Wiltshire Council Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Wiltshire Council Reviews

Updated 13 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
86%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Wiltshire Council CEO Philip Whitehead  (no image)
Philip Whitehead
3 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible working, having every bank holiday and 30 days holiday a year are all also huge benefits(in 24 reviews)

  • "The ability to work from home, and flexible working means a better work-life balance(in 13 reviews)

Cons
  • "(in 6 reviews)

  • "Restructures happened every 2-3 years(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "It's worth getting out of bed for..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Manager in Trowbridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wiltshire Council full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I absolutley love working for Wiltshire Council not only is everyone really friendly and approachable (even senior management!) I am encouraged by my manager to continuously look at ways I can development and further myself. The council encourages you to develop transferable skills allowing you to apply for roles beyond the particular service you work for and reach your full potential. There are many... qualifications and in-house courses you can take on/attend. I also love the fact that all the services we provide are for the public and although not everyone may agree we really do have the community at the heart of everything we do! Flexible working, having every bank holiday and 30 days holiday a year are all also huge benefits!

    Show More

    Cons

    Sometimes parking can be an issue and whilst the council have provided frontline staff with guaranteed priority parking, it would be great to see how the issue will be overcome as it will only get worse.

    Wiltshire Council2019-09-13
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Fantastic place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Strategic Delivery Officer in Trowbridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Wiltshire Council full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    development opportunities, flexible working, supportive to employees, great colleagues, secondments and personally I have had some great managers

    Cons

    nothing stands out as a con

    Wiltshire Council2019-08-29
  3. "LOVE where I work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in Trowbridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wiltshire Council full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great benefits Career progression Learning and development opportunities Internal engagement is a key focus Supportive management

    Cons

    Parking can sometimes be tricky

    Wiltshire Council2019-09-02
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great people and benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Council Officer 

    I have been working at Wiltshire Council full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    As an organisation what we achieve, often in difficult circumstances is really impressive. I'm lucky to work with really talented people and most people seem to really enjoy what they do. Benefits like the holiday package, pension and flexible working are massive plusses too.

    Cons

    Funding reductions do not make things easy.

    Wiltshire Council2019-08-29
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Good benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Marketing Apprentice in Trowbridge, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Wiltshire Council full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Employee recognition & voice system EPIC means improvements are frequently being made to improve engagement. -The ability to work from home, and flexible working means a better work-life balance -Wiltshire Rewards -Supportive managers, and team

    Cons

    -Hot desking can be difficult as there isn't always desks available to dock -The relationship between the 3 different hubs isn't always positive as most activity occurs at Trowbridge

    Advice to Management

    Encouraging more team activities to build collaboration and working relationships

    Wiltshire Council2019-08-28
  6. "Easily forgotten"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrator in Trowbridge, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Wiltshire Council full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexi hours, work from home, local benefits

    Cons

    Constant restructuring, too many accidental managers, each department seems to have different rules, lots of tick boxes exercises rather to make it look like the staff are looked after, lack of progression unless you know certain people or you are news worthy (Ie apprentice)

    Advice to Management

    Get every department on the same page, have someone in place that employees can go to for advice and clarification without going through managers.

    Wiltshire Council2019-08-26
  7. "As good as the manager you have"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Office Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wiltshire Council full-time

    Pros

    Flexible working and treated like adults

    Cons

    Lack of promotion/ reward opportunities

    Wiltshire Council2019-08-22
  8. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Support 

    I have been working at Wiltshire Council full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good staff, nice offices, good organisation

    Cons

    No room for progression

    Wiltshire Council2019-06-12
  9. "Locum SW"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Wiltshire Council for less than a year

    Pros

    Supportive team, approachable managers, flexible working

    Cons

    Pay is not great if working in a perm job

    Wiltshire Council2019-03-05
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Licensing Officer in Trowbridge, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Wiltshire Council full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible working hours and locations. great management,

    Cons

    Due to having to legislate the pay could be higher

    Advice to Management

    Great place to work!

    Wiltshire Council2018-10-14
Found 67 reviews