WeddingWire "unlimited pto" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

WeddingWire Employee Reviews about "unlimited pto"

Updated 4 Mar 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
68%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
WeddingWire CEO Timothy Chi (no image)
Timothy Chi
148 Ratings
Pros
  • "Hit your numbers and take advantage of unlimited pto(in 27 reviews)

  • "Always receive credit when its due, fantastic work life balance with great perks and company culture(in 21 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "unlimited pto"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to start your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at WeddingWire full-time

    Pros

    Unlimited PTO Free breakfast Ability to have a work/life balance

    Cons

    Unclear on career growth Getting promoted is extremely difficult Upper management provides zero transparency

    WeddingWire2019-03-04
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Not Bad.. Not Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chevy Chase, MD
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at WeddingWire full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Unlimited PTO -Free catered breakfast every day and two free lunches at the end of the month

    Cons

    -Cliquey colleagues -No growth opportunity

    WeddingWire2018-11-08
  3. "Account Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Chevy Chase, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WeddingWire full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great culture, postive and flexible. Work hard play hard. Hit your numbers and take advantage of unlimited pto. Free healthcare.

    Cons

    Turnover which is with any sales job. Longevity.

    WeddingWire2018-08-01
  4. Helpful (8)

    "Will only get hired if you were in a sorority"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at WeddingWire full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Company wide events are fun - Team bonding events are usually fun if your team isn’t a huge click - Easiest job you will ever do - Overall a good product, but hard to sell

    Cons

    - Poor leadership team, which should be assumed when a wedding company is run by all men. They disillusion their employees with “perks.” Personally, I would take career opportunities and the chance to be more involved in strategic initiatives over “perks” any day. That’s just me though. - Seeing as they only hire kids out of college that have a panhel association, the culture is toxic and immature (in sales specifically) - Unlimited PTO is a ruse. Your manager may or may not let you take off certain days (or make you cancel your trip/work during your trip to hit goal). If you aren’t at goal before your trip, you will be guilted relentlessly up to it. There is no flexibility here. - Managers are cheerleaders, not mentors - Executive team is elitist and condescending towards intelligent, hardworking employees who could help grow their business

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Value the talent you have, and recognize the opportunities they could bring.

    WeddingWire2018-06-05
  5. Helpful (6)

    "Amazing first job, but could be better in ways"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at WeddingWire full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Hot catered breakfast every morning, catered lunches regularly, and decent giveaways for hitting numbers. Company events. Unlimited PTO was realistic if you hit numbers.

    Cons

    Very "high school". Unfortunately, the people that work there have not grown up from their high school or college days and tend to surround themselves with people that have not either. Clique, gossipy, and materialistic. It is easy to get caught up in it, but in retrospect, it was healthy to get away from the petty behavior and talking behind the back of team members. There are more important things in life than drinking, parties, and material items. Pick up a hobby, invest in yourself and relationships that are actually healthy. It's time to grow up.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Remember those who are skilled at their job. Reward them and try to encourage managers to push employees to value things besides clothes and partying.

    WeddingWire2018-03-05
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Fun while it lasts"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at WeddingWire full-time

    Pros

    - majority of coworkers are amazing and genuinely nice people - fun product to sell - flexibility to work from home sometimes - decent benefits - fun parties

    Cons

    - STRESS - "unlimited" PTO is not a benefit because the sales quotas are ridiculously high and people are afraid to take time off for fear of not hitting goal - Quotas keep increasing even though last year our quotas were lowered significantly because renewal assistance was taken away; so now what's the justification for the increase? (if the answer is price increase, that is no justification because we have to discount significantly to make sales which then forces us to make more sales to be successful) - meetings that are a waste of time - management that isn't clued in; I no longer feel comfortable having my manager call a vendor because they're not comfortable selling or how to position the questions correctly - instituting a performance plan just a short time prior to quota increase - having reps pay for staffing issues (quotas going up across the board when we are understaffed)

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be a more people-positive culture. There are constant surveys going out to give feedback but it seems the only changes that are made are to keep more money flowing back to the company. The sales team is being bled dry because there is constant turnover both from people leaving and getting fired because they can't keep up with the unrealistic expectations. Instead of addressing the staffing issue, reps suffer from the team being understaffed by getting more quota piled on. WeddingWire puts all the risk on its people without having the guts to tell the board, their investors, or whoever else it concerns that numbers will be down until we build up the team. In my first 3 months with the company, there was turn over of about 19 people, I believe. And then I stopped counting. I've never seen anything like it. Everyone who works here knows this isn't a career and management seems fine with that. My advice would be to value the employees that you have and keep your top performers rather than stressing them out so much by adding to their workload or forcing them out by giving them more than they can handle which leads to a downhill slope in performance.

