WeddingWire "unlimited pto" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

WeddingWire Reviews

Updated 5 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
68%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
WeddingWire CEO Timothy Chi (no image)
Timothy Chi
150 Ratings
  1. Helpful (15)

    "These negative reviews are all hilariously on point!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Chevy Chase, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at WeddingWire full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Casual dress "Unlimited PTO" Young co-workers Great company events Great location above the metro If you make it to mgmt - smooth sailing

    Cons

    Simply not a career in sales because they plan on firing you one way or another anytime past 2 years time. Even the lifers are being pushed out. Must have immediate backup plan because every month you might be next on the chopping block. Truly only as good as your last month in extremely saturated markets. Condescending, unqualified managers are quite a joke. But man are they happy to get your Starbucks orders! Should be their #1 line on their resumes if they were being honest "Exceptional Starbucks picker uppers." How many times a day does one need coffee? I guess that's no more unhealthy than the abuse of adderall going on in the office to make a dent in the unrealistic quotas. If you want to pickup an anxiety disorder, this is hands down the place to be!

    Continue reading
    WeddingWire2018-01-21

    WeddingWire Response

    January 26, 2018Senior Director, Sales

    Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us. It’s really unfortunate and sincerely disappointing to hear that your perception of WeddingWire is so far from the environment we are proud to have created. Some of your commentary on the behaviors of the staff are inflammatory and mean-spirited. We do not condone any of the behaviors you have shared and regret that this was what you took away from your tenure at WeddingWire. We’re a company that acknowledges that we are not perfect, but our intent is always good and in the spirit of creating a positive employee experience for everyone who entrusts their career with us.

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Good for people that are trying to get used to the area, not so much otherwise"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Chevy Chase, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at WeddingWire full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    For good or for bad, people come to work for WeddingWire and it becomes not just a job; many people will stay afterwards, and have a beer or two with each other after the work day. This is due to a fairly youthful workforce that are not bothered with other major life commitments (family, children, ect...). Thus, I agree with many of the other sentiments about WeddingWire, if you become friends with the people you work with, it can be an extension of college for you. There's free breakfast everyday (at least when I worked there), and free catered lunches at the end of every month. In addition, the market, while you do have to pay for the food, it's heavily subsidized. Finally, the company takes coffee very seriously, meaning there's espresso, coffee, and every variation of coffee you can imagine. Following in the footsteps of other tech companies, the environment itself is very nice; the ambiance of the office is very well themed, and it never felt like an office building. Company sponsored events are fun, and involve a lot of drinking if that falls into your definition of a good time

    Cons

    The best way I can describe WeddingWire is like this, just look at the ratings trend. What’s happening in the past couple of years is the growth that the company is experiencing; it’s growing and growing faster than it can really handle. This means that WeddingWire is consistently hiring people who don’t fit the original company culture into the company’s middle management. The ideas that the company comes up aren’t original, and the direction of the product team tends to be all over the place. One of my main issues with the company is the passive aggressive nature of the people who work there. If your idea or work doesn’t fit, no one really tells you what’s going on. Instead, you keep going down a path of failure without course correction. When things are left on the chopping block, everyone gets together and starts assigning blame to others when finally people either quit or are fired. While I was there, there were two projects that teams spent over 6 months working on, only to have them abandoned. If you aren’t friends with the people you work with, coming to work can engender a feeling of a social outcast . Meaning, if you’re not hanging out with your co-workers on the weekends or after work, you’re most likely not going to get far. If your someone that leans left, likes to drink, and enjoys the DC night life, you’ll do fine. On the other hand, if you’re the type that likes to have a life outside of work, I would strongly suggesting to look elsewhere. Couple of things about the benefits: - The insurance plan is mediocre at best, they don’t cover enough of the premiums. - Pay is on the lower-end of DC Metro area averages. The DC metro area is crazy expensive, and most other companies pay the DC premium to their employees. WeddingWire will not. If you expect to live here, please be prepared for a roommate. - Unlimited PTO is a good idea, but I’ve never seen people take more than 2 weeks off. When I took a vacation, I was told that other people took offense about it

