Wasabi Sushi and Bento Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Wasabi Sushi and Bento Reviews

Updated 6 Apr 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.0
58%
Recommend to a Friend
46%
Approve of CEO
Wasabi Sushi and Bento Owner Dong Hyun Kim
Dong Hyun Kim
16 Ratings
Pros
  • "had fun, free food on shift, lots of colleagues(in 10 reviews)

  • "Nice people, good training, good free lunch(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "Most of the managers are condescending and doesn't even speak English well(in 5 reviews)

  • "Yes you get free lunch but the hot food is very, very unhealthy(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Loved working here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Floor Team Member in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wasabi Sushi and Bento full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lovely colleagues always helped each other when needed

    Cons

    Normal team members work very hard and not much in the way if rewards compared to other businesses

    Continue reading
    Wasabi Sushi and Bento2020-02-03

    Wasabi Sushi and Bento Response

    February 11, 2020Recruitment Team

    Thank you for taking time to write this review, as it helps us to continue looking at ways to improve our employee working experience at Wasabi.

    Continue reading
  2. "was ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Team Member 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Wasabi Sushi and Bento part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    manager was friendly free lunch

    Cons

    most staff are overworked, salary doesn't reflect the work expected from staffs

    Wasabi Sushi and Bento2020-04-06
  3. "Not a nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Branch Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Wasabi Sushi and Bento full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The holiday allowance was quite good, 33 days plus 1 day for every year worked. It was not bad when I started but it went downhill quite quickly. Career opportunities, if you are good you will probably get promoted quickly.

    Cons

    They don't treat their employees with respect. They use excuses to not pay bonuses, or to reduce them. (Like retroactively changing the bonus scheme). The CEO is not the nicest person in the world, lets say it that way.

    Wasabi Sushi and Bento2020-03-20

    Wasabi Sushi and Bento Response

    March 23, 2020Recruitment Team

    We are glad that you have taken time to write this review, so that we can continue to look at ways to improve our employee working experience at Wasabi.

    Continue reading
  4. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Team Member 

    I have been working at Wasabi Sushi and Bento part-time

    Pros

    Flexible time according to the needs

    Cons

    Some of the employees can make the job difficult

    Wasabi Sushi and Bento2020-01-01

    Wasabi Sushi and Bento Response

    January 6, 2020Recruitment Team

    Thank you for taking time to write this review, as it helps us to continue looking at ways to improve our employee working experience at Wasabi.

    Continue reading
  5. "It could have been worse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Floor Team Member 
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wasabi Sushi and Bento full-time

    Pros

    You get paid minimum wage

    Cons

    Sometimes they didn't pay me the full amount.

    Wasabi Sushi and Bento2019-12-11

    Wasabi Sushi and Bento Response

    December 17, 2019Recruitment Team

    Thank you for taking time to write this review. We pay a little more than minimum wage to new starters and always paid the full amount of hours worked.

    Continue reading
  6. "Th"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Team Member 

    I have been working at Wasabi Sushi and Bento full-time

    Pros

    Jobs are not difficult

    Cons

    Can be on your feet for a long time

    Wasabi Sushi and Bento2019-12-04
  7. "Nice experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wasabi Sushi and Bento full-time

    Pros

    If you pass all the audit you can have a bonous

    Cons

    As a manager also if you work more then 45 hours, you are going to don't get it paid

    Wasabi Sushi and Bento2019-11-13

    Wasabi Sushi and Bento Response

    December 17, 2019Recruitment Team

    Thank you for taking time to write this review. We're glad that your journey with Wasabi was a nice experience.

    Continue reading
  8. "Best place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wasabi Sushi and Bento full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very nice place to work. Very friendly people to work with. Free breakfast and lunch.

    Cons

    I don’t have any cons all is pros.

    Continue reading
    Wasabi Sushi and Bento2019-10-25

    Wasabi Sushi and Bento Response

    October 30, 2019Recruitment Team

    Thank you for taking time to write this review. We're glad that you have no cons to say since you've been working with Wasabi so far and we have noted your advice.

    Continue reading
  9. "The worst experience of my life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Wasabi Sushi and Bento full-time

    Pros

    The staff members were really kind.

    Cons

    I started working here because I needed to pay the rent while I was looking for a qualified job. Senior staff treated the team as they were uneducated and most of us spoke more than two languages and had better CVs but our English was simply not good enough to carry out better roles in the UK. The career projections are null, so are the pay rises, sometimes these simply will not happen. Gave my notice seven months later because the situation at my shop was affecting my mental health deeply, and that was the best decision I could ever make.

    Continue reading
    Wasabi Sushi and Bento2019-11-26

    Wasabi Sushi and Bento Response

    December 17, 2019Recruitment Team

    We are glad that you have taken time to write this review, so that we can continue to look at ways to improve our employee working experience at Wasabi.

    Continue reading
  10. "A degree of separation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head Office in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Wasabi Sushi and Bento full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very supportive line manager and very racially diverse office which is great. Free food on-site which is nice if you're low on money/would like to save.

    Cons

    The founder is too close to the business and inserts himself in everything when he doesn't quite have the knowledge. Very odd office location for the head office, a more Central location would be better. I believe this job would be a good stepping stone to something a lot better, still on the look out for another role tbh.

    Continue reading
    Wasabi Sushi and Bento2019-10-22

    Wasabi Sushi and Bento Response

    October 30, 2019Recruitment Team

    Thank you for taking time to write this review. We're glad that you are still a member of Wasabi and we have noted your advice.

    Continue reading
Found 78 reviews