    Show More
    WeddingWire2018-02-27
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Account Executive- Remote"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WeddingWire full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -unlimited PTO and they are very lenient with it as long as you are doing well -FANTASTIC management (no micro managing) -Great remote lifestyle: Working from home, fun incentives for remote employees, you feel like a team even if you are not in the office -You are rewarded for your work: through pay and pat on the backs -Fun incentives to keep you motivated (money and sales trips) -they fly you out to DC twice a year to see everyone -Continual Education -You get to meet and know the CEO, CMO, VPs -ALWAYS trying to better themselves through surveys and new programs -Work/life balance is fantastic!

    Show More

    Cons

    Honestly, I cannot really think of any. Sometimes being remote can get a little lonely but they do their best to make you feel included in everything

    Advice to Management

    Keep striving to be the best!

    WeddingWire2018-02-12
  8. "Truly wonderful place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Account Executive in Chevy Chase, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WeddingWire full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    WeddingWire is a wonderful place to work. The people are amazing - some of the brightest and hardest working people I've met, our product is truly the best in the industry and our Executive team is super transparent and down to earth. The culture is great - we have so many perks (unlimited PTO, catered breakfast, free lunches, team and company-wide events.) I'm grateful every day to be here!

    Cons

    Sales is not for everyone - and if you aren't willing to work hard and have tough skin, sales is probably not the best fit for you. WeddingWire's biggest problem is that it is so easy to fall in love with the culture and the people, but not everyone is able to put in the work needed every day. We've had some turnover and I think people that ended up not being a good fit for the sales team took it a lot harder than they would at a less amazing company/ work atmosphere.

    Show More
    WeddingWire2018-02-12
  9. "Experience varies by department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WeddingWire full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The reason that there are so many reviews here all over the rating spectrum is that your experience at WeddingWire will vary wildly depending on your department, your team, and your specific role. Some departments or teams are cliquey, others are not at all. Some teams may side-eye you for taking vacation time, but others will happily let you use your unlimited PTO to your heart's content. (Seriously!) There's so much variation, so unless a review is about your prospective department, it's pretty much meaningless. Here are some pros: - Friendly and engaged executives - Management who believes in transparency and allows you to submit tough questions anonymously, which are later answered publicly (at least for the Product department) - Free breakfast every day - 2 free lunches per month - Smart coworkers who are also friendly and helpful - Casual, laid-back atmosphere - Environment that's welcoming of and celebrates new parents - Some people can work remotely

    Show More

    Cons

    - The sales department seems to have a high-pressure environment and high turnover. Make sure you enjoy sales / cold-calling before accepting an offer for a sales role. - Some talented people have been leaving due to recent changes, and even though they'll be replaced, it still places a damper on morale. - The changes mentioned above, which some people disagree with. - The 401k match is tiny, the smallest I've ever experienced at a company.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    People leaving puts a damper on morale, no matter the reason behind it. Try to hire people who are in it for the long haul.

    WeddingWire2018-01-09
  10. Helpful (15)

    "These negative reviews are all hilariously on point!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Chevy Chase, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at WeddingWire full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Casual dress "Unlimited PTO" Young co-workers Great company events Great location above the metro If you make it to mgmt - smooth sailing

    Cons

    Simply not a career in sales because they plan on firing you one way or another anytime past 2 years time. Even the lifers are being pushed out. Must have immediate backup plan because every month you might be next on the chopping block. Truly only as good as your last month in extremely saturated markets. Condescending, unqualified managers are quite a joke. But man are they happy to get your Starbucks orders! Should be their #1 line on their resumes if they were being honest "Exceptional Starbucks picker uppers." How many times a day does one need coffee? I guess that's no more unhealthy than the abuse of adderall going on in the office to make a dent in the unrealistic quotas. If you want to pickup an anxiety disorder, this is hands down the place to be!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Not a single bad manager has been let go . ALL grandfathered in while the turnover below is about 85%. Why aren't managers ever held accountable for their teams not hitting goal time and time again here? How about the managers who have the most people quit under them month over month here? Managers will never leave because they're flying all over the world 6+ times per year using that unlimited PTO that sales people just can't practically use. Also, it's tacky to have to ask your employees for good reviews on Glassdoor to balance out all these bad ones. Might want to just fix the problem and wipe out all your managers whom have 0 experience prior to WeddingWire. Especially the ones sitting behind their computer screens remotely - talk about getting paid to do zip. Great managers would be qualified to help bring in the big deals - none of that happens here. If anyone is doing that, it's the Strategic Account Managers expanding the existing big business. In my opinion, the Strategic Account Managers are worlds more qualified to be managers than any of their current managers. At least they know how to sell WeddingWire and could share real best practices. Meanwhile, the managers are out doing another Starbucks run! (They will reply that they have hired experienced managers but really they're just from Living Social which went down the tubes fast, so you be the judge)

    Show More
    WeddingWire2018-01-21
Found 35 reviews