Waitrose & Partners Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Waitrose & Partners Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1641 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Waitrose & Partners CEO Rob Collins
Rob Collins
367 Ratings
Pros
  • "good pay and option to pick up over time(in 193 reviews)

  • "You feel appreciated being part of the John Lewis Partnership(in 157 reviews)

Cons
  • "As a part time employee who did lots of overtime, there would be lots of mistakes in payroll which could not be corrected for over a month(in 49 reviews)

  • "Very long hours during peak periods like Christmas and Easter but, this is typical in the retail world(in 41 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Waitrose & Partners part-time

    Pros

    Good Pay, lovely people, great atmosphere

    Cons

    Not really many I've had no issues so far

    Waitrose & Partners2019-04-26
  2. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Waitrose & Partners part-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Staff and management Willingness to adapt to your schedule

      Cons

      Pay not the best but countered by benefits

      Waitrose & Partners2019-05-17
    • "Mixed feelings"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Supermarket Assistant 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Waitrose & Partners part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Generally the amount that they pay you in compensation is good Feel respected in job role by customers I do enjoy working in customer service - you have to be able to like it to endure rude customers that sometimes come along.

      Cons

      I am not sure how relevant the new branding is... 'and partners' the problem with the word partner is that it implies that every individual has a say in the business which fundamentally you don't. I did not feel as included as a part-time employee. It took me months to finally gain access to the internal online communities that they have which their internal paperwork suggests it should be after three months. Finally...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Take more care of the individuals on the shop floor. Make new starters and part time employees feel included and not just like they are a tool.

      Waitrose & Partners2019-05-17
    • "Good while you are young"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Waitrose Supermarket Assistant 

      I worked at Waitrose & Partners part-time

      Pros

      Good mix of Independent work and Teamwork

      Cons

      If you did not have a management title, you did not have a say.

      Waitrose & Partners2019-05-15
    • "Sales Assistant for 3 years"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales Assistant 
      Recommends

      I worked at Waitrose & Partners part-time

      Pros

      Great place to work as a young person, learn a good work ethic and make new friends. Vibrant and generally a happy place to work with lots of benefits to the job.

      Cons

      I felt like some of the supervisors would take advantage of younger workers and manipulate them into working over-time.

      Advice to Management

      Make sure that everyone is being treated with the same level of respect. Make sure supervisors value their younger workers. If you need more people to work, make the working hours longer in the contract. Do not rely on manipulating young people to work overtime.

      Waitrose & Partners2019-05-15
    • "I enjoy working at Waitrose because of the people that I get to meet and worth with on a daily basis."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Supermarket Assistant in Rickmansworth, England
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Waitrose & Partners part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Waitrose and John Lewis partnership discount is good.

      Cons

      It can be quite stressful in peak trading times like Christmas and Easter due to the amount of work that has to be done.

      Waitrose & Partners2019-05-13
    • "Excellent"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Waitrose & Partners part-time

      Pros

      partner discount and bonus was great

      Cons

      bad store manager which made environment bad

      Advice to Management

      Treat your staff better

      Waitrose & Partners2019-05-13
    • "Sales Assistant"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Sales Assistant in Southwark, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Waitrose & Partners full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Pleasant working Environment, supportive management & fellow partners in shop floor

      Cons

      There is need to improve hourly rate to a minimum of at least £10 /hr for staters. Given the Revenue of the Company and higher prices of goods as compared to others like Tesco. More money is made, but workforce is rewarded far much less.

      Advice to Management

      Lobby for improvement of hourly rate. Keep up the started in being available in assisting staters and those already in the system.

      Waitrose & Partners2019-05-11

      Waitrose & Partners Response

      May 13, 2019Development Manager, Resourcing

      Thanks for taking the time to provide a review. I'm pleased to hear some of the positives you mention from your experience of being a Partner. Your comments on our current pay rates have also been noted.

    • Helpful (2)

      "Waitrose, Putney (Exchange)"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Customer Service in Putney, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Waitrose & Partners part-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Company wise, - good benefits (discount, support from HR for personal issues etc). Company as a whole is good.

      Cons

      Poor management team at this branch. Makes the brand look extremely bad. Worked at a previous branch before and never experienced such appalling treatment towards their own staff, especially new starters. If they don't like you, they will use whatever they can against you. Disgusting branch and really makes the company look bad.

      Advice to Management

      Look into new management at Putney Exchange, as Partner's are not being taken care of and opportunities are not being handed to them.

      Waitrose & Partners2019-05-05
    • "A great job for students!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Replenishment in Banstead, England
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Waitrose & Partners full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Supportive team. Excellent cross-training options on a variety of different areas of the shop. Benefits include discounted prices at Waitrose and John Lewis branches, as well as, free/discounted rates for places like the Tower of London and Royal Botanical Gardens Kew.

      Cons

      Poor annual bonus. Lacking an adequate number of staff members. Weekly hours can fluctuate, from a 7am-4pm to 12pm-9pm. Staff members are also required to work a Saturday every two weeks and a Sunday every month.

      Waitrose & Partners2019-05-10
    Found 1641 reviews