WeddingWire "high turnover" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

WeddingWire Employee Reviews about "high turnover"

Updated 9 Jan 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
68%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
WeddingWire CEO Timothy Chi (no image)
Timothy Chi
148 Ratings
Pros
  • "Hit your numbers and take advantage of unlimited pto(in 27 reviews)

  • "Always receive credit when its due, fantastic work life balance with great perks and company culture(in 21 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "high turnover"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Sales associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at WeddingWire full-time

    Pros

    Great culture, decent money, helpful managers

    Cons

    High turnover, low ceiling with pay

    WeddingWire2019-01-10
  2. "Experience varies by department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WeddingWire full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The reason that there are so many reviews here all over the rating spectrum is that your experience at WeddingWire will vary wildly depending on your department, your team, and your specific role. Some departments or teams are cliquey, others are not at all. Some teams may side-eye you for taking vacation time, but others will happily let you use your unlimited PTO to your heart's content. (Seriously!) There's so much variation, so unless a review is about your prospective department, it's pretty much meaningless. Here are some pros: - Friendly and engaged executives - Management who believes in transparency and allows you to submit tough questions anonymously, which are later answered publicly (at least for the Product department) - Free breakfast every day - 2 free lunches per month - Smart coworkers who are also friendly and helpful - Casual, laid-back atmosphere - Environment that's welcoming of and celebrates new parents - Some people can work remotely

    Show More

    Cons

    - The sales department seems to have a high-pressure environment and high turnover. Make sure you enjoy sales / cold-calling before accepting an offer for a sales role. - Some talented people have been leaving due to recent changes, and even though they'll be replaced, it still places a damper on morale. - The changes mentioned above, which some people disagree with. - The 401k match is tiny, the smallest I've ever experienced at a company.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    People leaving puts a damper on morale, no matter the reason behind it. Try to hire people who are in it for the long haul.

    WeddingWire2018-01-09
  3. Helpful (11)

    "Coming to Work Isn't a Chore"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Customer Success Manager in Chevy Chase, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WeddingWire full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    WW is truly a great place to work. There are many reasons why, which I'll explain, but the two takeaways are 1) this an organization that genuinely cares about its people, and it shows on a daily basis. For example, one day recently, one of the VPS randomly offered to buy me breakfast from the cafe without any rhyme or reason. 2) My coworkers are, overall, enjoyable people to work with. They are generally very friendly, hard-working, and down to earth. Like many, I've made friends since working here: -Flexibility. As long as you're doing your job, you can work from home and take as much time as you need for paid time off. -Culture. When I tell friends and family the events that WW does, they're pretty amazed. Casual dress, Taco Tuesday, catered breakfast every day, open bars, top notch Halloween and Holiday Parties, catered lunch at the end of the month, and on and on. For me, even having an office Kurig with a dozen flavors is not insignificant when you up the cost of coffee everyday. -Customer Success. It's encouraging working for an organization that also cares about its customers. I don't know of any other company that calls and emails its customers to ask how they are doing with their account, and most of WW's vendors appreciate that. People often think that our team listens to vendors yell at them all day, but that's not the case. Most of our interactions with vendors are either positive or neutral, and I think it shows by the daily stream of vendor love that is shared throughout the organization. It should also be said that Customer Success gets perks that are available to Sales even though it does't carry sales quota - monthly bonuses, sales trips, dinners, and meals on the company tab. The Director and VP of Customer Success are both highly competent and always seem to have the team's best interests in mind. -Executive Team/Senior Management. They know me and many others at WW by name. They appear to be in touch with the rest of the organization, and most recently, the top and HR are showing that they are clearly listening to their employees' main concerns, which is heartening and a contrast to other businesses who are completely indifferent.

    Show More

    Cons

    There aren't many negatives, but no organization is perfect, especially one that has scaled to WW's size over a short period of time. -Career Growth. There are some legitimate concerns here, but with some very big caveats. The other reviews who make critiques about career growth fail to add important context. First, some of those who I've spoken with first hand who felt there weren't enough career opportunities for them 1) weren't top performers on our team or 2) hadn't been at WeddingWire long enough to be able to lay the ground work for a career path. The reality is that building a career is a long term process that doesn't happen overnight. By and large, hard work and talent is awarded with opportunities for promotion. -Junior Managers. While there are some excellent more junior managers on the third floor, there are also those whose skill set and judgment I think there is good reason to question. -Lastly, call me an apologist for WeddingWire all that you'd like, but some of criticisms I've seen or read reek of entitlement. For example, complaints about the free catered breakfast or lunch or a review that lamented that their team trip to a tropical island was "downgraded" to a major metropolitan city with great nightlife - give me a break. The reality is that - across the board, not just at WW -millennials aren't sticking around many companies for very long (hence, the high turnover criticism). Long story short: there is little loyalty but a big sense of entitlement. I say that as a millennial myself.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    For someone who has thoroughly enjoyed working at WeddingWire, I don't have much to add. It's been pretty apparent from when I first started working here, WW was being run by a highly talented group of people who had a clear and compelling vision of where they wanted to take the organization. That is still true today. Like I mentioned above, some of the concerns about career growth are legitimate, and I can see that through the employee engagement survey results it's something you're aware of (thank you for listening). The most important area for improvement is this: for those employees who have hit their goals and contributed meaningfully year after year, and have sown talent, loyalty, and dedication, there should be as many opportunities as possible to grow within WW.

