Waters "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Waters Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 5 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
84%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Waters CEO Christopher O'Connell  (no image)
Christopher O'Connell
128 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Small obvious improvements to standard processes can be very difficult to bring about due to the improvement the need for buy-in from upper management(in 10 reviews)

  • "Work life balance is hard to maintain(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "I would recommend working for Waters"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Waters full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good work life balance, decent opportunities, interesting work.

    Cons

    Sometimes things move a little slow

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    Waters2019-09-10
  2. "Great Company- Have treated me very well for years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Manager in Elstree, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Waters full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Strong Vision. Flexible working and great career progression. My manager has been fantastic but I am sure that depends on who you work for

    Cons

    Work life balance is hard to maintain

    Advice to Management

    Work hard to keep your good employees and listen to feedback where possible

    Waters2019-02-25
  3. "Great Companies with potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Contractor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Waters

    Pros

    work/life balance, systems are in place, culture is supportive and focused on development, really a great place to work and everyone here stays FOREVER. There are many people you bump into that have been with the company 10, 15, 20+ years regularly.

    Cons

    None I can say. The location can be a little rough, but there is a lot of flexibility with time and work from home

    Waters2019-12-05
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - UI/User Experience Designer in Milford, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Waters full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent compensation & benefits, great work/life balance, friendly people, casual atmosphere, shared goals, great products, on-site gyms & other benefits. Outside of Boston, so you can avoid the traffic.

    Cons

    There is not a lot of support for new employees. Some disorganized communication.

    Advice to Management

    Check out www.greatplacetowork.com to get an idea on how to effectively survey your employees as well as potentially get voted as a "Best Place to Work" to attract quality candidates from the Boston area. This truly is a great place to work and having that as a distinction for people outside of the company would help fill the positions that we have open/attract more job seekers. Also, it would be great to have the... HR people reach out and meet with the new employees from time to time to answer questions and feel more supported.

    Show More
    Waters2019-09-09
  5. "Great people, career opportunities, work life balance."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Quality Engineer in Milford, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Waters full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people, career opportunities, work life balance.

    Cons

    Many meetings, older generation hangs around for a long time

    Advice to Management

    Focus more on the young crowd, what do they need to succeed?

    Waters2019-07-02
  6. "Great Culture, Good Benefits, Interesting Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mechanical Engineer II in Milford, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Waters full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Awesome culture really flexible work/life balance. Everyone is super friendly and eager to help you learn. Good Pay and benefits.

    Cons

    Vacation is use it or lose it. Would prefer to carry over.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing.

    Waters2019-07-01
  7. "Waters University"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Waters full-time

    Pros

    You will get to learn a lot. Salary, leave policy is very good. Great work life balance.

    Cons

    Too many layers of management. Entry level employees has no value. All work and no fun.

    Waters2019-02-22
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Too Much Change Too Quickly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Waters full-time

    Pros

    It's the people that I enjoy working with.

    Cons

    Poor work-life balance. Compensation is poor.

    Advice to Management

    Employees make the company, not management.

    Waters2019-02-15
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Messy R&D Team Management in Singapore"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mechanical Engineering in Singapore
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Waters full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great Teammates. Good projects. Fair work life balance.

    Cons

    The R&D team in Singapore was badly managed in terms of employee promotion. Individual's performance was unfairly reflected in the appraisal and promotion process. Most if not all promotional decisions were made to solely form a particular team structure, but not to appreciate team members' outstanding performance.

    Waters2019-02-08
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Just an average place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Principal Software Engineer in Milford, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Waters full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Waters provides a good work life balance. Good Benefits.

    Cons

    The work life balance is costly as they pay way less than the average salary in the Boston area.

    Waters2018-12-22
Found 34 reviews