Weber Shandwick Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Jan 19, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 122 of over 1,150 reviews

3.7
80%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Weber Shandwick President and CEO Gail Heimann
Gail Heimann
121 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people and great experience(in 48 reviews)

  • "Great understanding of work/life balance(in 39 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Challenging work-life balance with very competitive colleagues(in 83 reviews)

  • "You work long hours - your overtime does not get approved but you still need to do it to complete the work you were assigned(in 77 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "work life balance"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Work life

      Sep 18, 2020 - Associate Director in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits and opportunities to work with global teams

      Cons

      Challenging work-life balance with very competitive colleagues

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Zero Pros

      Sep 9, 2020 - Junior Account Executive in Manchester, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Can't think of any

      Cons

      - Staff retention is abysmal - Certain SMT treat lower-levels terribly - Work/life balance is non-existent - Very cut-throat and anxiety-inducing environment

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Good for your CV

      Jan 17, 2020 - Associate Director in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Opportunitiy ot work on great clients

      Cons

      Culture needs work, work life balance often isn't great

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Harassment , Bullying , Culturally shocked

      Dec 3, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good name to have your resume, Good employee benefits

      Cons

      the Managing Director for their sister concern creation at New Delhi is a bully, rude and vindictive if you happen to complain against one of his favorites in the team he would be biased and would ensure that your life becomes hell by way of overloading you with work with unrealistic timelines and if you try to have a conversation or put your point across he would humiliate you in front of team members. I was brought to a level that I finally resigned thinking that my life would become easier but I was so wrong, they went ahead and started humiliating me I was forced to work for more than my agreed notice period to ensure that I was taught a lesson alongside my other team mates so nobody would dare to say anything. While I can't say the same for WS as many teams there have fantastic managers and their work - life balance is also better as I used to interact with many of them

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Weber Shandwick Response

      Vice President

      Thanks for sharing your experience with us. We have a zero-tolerance policy for all forms of harassment in our workplace, and we strive to ensure that all employees can enjoy a respectful and supportive environment. We’re sorry that your experience did not meet these expectations. We encourage our employees to let us know if they have personally experienced or witnessed any form of harassment by reporting it to HR, their manager and/or our IPG Alertline. We investigate all complaints as thoroughly and confidentially as possible, and any violations of our policy will be dealt with appropriately.

    5. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      He For He Not He For She: Double Standards at Weber Shandwick

      Sep 5, 2015 - Anonymous Employee in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It's always going to be good to have Weber Shandwick on your CV. The clients are well known and global. There is a real feeling of innovation and working on big campaigns. There's lots of good training for AEs and AMs and you can learn a lot.

      Cons

      Work life balance is awful. The hours are really long and it's got worse over the last few years. Sometimes you get lieu days but only if you have done a big project. There's no respect for life outside work. There's a big issue with the senior management in London which some of the other posts have mentioned. It's laughable that the agency runs the He For She campaign. It's all about He For He here. If you are a woman above Account Director level, don't work here. Work here as an AE or AM and get your promotion to AD and then leave. The CFPA team (corporate, financial and public affairs) team in London is not a good place to work if you are a woman. There are about 10 senior men with big egos and 2 women (and they are busy having babies which the rest of the team can't relate to). There were more senior women but they have all left recently. There are no female associates to look up to. The PA team make lots of sexist comments all the time. They think it's funny. It's not. There are not many women on the team and it can get uncomfortable. If you complain about the comments you are told it's just banter. It's like working in a rugby club. I've read the post about the U.S. digital team using the interns as a dating pool. It's not like that and I don't know anybody who's had that problem here. It's just comments that men think are ok when they aren't. There is a group of men who all do international work. Nobody really knows what they do. Last year one of them had to tell us in a team meeting what they did to justify it. All I know is they think they run the place. They are rude to junior staff and give the good projects to the male Account Managers which is so annoying for the women who all work really hard. It seems if you suck up to certain men you get good projects. They are never in the office, or arrive late, go to lunch all day or fall asleep at their in the office. Yes really. It's just not motivating if you are in your 20s.

      Continue reading
      10 people found this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Good culture, smart people

      Sep 27, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great culture, look after employees, good work life balance, wide range of top clients.

      Cons

      Could do with better structure in terms of career developement

      1 person found this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Weber Shandwick

      Apr 26, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      An amazing client portfolio, exposure to industry leading work

      Cons

      As with most agencies in the industry, you'll need to work hard to find the best work life balance.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Not clear guidance on career progression

      Mar 20, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work life balance Colleagues Finishing at 4.30 on Fridays (during Summer)

      Cons

      People at the same level earn more or less depending on the value they are given by line managers

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Great Place to Work, Even With Its Flaws

      Sep 16, 2020 - Manager in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Great network of global offices offers many opportunities to work with teams around the world. -Dynamic leadership that is always looking to innovate and move forward. -Great career development opportunities available if you push for them. -Good benefits, including number of holidays and PTO days, WFH policy, etc.

      Cons

      -As other reviews have noted, the company has become a lot more rigidly structured and hierarchical. This is largely in response to industry changes and clients cutting their marketing/ad/PR budgets. -The hierarchy can make it difficult to move up - they often really adhere to pre-set timelines for promotions and deviate only in truly exceptional circumstances. -Work-life balance - super common issue in the industry, but there is often a huge emphasis placed on client service that can translate to long or unpredictable hours -Ability to work on big-name clients is limited - larger offices usually get to work on the more well-known clients, and the work is skewing more and more toward specialized fields (like analytics, digital, etc.). If you're a generalist in a smaller office, you likely won't get to work on the flashy clients. -As other reviews have noted, the pay isn't great, especially compared to other agencies.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Great Employer, Great Work, Poor Work Life Balance

      Jan 19, 2021 - Associate, Client Experience in Washington, DC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A good mix of work with opportunities to learn especially as a more junior employee. Great coworkers that are willing to help you be successful.

      Cons

      Work life balance is rough and compensation doesn't necessarily make up for full dedication that can be required of your job as a more junior staff member.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 122 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Weber Shandwick Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Weber Shandwick? Share Your Experiences

    Weber Shandwick logo
    or