Wiley "senior management" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Wiley Employee Reviews about "senior management"

Updated 19 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
52%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Wiley President and Chief Executive Officer 	Brian Napack (no image)
Brian Napack
141 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Admissions Upper Management is unapproachable(in 40 reviews)

  • "Employee loyalty is thrown out of the window, low pay, predictable and no room for growth(in 26 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "senior management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (5)

    "Still the best job I have had, but..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Publisher in Oxford, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wiley full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Wonderful colleagues. Outstanding opportunities for entrepreneurship - in my case shaping a successful publishing programme. Great place to learn on the job and from others.

    Cons

    Senior management very poor unfortunately. A total lack of understanding of what makes the publishing business profitable now and will do so in the future (content!). Business basics jettisoned in favour of advice from consultants whose closest equivalents are possibly the quack doctors of the past. IT infrastructure completely inadequate.

    Continue reading
    Wiley2019-10-18

    Wiley Response

    November 12, 2019Director

    Couldn't agree more that Wiley colleagues are among the most wonderful aspects of the company! Thanks so much for the feedback and please know that we take everything posted here to heart.

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (9)

    "Pleasant colleagues, poor direction and company strategy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Oxford, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Wiley full-time

    Pros

    genuinely pleasant place to work, very few people you'd rather not spend time with.

    Cons

    Very poor strategy and execution - under investment in key areas Poor decision making in senior management, avoidance of decision making leads to too many things undertaken and not much progress made. Salaries are not market rate, HR are extremely inflexible in this regard Career progression limited

    Continue reading
    Wiley2014-08-28
  3. Helpful (14)

    "TOXIC IT LEADERSHIP TERRIBLE SENIOR MANAGEMENT OVERALL"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Manager in Hoboken, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Wiley full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Generous Paid Time Off (if you can use it). Not much else.

    Cons

    1) Open office Environment that is noisy and difficult to conduct conversations/lack of privacy. 2) Toxic IT Senior Management - at Wiley the CTO and CIO roles are reversed and current CTO is an intolerant, know-it-all bully whose management style is based on fear, denigration and personal attacks. 3) IT Vendor Management constantly interferes and sabotages the efforts of the Technology Sourcing team in its relations with vendors, prior to, during and after negotiations. 4) Very politically correct and leftist in ts HR policies. Those who speak up in ways that violates the company's corporate GROUP-THINK policies and philosophies are slammed with disciplinary write-ups and threats of termination. It's educational publishing and much like the higher education institutions it sells into, the corporate mindset is hostile to people of a conservative persuasion. Millennials and their half-baked ideas are embraced; older, more experienced staff who are conservative are chastised, criticized, labeled, maligned. 5) Lack of flexibility in remote work arrangements, especially in Technology Sourcing. Extremely poor leadership by senior Procurement Management - they do not defend their people or "have their backs." If anything, senior management is all too willing to throw their people to the wolves. 6) Too many systems that don't work well. The ARIBA Sourcing & Procurement system is too cumbersome. As a result, too many people attempt work-arounds which further complicates issues with vendors to include prompt payments, PO invoicing, receipt of good & services.

    Continue reading
    Wiley2019-11-19
  4. Helpful (9)

    "RUN, DON'T WALK, AWAY FROM THIS DYSFUNCTIONAL CYCLONE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Wiley full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I wish I could list several Pros, but I cannot. A small percentage of the people are nice, the building location is great, that's about it.