    Continue reading
    WeddingWire2017-11-20

    WeddingWire Response

    December 20, 2017VP Engineering

    I joined as VP of Engineering about eight months ago, so our paths may not have crossed. I'm happy to hear that WeddingWire was more than just a job for you and it sounds like you enjoyed our culture, perks, and most importantly - the people. There are a lot of exciting things happening with our Product strategy, but the people are what brought me to WeddingWire. Their openness and desire to become an even better team is very motivating and makes coming to work very rewarding. A compelling Product strategy and strong business are great things to have, but having great people committed to being a great team is what will ultimately allow us to continue to be successful. We have a hiring plan specific to the Product Development team to ensure we hire the right people for the right roles. Finding the right people takes time, and isn't something we're willing to compromise on. We've spent a lot of time since I joined investing in our management team and we have an individual contributor career track as an option for those who aren't interested in management. The People Team (HR) have been great partners and have done some great work this year with our #WeDoFeedback program (to name just one). The program has helped tremendously with our push for a continuous feedback culture. Our goal is to encourage two-way communication between employees and managers, something I'm personally very passionate about and is something we'll continue to invest in. You mentioned drinking a few times, and that's certainly not how we define who we are. We ensure that all events include non-alcohol options so that everyone feels welcome. We've also implemented a Voice of the Employee survey and conducted focus groups to get an understanding of what employees like and dislike about our benefit plans as we're always working to improve them. I appreciate your feedback - it sounds like we're focusing our efforts to improve in the right places and we'll continue to listen to as much input as we can get!

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Still haunted by my experience at WW a year later"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - "account Associate" 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at WeddingWire full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Casual dress code -Free breakfast -Fun company events -Good company to have on a resume especially in the DMV, but only if you stay more than 6 months (which most people don't)

    Cons

    WW advertising does not work in most territories or for most vendors, and because of that the sales tactics used are manipulative at best and unethical at the worst. The highest performing reps will tell vendors they're idiots or their business will fail if they don't buy WW ad space, and managers encourage you to be mean (I'm sorry 'direct') to vendors on the phone. If you bring up concerns or uneasiness with that you'll be outcast from the company by getting reassigned worse territory, a higher quota, and lose your invites to company events. Of the 50+ vendors I sold while there, 3 chose to renew their listings; that should tell you how well the product works. Favoritism runs rampant in this organization and unskilled reps will receive great territories and low quotas if they're well liked. For me, things went downhill after a very popular colleague made a pass on me at a company event and I declined his advances. The next month, my quota nearly doubled, my territory became smaller, and my ASP went from $1400 to $900 (due to the lower listing value in an unpopular region). Within 6 months after I left, 80% of my friends and teammates had also left the organization, and while I was there multiple people quit every week. There is also forced turnover for the bottom performers each month. Even if you are at quota, you will need to stay until 7 PM (at the earliest), the last week of the month to help your team meet the unrealistic quota assignments determined by sales leadership/exec/finance. Twice a day, everyday, the performance summary of every sales rep is emailed out company wide. Other SAs and managers will openly make fun of you if you're lagging (though one sale can take you from the bottom to the top since the business is so transactional). Unlimited PTO exists as a technicality, since you're rarely approved to take time off. I was point blank lied to about compensation in my interview. I was told I'd easily make 80K+ my first year, and despite hitting quota it was closer to 45k which is truly pathetic for the DC area. Overall, the worst job experience of my life, and I would only recommend my worst enemies to work here.

    Continue reading
    WeddingWire2017-12-03

    WeddingWire Response

    December 5, 2017Director of Sales

    Thank you for taking the time to share feedback about your experience with us last year. Based on your perspective, it’s clear that we didn’t meet your expectations. We are committed to ensuring all employees have a positive experience from the time they join the team, during the onboarding process and throughout their time with the company. We’re disappointed that didn’t happen in your case. WeddingWire is a high-growth business and we recognize this phase of growth doesn’t come without challenges. Based on feedback from employees, over the past year, we have invested in employee development and have been laser-focused on the implementation of programming to support team education, manager training and more. Thank you, again, for taking the time to share your perspective.

    Continue reading
  4. "Account Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at WeddingWire full-time

    Pros

    Amazing company culture, awesome benefits package, wonderful communication within the organization, unlimited PTO - not enough positives to say about this company.

    Cons

    Disconnect if working remotely - the office life and culture is superb, but it was really hard to feel connected if working outside the office.