    Show More
    WeddingWire2017-06-21
  4. Helpful (13)

    "Don't be fooled"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Chevy Chase, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at WeddingWire full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    We get paid in stickers.

    Cons

    Entire sales floor is cliquey and any perceived difference in beliefs is openly called out. Very low compensation for the area, even a lot less than told during recruiting and interview process. A lot of reps still live at home or have second jobs. Prepare to be micromanaged. If you get stuck with lower-tier markets then you will have a slim chance for growth among the company. Constant change (new managers, sales rules, etc.) You will never get a straight up answer and everything is sugar-coated and spun around. Open favoritism between managers and reps. Being "scum" or "scamy" is joked about regularly. Very high turnover that is constantly addressed as "oh everything is fine" Suggestions or complaints are often swept under the rug Monthly quotas get larger and larger with over-saturated markets

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Address any of the above cons.

    WeddingWire2017-06-12
  5. Helpful (14)

    "DO NOT WORK HERE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at WeddingWire full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Benefits appear okay, but there's no such thing as "unlimited" PTO. Massage chairs and game tables, but you feel odd using them when you're supposed to be working. You can drink whenever you want, apparently. It seems like an HR nightmare, but if you love day drinking at work in the early morning, then this is the place for you! Casual dress too (including sweatpants and slippers, because this whole company is a joke)

    Show More

    Cons

    You'll only succeed or "move up" if you're a favorite or in a certain clique. High turnover rate, and not just for sales. Pay is extremely low for the area, you can work at many other "cool" companies for less chaos and more pay nearby.

    Advice to Management

    Don't show favoritism or preferences over people. We get it's a casual atmosphere, but at least TRY to be professional

    WeddingWire2017-03-15
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Beware"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Chevy Chase, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at WeddingWire full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Very casual environment (if you like that, its a perk) - Unlimited PTO - Some fun sales incentives

    Cons

    - No growth opportunity: The only growth is job promotions in which the only thing that changes is your job title and a very small pay bump, - No challenge: Job is very redundant. There really aren't any learning opportunities - HORRIBLE pay: I made about 50% of what I was told I would be making even though I continuously hit ABOVE my monthly sales goals. - Tons of office politics, favoritism, cliques, etc.: Managers are reps who stuck around a long time and did well with hitting their goals. They aren't qualified managers nor do they have proper manager skills.As a result the moral among the reps is low. There is too much favoritism, seniority, etc. at play. - Social environment: To sum up the office, it is basically post college Greek life. Everyone tends to be drinking in the office, socializing, in relationships with each other and such. Some people might think this is a pro but for me it wasn't a professional setting that I want to be in - About 90% of the sales team is just another number: Extremely high turnover and it is expected that most employees won't stay longer than 6-18 months. Therefore you become disposable to the company. There is a top 10% that does well because they sit in self-selling markets and most all came to WW right after graduation so have been there 2-4 years and are very well taken care of by the company. - It seems that the product has peaked.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - Hire/promote qualified managers. If you really do want to promote reps into management, train them on how to efficiently manage a team. The relationship managers shared with their reps often was inappropriate, heavily favored to a select few and ultimately leaves the majority of reps frustrated. - Be honest with interviewees about compensation expectations. In my experience I hit my goals, often months achieved bonus kickers but was not making anywhere near what I was told. That's not acceptable or fair. - Develop the roles in the sales team to provide various development opportunities. When you are hiring most of your team in their early to mid- twenties, that is prime time in their careers to grow and develop their skills so don't leave them stagnant just making dials all day. - Get to know your people. When you know your team and their goals you can create a better experience but also you make the employees feel more valued rather than just a number with an expiration date. In my time with WW, I never had any interaction or knowledge of who the executive team was until many months in.

    Show More
    WeddingWire2017-01-26
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Young company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at WeddingWire

    Pros

    Everyone is very young, majority are females.

    Cons

    High turnover rate, not a very diverse company

    WeddingWire2015-01-04
  8. Helpful (6)

    "Don't let the laid back environment fool you!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Chevy Chase, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WeddingWire full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Casual environment, unlimited time off, great co-workers and really amazing work social scene.

    Cons

    It's a about territory on the sales side. They play favorites a lot. If they put you in a market that the company hasn't even done a networking night for good luck. They tend to visit larger cities a lot more and the reps there do amazing. They have no interest in developing/ helping out the smaller market people. They will fire you and find someone else to try and sell there. Historically when that new person doesn't sell, they fire them too. Very high turnover rate if your market is bad. Be sure to check sales force and see how many reps before you were calling into a market. If they aren't employeed there anymore you have a bad market.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop saying that its the reps fault all the time. Management knows that certain regions are not good, but they continue to breeze over the fact that marketing doesn't do enough for the smaller cities.

    WeddingWire2013-07-25
Found 8 reviews