Waters Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Waters Reviews

Updated Nov 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
83%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Waters CEO Christopher O'Connell  (no image)
Christopher O'Connell
119 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Small obvious improvements to standard processes can be very difficult to bring about due to the improvement the need for buy-in from upper management(in 10 reviews)

  • "Work life balance is hard to maintain(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good company to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Trainer & Development Specialist in Wilmslow, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Waters full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice support and environment to work

    Cons

    More opportunities to grow inside the company

    Waters2019-10-08
  2. "I would recommend working for Waters"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Waters full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good work life balance, decent opportunities, interesting work.

    Cons

    Sometimes things move a little slow

    Continue reading
    Waters2019-09-10
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Waters full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits (pension, healthcare, dental, flexible working)

    Cons

    difficult to get to with public transport

    Waters2019-05-13
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Wilmslow, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Waters full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Friendly staff, more options to do secondments, flexible working introduced.

    Cons

    Can take a long time to make a decision from higher up the chain. Sometimes feels like too many Indians and not enough chiefs!

    Continue reading
    Waters2019-04-01
  5. Helpful (2)

    "One of the best employers I ever worked for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Software Engineer in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Waters full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great team culture, flexible working hours, working from home possibilities, competitive salary, relocation budget, team events, gym on site, free drinks, working here effectively helps people regarding their health and life expectation.

    Cons

    None I could think of.

    Waters2019-03-19
  6. "Great Company- Have treated me very well for years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Manager in Elstree, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Waters full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Strong Vision. Flexible working and great career progression. My manager has been fantastic but I am sure that depends on who you work for

    Cons

    Work life balance is hard to maintain

    Continue reading
    Waters2019-02-25
  7. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software in Wilmslow, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Waters full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Interesting work Good opportunities for training Competitive salary

    Cons

    Nothing too significant really. Minor annoyances only.

    Waters2019-01-03
  8. "Business Development Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Waters full-time

    Pros

    Team environment, professional colleagues, opportunity for growth

    Cons

    Not too many downsides, on balance great place to work

    Waters2018-11-02
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Not great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Waters for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It is clean and building looks nice

    Cons

    Under pay their staff, flexi time is dependent on manager. No career progression. No recognition. Many in Manchester resistant to gender diversity. A shame as the CEO in US is very pro-diversity.

    Continue reading
    Waters2018-08-15
  10. "Good (large) company for software developers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Waters full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    If you want to work in a large organisation that makes products that actually help people and society, Waters is a good option. It's hard for any company to be perfect, especially larger ones, but Waters has a forward-thinking approach to software development and things are, generally, going in a good direction. Good career progression, too.

    Cons

    Like most large companies there are systems and rules in place that don't really make sense. They don't bother you every day, but they're there, and don't often change.

    Waters2018-06-29
Found 347 reviews