William Grant & Sons Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

William Grant & Sons Reviews

Updated 23 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
81%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
William Grant & Sons Chief Executive Simon Hunt
Simon Hunt
27 Ratings
  1. "Marvellous People Throughout the Business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Team LEader in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at William Grant & Sons full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good rewards in terms of salary and conditions - bonus scheme is a bit of a joke and pays out less than half on occasion despite record breaking growth. Great mix of plc / private culture and growing quickly. Much stronger development and growth in the Brands business but Operations becoming stagnant.

    Cons

    Lack of opportunity at Senior Leader level as too many protecting their final salary pensions - a lot in the same position they were when the business was small and that causes a glass ceiling for others which is effectively why I left the business after 6 years despite loving my job.

    Continue reading
    William Grant & Sons2018-04-08
  2. "Broadly positive, a fun place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Marketing Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at William Grant & Sons

    Pros

    I know I can make a difference. The company has retained an entrepreneurial angle and the subject matter keeps it fun.

    Cons

    As a private company I know I can never have any skin in the game. The opportunity to build options elsewhere may eventually be more valuable than the benefit of a family business

    William Grant & Sons2017-09-17
  3. "Graduate engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at William Grant & Sons full-time

    Pros

    Love feeling like part of a real family team. So many great development opportunities with the company and great experience building.

    Cons

    Sometimes thrown right in the deepens with small teams so resources thin.

    William Grant & Sons2017-09-05
  4. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at William Grant & Sons full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great team of people and incredible brands. People genuinely support each other and there is a continuous effort to improve on all fronts as the company grows. A hard working, fun culture. With a "let's get things done together" mentality in which you can really make a difference and have an impact in the work you do. The current management recognise this and seems to be working hard to protect and build on it.

    Cons

    Some growing pains as the company moves from being a small business with fewer people and processs to a larger one which needs the structures, processes and ways of working to maintain growth which keeping its culture.

    William Grant & Sons2017-08-23
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Global Brand Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Richmond, London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at William Grant & Sons

    Pros

    Flexible working, high entrepreneurial approach enables people empowerment. In general innovation at the heart of marketers and across all function it is possible to appreciate a tangible and high commitment .

    Cons

    There is currently a somewhat lack of clear processes and the organization is quite fluid due to exceptional growth rates in the recent past.

    Continue reading
    William Grant & Sons2017-03-02
  6. "Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     in Johnstone, Scotland

    I have been working at William Grant & Sons for more than a year

    Pros

    Rewarded for working hard at work

    Cons

    Could do with more strategic direction

    William Grant & Sons2016-10-25
  7. "Best job I've ever had!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Dufftown, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at William Grant & Sons

    Pros

    Amazing team and staff members. Managers take notice of you when they walk through your department. They also pay a living wage not the minimum wage so its usually £2 more an hour for seasonal workers. Would love to work here permanently.

    Cons

    Nothing major. Maybe a staff canteen would be worthwhile.

    William Grant & Sons2016-08-30
  8. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at William Grant & Sons full-time

    Pros

    Really good company to work for and great benefits

    Cons

    There really aren't any cons

    William Grant & Sons2016-05-25
  9. "Engineer Intern at Dufftown"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at William Grant & Sons

    Pros

    Friendly workplace, very interesting work site up in Scotland, the experience was valuable and has served me well. Pay was good.

    Cons

    Very far from anything except itself, projects require individual effort to remain interesting and more budget required to try new ideas.

    Continue reading
    William Grant & Sons2016-01-26
  10. Helpful (1)

    "The worst place i have ever worked in my life."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Maintenance Technician in Girvan, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at William Grant & Sons full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It was near where I lived .It has service recognition benefits and private health care. They supply you with good quality work clothes.

    Cons

    No real worth seen in workers by management team A sad reflection on place that was once known in the area as good family run employer .Not a happy place.

    Continue reading
    William Grant & Sons2016-02-13
Found 77 reviews