    Continue reading
    WeddingWire2017-10-16

    WeddingWire Response

    December 6, 2017Manager, Culture and Experience

    Thanks for giving us the thumbs up on some of our favorite parts of WeddingWire! We were lucky to have you a part of the team!

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (40)

    "Most disappointing work experience of my life."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at WeddingWire full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I had really high hopes for this job and thought this was going to be an amazing opportunity. I couldn't have been more wrong. I wish I could erase this experience from my life. I can't recommend running as fast away from this place as you can. I'll be surprised if this review stays live for longer than a week bc it seems like WeddingWire is successfully doing everything they can to offset any negative reviews with multiple fake canned reviews like "Coming to Work isn't a Chore!" C'mon man. Here are my honest thoughts based on my experience: - Micromanagement and manager's general abuse of power seems to be rampant across all departments. My supervisor constantly stole credit for my work while giving me 0 recognition for my efforts over the course of my time there. - Unlimited PTO is a ploy to get people in the doors and only a select few teams actually have this flexibility. No government holidays off or additional time around the end of the year off means you need to choose to use your vacation time wisely. You'll likely be shamed every single day up until you leave for your time off and then again when you return. - Zero diversity across all teams (in terms of ethnicity and thought) which boggles my mind for a tech company based out of the DC area. Everyone in my department looks the same, acts the same, thinks the same, and likes the same things. The hiring team is exclusively blonde haired, blue eyed caucasian women so what would you expect? POC need not apply here. - Your manager will be the first person to throw you under the bus if 'you're making them look bad' meanwhile they'll still enjoy all the luxuries their position holds and even receive promotions while stepping over the backs of their subordinates. I can say this because it happened to me and several of my former colleagues. - 75% of the people that were in my orientation class either were fired or quit because they couldn't take the constant stress of this company anymore. It's sad that WeddingWire is so willing to let go of hardworking people (who have genuine values and could've been the exemplary brand champions the company truly needs) while instead rewarding those who get by on unethical terms. - If you don't hit the unrealistic goals set in place OR just don't fit in to the white-washed culture -- you'll be blindsided by surprise performance reviews, frozen out by your team, and reprimanded by your supervisor in every single check-in meeting until you finally break and decide to quit or get fired. - I've witnessed dozens of intelligent, hard-working, kind, and dedicated employees burn out from the mistreatment they received from this place. Instead of trying to make a real effort to motivate employees and boost morale, WW will gladly kick you to the curb bc they know they will find another replacement for you in the form of some bright eyed fresh new graduate that's wooed by the frat culture and willing to work for pennies. - I can attest to a prior GD contributor and say I also suffered from terrible anxiety for a year from the constant stress of my work environment. After leaving this place I felt a huge weight lifted off my shoulders. - HR is not your friend (unless you're a manager or above) and they will schedule surprise meetings to shower you in condescending feedback that supports whatever BS opinion your supervisor has made up of you.

    Cons

    - Need I say more? Just don't come here. Seriously, save yourself the agony. It's not worth the free breakfast burritos.

    Continue reading
    WeddingWire2017-09-25
  6. Helpful (10)

    "Debated calling in sick for a month before writing this..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at WeddingWire full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Lots of fun stickers to collect. -The possibility of getting "iced" at any hour of any day. -Free breakfast that never changes, if you like a routine. -Free lunch on the last days of the month to ensure that the Core and Venue Sales teams remain at their desks for a full 9 hour work day. -A beer cart that comes around every Thursday/Friday to render the last two hours of the work day absolutely useless. -Great group of young 20-somethings to befriend.

