Whelan Security Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Whelan Security Reviews

Updated 24 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
46%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
Whelan Security CEO Patrick A. Twardowski (no image)
Patrick A. Twardowski
147 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good people all willing to pull their weight and good clients(in 11 reviews)

  • "Easy money, decent pay, guaranteed hours, and plenty of overtime to volunteer for(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "Low pay, no real benefits, & unorganized managment(in 22 reviews)

  • "Upper Management that doesn’t know what they are doing(in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good Job Depending on Job Site"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Security Officer 

    I worked at Whelan Security full-time

    Pros

    good pay (better at some sites than at others)

    Cons

    difficult to find a replacement for a shift

    Whelan Security2019-09-24
  2. "it is now a gardaworld company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Project Manager 

    I have been working at Whelan Security full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    schedules are flexible, and they pay fair.

    Cons

    as with all contractor jobs, the company does as the clients want, which may not all be best for the employee

    Whelan Security2019-09-19
  3. "Best job I ever had"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Supervisor in Trenton, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Whelan Security full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good people all willing to pull their weight and good clients

    Cons

    Pay amount of overtime some odd guidelines

    Whelan Security2019-09-17
  4. "EMS in the security field"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - EMT-B 

    I have been working at Whelan Security full-time

    Pros

    small office, friendly people shift work

    Cons

    no room for growth, unexpected overtime

    Advice to Management

    don't hire family members

    Whelan Security2019-09-10
  5. "Great Entry Level Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Security Officer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Whelan Security full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good Benefits and Pay

    Cons

    Sometimes can be hard work

    Whelan Security2019-08-26
  6. "Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - OIC Officer-in-charge 

    I have been working at Whelan Security full-time

    Pros

    Advancement opportunities are sometimes available.

    Cons

    It was a contracted position so you never know when your job is going to end.

    Whelan Security2019-08-24
  7. "Former Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - General Manager 

    I worked at Whelan Security full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Always an opportunity to work

    Cons

    Corporate culture, weak operations structure

    Whelan Security2019-08-20
  8. "badass"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Security Officer 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Whelan Security part-time

    Pros

    support by management has been great

    Cons

    truck drivers are rude people

    Whelan Security2019-08-17
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Terrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Whelan Security

    Pros

    Tbh I cannot think of a pro, only liked the site I worked at but most of the officers would threaten you.

    Cons

    Low pay, sexist, hires dirty officers, terrible management, zero communication, sexual harassment was reported and that officer wasn’t in trouble and they made me move sites. Officers retaliating, and lying on reports/documents.

    Advice to Management

    Fire everybody in management. Nobody knows their job. Super sexist job. Fire some supervisors because they are dirty and will let other officers literally break the law and cover for them.

    Whelan Security2019-09-21
  10. "Starting Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Officer 
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Whelan Security full-time

    Pros

    Interesting group of people you get to interact with (co-workers, other contractors, etc).

    Cons

    Little room for growth if you’re wanting to move into a management role. High turn-over rate. Management demands respect where respect isn’t deserved. Raises aren’t where they deserve to be.

    Advice to Management

    Learn to treat employees like people, not like animals.

    Whelan Security2019-08-25
Found 357 reviews