Wellcome Trust Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Wellcome Trust Reviews

Updated 12 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
61%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Wellcome Trust Director Jeremy Farrar
Jeremy Farrar
39 Ratings
Pros
  • "working environment; light-filled atrium cafe, open-plan floors, etc(in 8 reviews)

  • "Amazing perks - subsidised lunch, free gym(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "Limited/ no scope for career progression,(in 8 reviews)

  • "Starting from hiring decisions to grant giving there is a surprising lack of diversity of institutions and previous work experiences(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Lovely Time, Amazing Research Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vacation Scheme Student in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wellcome Trust full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Really good stipend. Great support from my lab supervisor.

    Cons

    Not much communication with the Wellcome Trust people themselves.

    Continue reading
    Wellcome Trust2020-02-12
  2. "Terrible pay, horrible bonus policy, limited promotions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wellcome Trust full-time

    Pros

    AMAZING mission, amazing people, amazing impact

    Cons

    Terrible compensation policy, bonus are offensive, and you only get promoted if you belong the old boys network.

    Continue reading
    Wellcome Trust2020-01-22
  3. "Organisation with a great mission"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Finance Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wellcome Trust full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent culture and working environment

    Cons

    Very little room for progression - unless someone leaves!

    Wellcome Trust2020-01-05
  4. "Excellent employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - PhD Student 

    I have been working at Wellcome Trust full-time

    Pros

    Competitive stipend, continued support and good programme

    Cons

    None. They have been an excellent funding body.

    Wellcome Trust2019-12-14
  5. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Travel Organizer 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wellcome Trust part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I really love the people attitude, benefits, and culture

    Cons

    i think there are no cons

    Wellcome Trust2019-11-25
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Only a good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Science Advisor in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wellcome Trust full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The Wellcome Trust supports inspiring research which makes a tangible difference to human health. The organisation is well resourced and is able to support bold projects and influence policy at the highest level . There are many talented and dedicated people working across the organisation and lots of activities for staff.

    Cons

    Very corporate for a not-for-profit with a top heavy structure that is reflected in large pay gaps . The organisation continues to invest in fossil fuels despite the clear links to adverse health. Some recruitment is not openly advertised. HR does not do enough to support employees especially in cases of bullying.

    Continue reading
    Wellcome Trust2019-11-03
  7. "Lovely place to work but you won't progress much"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wellcome Trust part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The Wellcome Trust takes great care of its employees and my coworkers were great.

    Cons

    There is nowhere to go career wise and your personal development is non-existent

    Wellcome Trust2019-10-20
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Rewarding work, very poor senior management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Wellcome Trust full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Interesting and rewarding work. Nice offices in central London, smart peers. Good work life balance. Free gym and nice subsidised canteen food.

    Cons

    Patriarchal senior management. Lack of diversity in senior management. Very poor treatment of women and no opportunities for promotion or progression.

    Continue reading
    Wellcome Trust2019-08-16
  9. "Competitive academic research groups, you can learn a lot, but it can also be rather stressful."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graduate Research Assistant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wellcome Trust full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working at the Wellcome Trust Centre for Neuroimaging in Queen's Square for any of the research groups opens a lot of doors. You can learn a lot of technical skills, everyone is striving to be their best. Re additional office perks, there are free coffee machines and biscuits.

    Cons

    Environment can be very stressful, PI's are very competitive with each other and can put pressure on individual group members.

    Continue reading
    Wellcome Trust2019-07-25
  10. "Excellent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Research Assistant 

    I worked at Wellcome Trust full-time

    Pros

    Dynamic Understanding Firm Excellent benefits Honest

    Cons

    Pressure Micro management Slow growth

    Wellcome Trust2019-07-07

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 75 reviews