Whelan Security Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Whelan Security Reviews

Updated 13 May 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 333 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
52%
Recommend to a Friend
58%
Approve of CEO
Patrick A. Twardowski
141 Ratings
Pros
  • "The Upper level bosses are good people(in 10 reviews)

  • "there are no pros to this company(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "Low pay, no real benefits, & unorganized managment(in 20 reviews)

  • "The company does not really care about their employees upper management is near impossible to contact and if you do they are no help(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "manned lobby and other security posts"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Security Officer in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Whelan Security part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They offer overtime and you work when you want to.

    Cons

    no downside it is a good place to work

    Whelan Security2019-05-12
  2. "Nice Job Security"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Security Officer in Blue Springs, MS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Whelan Security full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    An awesome job within the duties and responsibilities. The company had a great open door policy.

    Cons

    The supervisor would lead you on and on about ideas and promotions but really didn't understand it himself.

    Advice to Management

    Know what the request your asking of is about.

    Whelan Security2019-05-10
  3. "This is an "Ok" Entry level Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Security Officer 

      I worked at Whelan Security full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      There are managers that care about the employees.

      Cons

      The company doesn't promote growth.

      Whelan Security2019-05-13
    • "High Turnover Rate"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Dispatcher in Detroit, MI
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Whelan Security full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      There really wasn't many Pro's. The only Pro is your own integrity towards your position and performance.

      Cons

      There is a very High Turnover Rate. They constantly expect more from their employees without giving more compensation. Raises were not given in respect for more work and definitely are not given upon merit. I received one raise in four years and it was $.15 given across the board. This company has been sold to GardaWorld....

      Advice to Management

      It never mattered what advise was given to management. It always fell upon deaf ears.

      Whelan Security2019-05-03
    • "Whelan treated me well"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Site Manager in Champaign, IL
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Whelan Security full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      I had absolutely no problems with upper management. The Chicago branch and Kentucky branches always met the needs I had.

      Cons

      At times went cheap on uniforms. Pants constantly had seams popping out. Tend to charge clients too much and lose contracts.

      Advice to Management

      Conduct more site visits. Especially in remote areas. Employees can’t be made to feel like they are not important. More training for supervisors.

      Whelan Security2019-04-15
    • "Great pay for college student"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Corvallis, OR

      I worked at Whelan Security part-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      great pay for students team member were awesome and managers were very helpful

      Cons

      short breaks usually was called to see if I can come in to work three day prior event

      Whelan Security2019-03-15
    • "Awesome workplace"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Security Guard in Irving, TX
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Whelan Security part-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      management staff are very helpful

      Cons

      They need to improve on their wages

      Whelan Security2019-03-04
    • "The wost company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Event Staff/Security in Minneapolis, MN
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Whelan Security full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Free lunch event staff locations that u can work

      Cons

      disrespect of employees not enough hours didn't offer insurance uniforms cant keep even if u working next day

      Advice to Management

      Management needs be redone they management at Us Bank stadium and Minneapolis Convention Center need to be fired and find new people that know how to treat the employees.

      Whelan Security2019-04-09
    • "Awesome Events"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Security in Minneapolis, MN
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Whelan Security part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great events Nice people to work with most of the time. Fun atmosphere

      Cons

      Can be cold outside Long shifts Usually standing in one spot for a long period of time.

      Whelan Security2019-02-27
    • "Mediocre, but stable"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, TX
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Whelan Security full-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      Secure job, that's pretty much it.

      Cons

      Poor pay and few options for changing your location.

      Whelan Security2019-02-25
    Found 333 reviews