    Cons

    How much time do you really have? -The pay is a joke. Don't be fooled by recruiting efforts and the number that they throw around. As a rep who did their job "well," I'd be lucky to make half of the projected number I was given in a year. As many other reviewers have noted, lots of us have second jobs to afford D.C. living. -Absolutely zero growth. With each promotion, you are given the opportunity to be selected for "leadership" positions, which you'll only attain if you are a 'favorite.' Other than that, you're still selling to new accounts, or convincing vendors that this joke of a product worked for them. There is no benefit to the salesperson, as we do not maintain contact with the vendors we sell after the initial transaction. -Nice guys finish last. The reps who do well here treat their managers like pledges in a fraternity. It's "cool" to get wasted with your boss every weekend, or to pass drugs around with them on company sponsored trips. Wish I'd known the floor was similar to "Wolf of Wall Street" when I took this job--but hey, if you're into that, you've found your home. -If you show signs of failure, i.e. not hitting metrics, not hitting quota, etc, you will be given less profitable territory in an effort to get you fired. In the off chance that you are doing well, and you request a territory change, more often than not this will be ignored unless you scream and cry and stomp your feet like a little child. Oh, and your quota will continue to increase month over month, too. -Constant competition between teams--it's truly every man or woman for themselves. Don't trust anyone. -Unlimited PTO sounds awesome in theory--but don't take it if you're not at goal because you will be scrutinized and asked about your plan to hit goal each and every day leading up to your departure. Managers will tell you to "unplug" while on vacation, but then continue to send you emails and text messages with regards to your accounts, expecting responses. -A complete disregard for any of the issues listed in all of the reviews below. Zero communication between senior level management and sales managers. This probably stems from the lack of qualifications these managers have--they're merely previous reps who got the good end of the stick.

    Continue reading
    WeddingWire2017-07-19

    WeddingWire Response

    July 31, 2017Senior Director, Sales

    We appreciate the time you took to share your feedback. We’re very disappointed to hear this is what you took away as your experience as a member of the sales team. First and foremost, we take allegations of drug use very seriously. We do not condone behavior of this kind in any scenario. Being a high-growth company, change is frequent and not always easy. To promote and foster learning, training and development, we recently launched a continuous feedback platform for employee development, a revamped Leadership Development Program and a Manager Certification Training. We are committed to creating as much opportunity to our Teams as possible and it’s feedback like yours that helps us to identify where we need to focus more attention. Thank you, again, for sharing your thoughts.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Account Executive 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WeddingWire full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    WeddingWire has a company culture that is absolutely unbeatable. From passing upper management and C-Level Executives in the hall who give you a friendly hello (and know everybody by name), to fun perks like Unlimited PTO, hot catered breakfast every morning, and casual attire- the benefits are endless. I think one of the best things that I've realized while working here is that you are truly surrounded by individual peers who are motivated and supportive of you and your work. I've also always felt encouraged and respected by my managers - and that I could go to them with any problems or advice that I may need at work. As far as Sales goes - if you are in a Sales job it is a Sales job. You have to be self-motivated to do your work and reap the rewards. There are pros and cons to having different territories as with any Sales position - it all depends on your outlook and strategy while approaching how to sell into them. There are also tons of incentives, awards, recognition, and the ability to get promoted if you hit and succeed your sales goals. I think the culture at WeddingWire fosters open communication and everybody here wants you to be successful. The Sales skills that I've learned here have taught me soft skills that I can utilize throughout my current career here and they will definitely stick with me as a valuable foundation for any future endeavors.

    Cons

    Although it is a medium sized business, it is a startup-like culture and environment - so if that isn't for you then you may not enjoy the laid back office environment! It is an extremely social place. I personally don't think these are cons but they may be if you don't enjoy that type of a culture.

    Continue reading
    WeddingWire2017-06-13

    WeddingWire Response

    October 16, 2017Manager, Culture and Experience

    We couldn't have said it better ourselves! Those pros are some of our favorite parts of working at WeddingWire! Thank you so much for taking the time to share this candid feedback.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (5)

    "WeddingWire is great!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Sales Associate in Chevy Chase, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WeddingWire full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The culture and people make WeddingWire a great place to work. Really like the unlimited PTO and fun events hosted by the company. There is opportunity to grow at the company if you put in the hard work.

    Cons

    Benefits aren't that stellar, probably because they hire mostly young professionals, fresh out of college who are too young to really care.

    Continue reading
    WeddingWire2017-05-30

    WeddingWire Response

    September 8, 2017Manager, Culture and Experience

    We strive to provide a positive unique employee experience and we agree that the people and culture here at WeddingWire make it a truly great place to work! Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are so lucky to have you as a part of the WW Team!

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (17)

    "This should be a dream job, but this job has destroyed my mental health."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WeddingWire full-time

    Pros

    The benefits are nice, and unlimited pto is a nice perk. Code quality is important which makes things easy. A lot of the people that are not management are incredible.

