Willamette Dental Group Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Willamette Dental Group Reviews

Updated 10 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 213 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
66%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Willamette Dental Group CEO Eugene Skourtes (no image)
Eugene Skourtes
161 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits and wonderful people to work with(in 27 reviews)

  • "Good benefits, Vacation time, Opportunity to grow(in 23 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours, limited professional autonomy, micromanagement(in 13 reviews)

  • "Overworked dentists and hygentists - noncompetes make it hard to leave(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "WDG"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dental Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Willamette Dental Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, good pay. Good employer

    Cons

    Horrible scrubs long hours

    Willamette Dental Group2019-08-29
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Willamette Dental Group

    Pros

    Great support, great teams, benfits are outstanding

    Cons

    Long days but its only 4 days a week

    Willamette Dental Group2019-08-09
  3. "Haven for lazy, incompetent, con-artist office managers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Lead PSR 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Willamette Dental Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good insurance benefits, fun yearly company party

    Cons

    I second this review: Very poor management. Ignore office bullying and harassment. Micro manage the hard working employees and reward the lazy, incompetent employees. Employees are afraid to speak up as they will be reprimanded, given warnings or let go. I have never seen anything like this. In summary, it was like working with Mr. Hart in the movie 9 to 5.

    Willamette Dental Group2019-09-10
  4. "Good insurance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Registered Dental Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Willamette Dental Group full-time

    Pros

    Flexible schedules and good benefits, get to help people

    Cons

    burnout, depends on office but some offices with micromanagement

    Willamette Dental Group2019-08-20
  5. "Amazing company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dental Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Willamette Dental Group part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits and wonderful people to work with!

    Cons

    Starting wage may be low.

    Willamette Dental Group2019-06-20
  6. "Insurance company first, dental company 2nd."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dentist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Willamette Dental Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    benefits, 4 day work weeks, employee engagement

    Cons

    Long hours, micromanagement, dishonesty, outdated equipment and practices, and lack of clinical autonomy. Being clinically conservative is masked as being good for the patient but in reality it is because it is a self HMO plan provider. It is really about keeping as much of the money from the insurance side as possible and not have to provide treatment. Ultra conservative to the point where they try to stop you... from doing procedures until too late to fix or you have to do compromised patchwork. They have a dollar amount goal of how little you are supposed to do per patient.

    Show More
    Willamette Dental Group2019-07-25
  7. Helpful (3)

    "A permanent stain on your resume"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Dentist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Willamette Dental Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, PTO, and a clinically focused role.

    Cons

    Impossibly full schedules, micromanagement, unattainable performance metrics, contracts built to force retention, legacy focused CEO/owner, limited scope of practice, low tech equipment, and a tendency to fire anyone who dares to ask tough questions or make suggestions. As the rest of the profession moves towards digital dentistry, implant restorations, hybrid dentures, same day restorations, etc. you will get... really good at SDF, protective restorations, telling people their wisdom teeth should stay until they really hurt, denying specialty services, and limiting access to routine cleanings. The icing on the cake is a limited ability to contribute to your 401K due to being a highly compensated employee at a business where they don't pay enough for anyone else to make contributions.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be honest when recruiting and work on retention like your future depends on it.

    Willamette Dental Group2019-05-24
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Good benefits and pay!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Richland, WA
    Recommends

    I have been working at Willamette Dental Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, great pay! Time off is nice! The company philosophy is great!

    Cons

    Working Saturdays and not being able to flex your schedule

    Advice to Management

    Let us flex our schedules a little more so we can be there for our families and childrens' sports events!

    Willamette Dental Group2019-05-01
  9. Helpful (1)

    "It’s an insurance company first"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Dentist in Cascadia, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Willamette Dental Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits, paid time off, predictable work in competitive markets

    Cons

    Long hours, limited professional autonomy, micromanagement. The insurance is the income, dentistry is an expense.

    Advice to Management

    Be flexible and modernize your workplace environment and culture

    Willamette Dental Group2019-05-07

    Willamette Dental Group Response

    May 16, 2019Manager of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your feedback and we’re sorry to hear that you didn’t have the autonomy you were seeking. With more than 500,000 members and 52 practices we strive to provide continuity of care to all our patients through evidence based dentistry.

  10. Helpful (1)

    "Don’t ruin your resume"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Keeping Quiet in Richland, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Willamette Dental Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The company has a great philosophy and I love the patients and most staff. Amazing Doctors.

    Cons

    Very poor management. Ignore office bullying and harassment. Micro manage the hard working employees and reward the lazy, incompetent employees. Employees are afraid to speak up as they will be reprimanded, given warnings or let go. I have never seen anything like this. Long hours and brutal schedules. Quality of care is questionable.

    Advice to Management

    Only way it would change is to remove and replace management. Harsh but needed.

    Willamette Dental Group2019-05-27
Found 213 reviews