    Cons

    Wouldn't even know where to start. CEO is a psycho. Senior management team is either completely inefficient or too beat down to stand up to anyone. People walk around stressed to their limits like zombies. Management is immature, holds grudges, allows poor behavior to linger throughout the organization, allows toxic people to stay and poison the rest of the employees. No one knows what they are doing. Zero communication. Zero trust among management or employees. Everyone is expecting someone else to stab them in their back and usually it happens! Toxic environment led by a narcissist who for some reason has been allowed to run loose in the organization. Everyone is afraid of him. Forget collaboration, forget developing the team - it's every man for himself at this dysfunctional insane asylum. RUN AWAY

    Continue reading
    Wiley2019-10-23
  5. Helpful (4)

    "hope it improves"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wiley full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Respected product, many good people, a strength was their great culture

    Cons

    constant re-structure without seeing results of the last change, senior management, inside systems

    Wiley2019-08-01

    Wiley Response

    August 7, 2019Director

    Thanks for the honest review. Times industry change are often fraught with uncertainty and, unfortunately, Wiley isn't immune to those sort of industry-wide situations. Hopefully you're weathering that change well regardless of your situation at Wiley or elsewhere.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (11)

    "Terrible upper mgt"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager in Hoboken, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Wiley full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Nice co workers creates a supportive environment

    Cons

    No mobility. Terrible senior management

    Continue reading
    Wiley2019-05-31

    Wiley Response

    June 12, 2019Director

    Thanks for the feedback. Please know that there is no tolerance for lies and deception at any level in a professional workplace - especially at Wiley, where the pursuit of knowledge, education, and truth are a core part of our business. If you suspect unfair or unethical behavior is taking place please report it to your manager or HR business partner immediately.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (11)

    "Very bad management of wiley india under vikas gupta and other people in management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Lead in Noida
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Wiley full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    global company so you can get an opportunity to work with people from different countries.

    Cons

    Very badly managed company and very corrupt organization. The management treats the employees like slaves and never listens to their problems. They put pressure to perform but will not give you any support. The management does a lot of partiality and the those who are close to the MD Vikas Gupta only get the benefits and every one else is treated like a slave. Vikas Gupta also gets a lot of unethical things done by people close to him using his power and position in wiley india and those who support him get the appraisal and benefits and advantage. there is no value for hard work and talent and you can be asked to leave without giving any reason if you don't cooperate. The MD Vikas Gupta and few other senior management is also facing sexual harassment charge from an employee but still they don't behave properly. All the top management works with the MD Vikas Gupta to exploit the organization through corrupt practices.

    Continue reading
    Wiley2019-05-21

    Wiley Response

    June 23, 2019Director

    We are sorry to see that you are not having as positive of experience as you hoped at Wiley. For other viewers of Glassdoor, please note that the reviewer’s claims were taken quite seriously. Wiley went through a thorough investigation process including an industrial tribunal and review by an independent committee. The duly constituted panel found that these allegations were not supported by credible evidence. Our HR executives managed the situation well and acted appropriately. We remain committed to creating an environment of respect and dignity toward each other and ensuring we all adhere to our standards for business and social conduct.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Wiley takes personal development seriously"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wiley full-time

    Pros

    Solid & sustainable employer. Good business results over a long period of time - stable performer People count: good investments in onboarding & personal development Continuous communication about results and changes

    Cons

    Quite a few senior management changes in the past few years Limited synergy between the different business entities

    Continue reading
    Wiley2018-05-02

    Wiley Response

    May 7, 2018Director

    We do take personal development seriously! If you succeed than we all succeed! Thanks for the review and advice!

    Continue reading
  9. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wiley full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    -Great benefits, -Good pay rates -Fun & challenging work environment -Love my manager and my team

    Cons

    There has been a lot of turnover and a lot of uncertainty lately. Senior management doesn't seem to care about the employees.

    Continue reading
    Wiley2018-04-26

    Wiley Response

    April 27, 2018Director

    Team dynamics are vitally important and we do our best to promote teamwork and collaboration throughout the company so thanks for calling that our in your review. Part of having a good team is developing the ability to listen and you're 100% correct that we should be listening to everyone. Hopefully things like the new intranet and tools like Yammer help in that direction. Thanks!

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Difficulty navigating the changing waters"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Wiley full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great colleagues, most immediate managers care about work/life balance

    Cons

    Losing its sense of identity, Wiley family really not involved currently, senior management seems to be changing course monthly

    Continue reading
    Wiley2017-01-16
Found 26 reviews