Western Union Reviews

Updated 20 Jan 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
72%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Western Union President, CEO and Director Hikmet Ersek
Hikmet Ersek
694 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Senior management has a disconnect with employees and their is a lot of politics with the organization due to which department work in Silos(in 36 reviews)

  • "Work/life balance can be a challenge(in 35 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (3)

    "Corporate Global experience"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Internal Audit Senior in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Union full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Multicultural environment at the Global level

    Cons

    I don’t want to answer this question

    Continue reading

    Western Union Response

    March 6, 2020Sr. Communications Coordinator

    We're glad that you love our global and multi-cultural environment, and we thank you for 5+ years of service. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review, and we're glad to have you on our team!

  2. "Really enjoyed working with this team"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Business Development Associate in London, England

    I worked at Western Union full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I worked with a great team of people, and felt a lot of support from the business to both expand my skill set and also adapt to challenges faced by covid

    Cons

    I don't have any complaints it just wasn't the right role for me


  3. Helpful (1)

    "Poor "clicky" management"

    1.0
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Sales 

    I worked at Western Union full-time

    Pros

    If you get a good manager its great.

    Cons

    If you face doesn't fit or you aren't in the "click" then don't expect much

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Face has to fit"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Development Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Western Union full-time

    Pros

    Salary and benefits good holidays

    Cons

    Not friendly office and no atmosphere

    Western Union Response

    January 8, 2021Communications Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are glad you mentioned salary and benefits as pros! We do our best to take care of all our employees by providing competitive salaries and a variety of benefits, along with opportunities to achieve work-life balance. However, we're disappointed to hear about your experience with our work environment, as we strive to foster a diverse and inclusive org culture where all employees receive the utmost support. We take employee feedback seriously, and as we continue to influence positive change in the organization, we will share comments like yours with the appropriate teams.

  5. "Great company"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Western Union full-time

    Pros

    Great environment, good bonus system

    Cons

    Low salary, not many opportunities

    Western Union Response

    October 19, 2020Sr. Communications Coordinator

    Thank you for leaving a review. We're thrilled that you appreciated the work environment and bonus system while you were with Western Union. We strive to foster an environment where employees are fulfilled in their work and are taken care of well through our Global Total Rewards program. However, we're sorry to hear about your experience with compensation and career growth. We do our best to provide competitive compensation packages based on annually reviewed salary market surveys and analysis and allocate opportunities equally based on contributions, skills, and experience. We appreciate feedback from both current and former employees and we will be sure to share it with the appropriate teams to continue driving positive change in the company.

  6. Helpful (4)

    "Awful environment, shoddy management, poor company."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Western Union full-time

    Pros

    Salary, benefits and work-life balance.

    Cons

    An environment that limits connection and creativity, but encourages treachery, deceit, sniping and negative competition amongst its staff. One of the worst environments I'd worked in.

    Continue reading

    Western Union Response

    October 13, 2020Sr. Communications Coordinator

    First, we thank you for 10+ years of hard work at Western Union. We’re pleased that you mentioned salary, benefits, and work-life balance as pros. However, we are sorry to hear about your experience with the work environment. We do our best to foster a culture where employees can collaborate and feel supported with the work they are doing. We understand that management can have a significant impact on our employees, and believe that everyone in our community deserves to be treated with uncompromising trust and respect. We appreciate feedback, and we will share your thoughts with our leadership teams as we continue to drive positive change in our organization.

  7. Helpful (1)

    "Good to start your corp journey"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Key Account Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Western Union full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great colleagues, good salary and benefits

    Cons

    Poor leadership- no direction, strategy changes every few months. A lot of lay offs used as a cost saving initiative. No career development

    Continue reading

    Western Union Response

    September 14, 2020Sr. Communications Coordinator

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We’re glad you mentioned salary, benefits, and work environment as pros to working at Western Union! However, we are sorry to hear about the cons you experienced in terms of leadership, layoffs, and career development. As Western Union is going through a very transformative time, we want all our employees to feel supported as we understand the impact that leadership can have on our employees. Given our globally-minded nature, we are constantly reviewing key considerations for where our jobs should be located and the demand for the roles we need to achieve business results. We also strive to provide opportunities for our employees based on knowledge, skills, and contributions. As we continue to drive positive change in the organization, we will definitely share feedback like yours with the appropriate teams.

  8. "Manager"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Union full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Short hours which means I get to do other things

    Cons

    Early start so trains have to be on time

    Western Union Response

    September 10, 2020Sr. Communications Coordinator

    Thank you for your review! We want all our employees to have fulfilling careers and achieve a healthy work-life balance, and we're glad you are experiencing this. We appreciate your feedback, and we hope you continue to have a positive experience as a #WUEmployee!

  9. "Great company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Peterborough, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Western Union full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good salary package for job, excellent room to grow and develop if you want it and drive. Always feel valued even when during with executive groups. Very friendly atmosphere felt welcome from day 1

    Cons

    Global approval is lengthy but show me a global company that isn't. So all in all none

    Continue reading

    Western Union Response

    July 21, 2020Sr. Communications Coordinator

    Thank you for your 5-star review! We're happy you mentioned compensation, career growth, and our company culture as pros to working at Western Union. We're glad you are having a great time as a #WUEmployee, and we're glad to have you on the team! #WOOTWU

  10. Helpful (1)

    "It’s ok"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Western Union full-time

    Pros

    Great people in the office

    Cons

    Not a team oriented atmosphere

    Western Union Response

    May 7, 2020Senior Communications Coordinator

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We're glad to see that you enjoy working with your fellow employees, and we agree - we have the best people on our team! However, we're sorry you don't feel we have a team-oriented atmosphere. Collaboration is a crucial element to how we work at Western Union. We encourage you to share your thoughts with us through the following avenues - by discussing your experience with your manager, by answering our monthly WU Listens survey, or by emailing us confidentially at careers@westernunion.com.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,297 English Reviews