work

      14 May 2021 - Waitrose Supermarket Assistant in Aylesbury, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Company has good work ethic and cares about its employees, great discount across both Waitrose and John Lewis, lovely co-workers.

      Cons

      - jobs end up being repetitive

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Working for a Partnership

      5 May 2021 - Supermarket Assistant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They are more independent in the sense you have your own breaks, manage your own time, and get assigned tasks to complete independently. Seems more relaxed compared to other supermarkets as the managers trust you to do your job.

      Cons

      It gets physically, especially if you are working in the Fruit and Veg section or if they assign you to do the morning food picking for home delivery. the delivery crates can exeed up to 20kg.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Not bad

      16 May 2021 - Delivery Driver in Meanwood, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits and discount is good

      Cons

      The pay isn’t that great

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Good student job with some downsides

      21 Jan 2021 - Supermarket Assistant in Worthing, South East England, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Social: When I joined I was welcomed by a lot of people my age who made me feel welcome and I’ve made some lasting friends. Job Spec: Can be a varied job depending on what areas you’re trained on. If you work hard, management notice and are likely to reward you with more advanced tasks. Career progression was offered to those who are good enough. Salary: Wage changes each year depending on your grading in an annual review . It is almost impossible to get the highest level in a review and this was a well known fact amongst staff. Benefits: The John Lewis discount was great and staff were always able to buy any remaining food that wasn’t sold.

      Cons

      Management: During my time, a number of mangers were extremely lazy and often found in the office sat chatting about anything that wasn’t work related. One team leader was also known to make a number of staff upset frequently. Cliques: Numerous staff members were related/family friends with members of management and shown preferential treatment. This caused a little annoyance among other staff. Food waste: For me the biggest negative. Although it improved with time, thousands of pounds of food was thrown away due to being out of date. One particular Christmas there were around 50-100 turkeys that weren’t sold before their sell by date. Trolley fulls of fruit, veg and bread was a common occurrence.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Waitrose

      16 May 2021 - Shop Assistant in Banstead, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Overtime available a lot, lots of different jobs available

      Cons

      Unclear work, never knew what I was meant to do

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 3,609 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Waitrose Job Seekers

    Waitrose Supermarket Assistant
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Supermarket Assistant, Various Departments
    Learn About the Job
    Night Shift Stock Replenishment
    Learn About the Job
    Buying Fresh Produce Placement
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Waitrose? Share Your Experiences

    Waitrose logo
    or