    Cons

    The biggest problem here is the management. It seems like only popular people get any promotions and if they don't like you it's very apparent and they will make your life difficult. The hardest working people are often taken advantage of and then tossed aside and set up to fail and are given no opportunity to grow. If you get on the bad side of any of the managers count your promotion potential to be sabotaged. I've seen people who are not fit to manage get promoted and subsequently fired. While hard workers are not given any recognition. On top of that the trend lately is to reduce transparency and keep much of the team in the dark. There is also a problem where some managers have less experience then the people they manage, which causes some of them to remind them of their place. The worst thing is the amount of favoritism displayed towards some employees and not others. Like a manager will celebrate some subordinates birthdays and not others,those same subordinates also have preferential treatment towards task despite having more capable people on the team. There is also a problem with how certain people are held to higher standards then others which causes unfair assessments and reviews and the bais is clear. When employees report this to HR often times they end up being punished for defending themselves. Managers are also highly inconsistent with requests and often times not communicate in a timely manner and then nit pick and hold what you've done against you. Working here has deteriorated my mental health since the favoritism is not even attempted to be hidden. The constant negative feedback and lack of recognition has made me clinically depressed. On a daily basis I pray that the managers will just not show up or quit because that seems to be the only way to move up or have a decent day. Also everything falls on death ears, managers pretend to listen and then do nothing about the complaints. At the end of the day their group is unaffected by our mental health and anything to make sure that they appear as the ones that pushed the team to release a good product and forgetting to actually acknowledge who did things. I'm also not the only one I know of various employees whose mental health has deteriorated and are on anti depression medication because of this. This job should be a dream, but only if you fall into the right crowd. I would stay away if you value your mental health.

    Continue reading
    WeddingWire2017-06-15

    WeddingWire Response

    June 19, 2017Vice President of People

    First and foremost, your well-being is our greatest concern. Your mental, emotional and physical health is most important and we want to ensure that you are safe. We are sincerely disappointed that your experience with us has been as you described. Its feedback like yours that helps us understand where and how improvements need to be made. Regarding your mentions of mental health, this is very concerning to us. We ensure numerous resources are available to our employees. Primarily, we pride ourselves on having a very approachable, high-touch HR team, open and ready to support anytime. Should you wish to remain anonymous, Health Advocate (our employee assistance program) and mental health care support is available to you and we encourage you to reach out as you feel comfortable.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Career Maker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WeddingWire full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The opportunity WeddingWire has provided me in terms of career growth has been incredible. They helped me go from someone who just graduated college, to someone who has the freedom to make a meaningful difference on our Marketing team. I feel trusted amongst my teammates, and the feeling is mutual. We are constantly innovating, researching, and pushing one another to find the best possible route for a given project, and each and every learning experience is a gift. On a more personal level, each team is pretty close knit - and departments do many team building activities/trips/events to promote good camaraderie. From a corporate standpoint, there are also a lot of opportunities to mingle with those in different departments, along with great company parties/happy hours to reward hard work! For a company that has grown exponentially in my time here (there were 130 employees when I joined, now there are around 600+ internationally), I'm extremely impressed with how even when there have been blips, they are handled with grace, learned from, and corrected. Complacency rarely exists, and if it does, it's not long lived. On a final note, the Exec team is tremendous. They make a true effort to get to know their employees BY NAME, and will never hesitate to greet you in passing. It's great to feel like you go to work everyday working for people you actually like, instead of the usual grind of corporate America.

    Cons

    I believe WeddingWire gives us the freedom to determine our professional destinies - and with hard (and smart!) work, you won't be disappointed. However, the work environment may not suit everyone. For example, we have a ping pong table, speakeasy, unlimited PTO, etc - and these things are meant to be used to the extent that they don't interfere with your productivity. If you're unable to manage your time due to these distractions (or those similar), it's possible you'll have a hard time succeeding.

    Continue reading
    WeddingWire2017-03-16

    WeddingWire Response

    March 23, 2017Manager, Culture and Experience

    Wow! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave this thoughtful feedback. It is our top priority here at WeddingWire to ensure that we are providing a positive, unique employee experience all the while ensuring growth & development opportunities. We are proud of our high freedom Company Culture, our rapid successful growth, and our incredible executive team. We take great value in our employees and the experiences that they have here at WeddingWire and we are so happy that we hit the mark here with you!

    Continue reading
Found 36 reviews