Wegmans Food Markets Reviews

Updated 22 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
80%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Wegmans Food Markets President and CEO  Colleen Wegman
Colleen Wegman
457 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Inconsistent schedule for those who aren’t full time(in 163 reviews)

  • "Part-time hours vary greatly from week to week(in 153 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "All good things"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wegmans Food Markets part-time

    Pros

    Easy going, friendly team and healthy environment

    Cons

    Sometimes I felt as though I wasn't challenged enough

    Wegmans Food Markets2017-09-18
  2. "Team Lead"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wegmans Food Markets full-time

    Pros

    Attracts great people, makes the job fun.

    Cons

    You're running a grocery store, not a government. Management seems to forget that sometimes.

    Wegmans Food Markets2019-05-01
  3. "Based in customer service"

    3.0
    Current Employee - Merchandiser in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wegmans Food Markets full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I am interested and i have passion to work in this industry because am experienced.

    Cons

    Some customers are harsh,we need to persevere,we should not be short tempered because customer is always right.

    Continue reading
    Wegmans Food Markets2015-10-21
  4. "Great Starter Job"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Front End in Baltimore, MD

    I worked at Wegmans Food Markets part-time

    Pros

    Comprehensive training, good benefits for part-timers

    Cons

    Stretch 4-day work week to 5 days, too many department managers

    Wegmans Food Markets2020-05-21
  5. "Great Team and Environment"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server in Midlothian, VA

    I worked at Wegmans Food Markets part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great boss Promote from within Team oriented

    Cons

    Scheduling is very random Compensation isn't amazing

    Wegmans Food Markets2020-05-22
  6. "Top 100 Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Management Trainee in West Chester, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wegmans Food Markets full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    This company truly cares for their employees, and that shows in the incredible service we provide to our wonderful customers! This company also puts a ton of effort into developing and growing the employees within, which can lead to great future opportunities with the company.

    Cons

    The only thing that could be a deterrent to working for this company is the 24/7/364 potential work hours (dependent on the department you apply for, of course) basically, there are not a lot of job options for people who prefer a typical Monday-Friday 9-5 type of schedule; however, for those who don't mind the flexibility, its a great match!

    Wegmans Food Markets2020-05-21
  7. "Great Company, Great Culture"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Niagara Falls, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Wegmans Food Markets part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible scheduling, kind management, care about employees, competitive pay, scholarship opportunities

    Cons

    No cons come to mind.

    Continue reading
    Wegmans Food Markets2020-05-18
  8. "Decent Company, unless you're disabled."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front End Cashier 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Wegmans Food Markets part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    1.The people I worked with were mostly nice or at least tolerable. 2.The pay is okay some places pay more but you get two (small) raises per year and they pay every week. 3.Its fairly easy to get small amounts (one or two days) of time off as long as you let them know a week or two ahead of time. 4.Switching departments is easy if you don't have medical disabilities or need medical accommodations.(See cons for more info.) 5.They try to make accommodations for physical disabilities. (See cons for any other disabilities and minor/nonvisible physical disabilities) 6.Management generally takes the employee's side when angry customers try to cause a scene. (Provided that it was the customer that escalated the event and you don't have a track record of causing problems) 7. Their Coronavirus/Covid19 response prioritized the health and safety of employees and they began implementing safety measures as early as the first week of March.

    Cons

    1.The customers are often very self entitled and it is very taxing trying to serve them especially if there is any actual issue. 2.If you have medical disabilities that they don't already have a policy for they will make it difficult for you to get long term accommodations and will actively punish you if the accommodations are inconvenient for the company. 3. If you need to get accommodations for a disability they will not let you change departments if you will also need accommodations in that department. (This effectively makes it so you cannot advance in the company with the exception of a handful of jobs that you are less likely to get because you cannot train in multiple departments.) 4. They say that they offer health insurance for part-time employees but in truth you can only qualify if you work a certain amount of hours per week and rarely do they actually give anyone enough hours to qualify. It's not even that great insurance either.

    Continue reading
    Wegmans Food Markets2020-05-17
  9. "Nice"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Manager in Buffalo, NY

    I worked at Wegmans Food Markets part-time

    Pros

    Learn a lot. Learn to handle many forms of interactions

    Cons

    Things can get hectic, but it's part of the fun

    Wegmans Food Markets2020-05-14
  10. "Great Place to Work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Baker 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wegmans Food Markets part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Been working at Wegmans for 8 years while I attend school. They have been flexible with scheduling all 8 years. I also was able to easily apply for their scholarship, which they gave to me for 6 years.

    Cons

    Management has a high turnover rate, but overall I have no complaints about them. Great place to work.

    Wegmans Food Markets2020-05-07
Found 2374 reviews