Wiltshire Council Reviews

Updated Jan 26, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 102 of over 110 reviews

4.1
90%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Wiltshire Council Leader Philip Whitehead  (no image)
Philip Whitehead
15 Ratings
Pros
  • "Variety of case loads flexible working exposure to quality work(in 31 reviews)

  • "I absolutley love working for Wiltshire Council not only is everyone really friendly and approachable (even senior management(in 14 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "There are not many downsides at all to working with Wiltshire Council, not that I can see(in 6 reviews)

  • "Bourne hill office has no eating facilities, Trowbridge and Chippenham do(in 4 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great opportunities and friendly staff

      Jan 19, 2022 - Marketing Apprentice 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Friendly staff Flexi working - being able to work from home lets me take my dogs for a walk on my break Being able to carry out my apprenticeship through Wiltshire Council gives me skills, knowledge and experience

      Cons

      Working from home due to Covid-19 restrictions means less team interaction

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Wiltshire Council Response

      Employee Experience

      Thank you for the review, It's really helpful to know!

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      I have been working at Wiltshire Council for 5 months

      Jan 18, 2022 - Marketing Apprentice in Trowbridge, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Flexible working - Team and management support - Doing my apprenticeship as it allows me to learn and gain new skills at the same time - Lovely colleagues - Career opportunities - Everyone is happy to help you

      Cons

      - Not being able to be in the office as much because of the pandemic

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Lovely job

      Jan 26, 2022 - Library Assistant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people to work with

      Cons

      Short shifts over several days in the week

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Flexible working, 9 day fortnight, approachable management and training opportunities

      Jan 6, 2022 - Children Social Worker in Devizes, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible working - especially being a single parent, 10% market supplement for safeguarding team, brilliant admin team to support, 9-day fortnight, reflective and regular supervision, child-focused processes, supportive team ,experienced and consistent management, emphasis on training and CPD

      Cons

      The Pandemic and not being in the office as much to see my colleagues face to face

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Wiltshire Council Response

      Thank you for your review. We love to hear a positive experience!

    5. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Bullying culture

      Jan 21, 2022 - Social Worker in Salisbury, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pension, colleagues, free flu shot

      Cons

      Bullying pushy demanding unhelpful management

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Busy and stressful at times

      Jan 13, 2022 - Administrative Officer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Interesting and varied work School holidays

      Cons

      Lack of strong leadership High staff sickness making it harder for others No career advancement opportunities Parents becoming more difficult and demanding. Dealing with Covid has been very difficult with the amount of paperwork etc and the last minute instructions from government. Some parents have been understanding, some haven’t.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great People

      Dec 23, 2021 - Associate HRBP 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I've worked with Wilts for a year and my impression has been very positive and that's mainly because of the wonderful people. Across the business there are some genuinely lovely folk that really care, particularly in HR. The scope of work was varied and challenging and I feel I grew a lot in the year with them. It was a tough decision to leave.

      Cons

      Nothing of particular note, sometimes it's bureaucratic but that's part of working in local government.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Wiltshire Council Response

      Employee Experience

      Thank you for your review, it's good to hear you had a positive experience. Sorry to hear you are leaving, all the very best for your future.

    8. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Unprofessional organisation

      Jan 23, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Only stayed for as long as I did as the pay was good

      Cons

      Management shockingly rude and think they are a cut above the rest, definitely an us and them and they let you know that! Dated ideas and unless the idea came from a manager it’s not given consideration. High rates of sickness. Very brain washed organisation which was an eye opener. Trouble making young team leaders who tell tales to climb the ladder and team leaders who are unable to manage due to a lack of experience. Most unhappiest place I have worked, undervalued,disrespected,not listened to, bad culture no inclusion and inappropriate relationships.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great people, working together to make a difference

      Dec 3, 2021 - Marketing 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people, really varied work, you get to make a difference and there's a really good benefits package too.

      Cons

      Funding cuts do make things more challenging

      1 person found this review helpful

      Wiltshire Council Response

      Resource Advisor

      Sounds like you're enjoying making a difference!

    10. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Excellent Employer

      Nov 24, 2021 - Recruitment Consultant in Chippenham, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A job that fits around your life, not your life having to fit around your job! Truly flexible working. Great training and career development. Fantastic team

      Cons

      There are no cons that I have seen so far

      2 people found this review helpful

      Wiltshire Council Response

      Employee Experience

      "A job that fits around your life, not your life having to fit around your job!" - lovely to hear, thank you for your review.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 102 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Wiltshire Council Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Wiltshire Council? Share Your Experiences

    Wiltshire Council logo
    or