Web International English Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Web International English Reviews

Updated 7 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

1.9
13%
Recommend to a Friend
Pros
  • "Lesson plans are already made for you(in 19 reviews)

  • "Company helps you out with everything to get settled in China(in 14 reviews)

Cons
  • "You can easily see some of them really dislike the foreign teachers(in 13 reviews)

  • "In China employees are not accustomed criticize their employers(in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "A Reliable English Training Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Web International English full-time

    Pros

    Always paid on time Pretty flexible about time off Line Manager fair

    Cons

    Learning methods and material old fashioned Professional work tends to go unnoticed

    Web International English2016-05-16
  2. Helpful (1)

    "The company is gone now."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Web International English full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It used to be a great place for an online teacher.

    Cons

    The company has closed, leaving its employees unpaid ( for several months).

    Web International English2019-10-22
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Average Experience in Chinese ESL Training Centre"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Web International English full-time

    Pros

    Web International English is a fairly average English training centre in China, not the best, not the worst. The main benefit is the low level of commitment from the foreign teachers, there are no office hours and they only require minimal class preparation. As usual for the ESL industry, the students and some of the colleagues are the real plus for the job.

    Cons

    The lesson materials that they require you to use are both basic and out of date. There is very little importance attached to academic standards so you will often teach students who are clearly in the wrong level. There is no career development/training, and it is rare for foreign staff to stay here for longer than a couple of years. Relations with management have a tendency to sour, I saw many foreign staff leave... on bad terms.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Professionalise the management within the centres, look to share best practices between centres for how to manage foreign staff. Reevaluate your teaching material and bring large parts of the material up to date. Pay more attention to your operations, focus more on the academic side of the business, sales should not be the only priority of an English training centre. Provide more effective training to the academic... staff and implement career development programmes to train and develop the best staff.

    Show More
    Web International English2019-09-16
  4. "Easy money, good for the short term"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Online English Teacher 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Web International English part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy work, premade lesson plans, love working with adults and students are great, very flexible, always paid on time, I don't really have a boss or answer to anyone. The lesson plans weren't always great but they've worked hard to improve them.

    Cons

    Pay could be higher but I prefer to teach adults for slightly less.

    Web International English2019-08-19
  5. "ESL Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Web International English full-time

    Pros

    Paid on time, nice students

    Cons

    Poor management, limited career opportunties, outdated material

    Advice to Management

    Have native speakers as bosses of schools, would gain more respect from the teachers.

    Web International English2016-10-20
  6. "ESL teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Web International English

    Pros

    i really can't think of any..

    Cons

    one of the most awful experiences i have ever had in China working as an ESL teacher. would never do it again and certainly would never advise anyone to work for them. disgrace.

    Web International English2016-06-27
  7. "TEFL Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Web International English part-time

    Pros

    • Competitive remuneration • Flight reimbursement  • Housing Allowance  • 5 days paid holidays + 11 days Chinese public holidays  • Paid and sponsored Z visa plus Foreign Expert Certificate (FEC)  • Medical Insurance  • Airport pick-up  • Ongoing training and development workshops  • Free Chinese lessons

    Cons

    Not much opportunity for future development.

    Web International English2016-04-20
  8. "Web International English and SpeakHi before they went bankrupt."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - ESL Teacher in Shanghai, Shanghai
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Web International English part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Probably the highest paying ESL company before they went bankrupt.

    Cons

    Management paid less attention on educating students and more attention on the money they could get from the students. They over promised on language acquisition which left students bewildered and dissatisfied when those grandiose promises were never be realised. Teachers' opinion mattered very little even though they were at the coalface of operations. Monitoring of classes was very subjective and evaluation... depended on the whim of the technical staff. The IT department was very poorly managed. Every technical issue was always the teachers fault and none of the blame was ever directed towards the students. I'm under the impression that financial constraint precluded any funds being directed toward the upgrade of the servers.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    It's all history now but Webi did more harm than good towards their students.

    Web International English2019-11-08
  9. "Not your first choice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Shanghai, Shanghai
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Web International English full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good curriculum, training covered everything

    Cons

    Company went bankrupt without any pay-offs to its employees

    Advice to Management

    don't steal money

    Web International English2019-10-28
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Spare yourself from this mess"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - ESL Teacher in Shanghai, Shanghai
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Web International English full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work is easy. I like Shanghai as a city.

    Cons

    This is my experience at the Shanghai HQ in Xuhui: 1. Low pay 2. No benefits 3. No chance of promotion (unless you are a suck up) 4. Unfair and unprofessional chinese working culture 5. Unhappy working environment 6. Racist and tacky coworkers 7. Selfish and clique-y supervisors 8. Outdated teaching materials 9. Lazy and arrogant students 10. Low number of classes=low pay Bottom line is, the whole... company is an insult to experienced teachers. Go and apply at other places that care about their employees.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I’ve already told them everything I thought. Do they care? Nope.

    Web International English2019-09-28
Found 109 reviews