Wiltshire Council Employee Reviews about "flexible working"

Updated Nov 16, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 27 of over 96 reviews

4.0
83%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Wiltshire Council Leader Philip Whitehead  (no image)
Philip Whitehead
9 Ratings
Pros
  • "Benefits like the holiday package, pension and flexible working are massive plusses too(in 25 reviews)

  • "The ability to work from home, and flexible working means a better work-life balance(in 13 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "hot desking(in 6 reviews)

  • "Restructures happened every 2-3 years(in 5 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "flexible working"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      It's worth getting out of bed for...

      Sep 13, 2019 - Team Manager in Trowbridge, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I absolutley love working for Wiltshire Council not only is everyone really friendly and approachable (even senior management!) I am encouraged by my manager to continuously look at ways I can development and further myself. The council encourages you to develop transferable skills allowing you to apply for roles beyond the particular service you work for and reach your full potential. There are many qualifications and in-house courses you can take on/attend. I also love the fact that all the services we provide are for the public and although not everyone may agree we really do have the community at the heart of everything we do! Flexible working, having every bank holiday and 30 days holiday a year are all also huge benefits!

      Cons

      Sometimes parking can be an issue and whilst the council have provided frontline staff with guaranteed priority parking, it would be great to see how the issue will be overcome as it will only get worse.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Fantastic place to work

      Aug 29, 2019 - Strategic Delivery Officer in Trowbridge, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      development opportunities, flexible working, supportive to employees, great colleagues, secondments and personally I have had some great managers

      Cons

      nothing stands out as a con

      2 people found this review helpful

      Wiltshire Council Response

      Resource Advisor

      Thank you for your review!

    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Good benefits

      Aug 28, 2019 - Digital Marketing Apprentice in Trowbridge, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Employee recognition & voice system EPIC means improvements are frequently being made to improve engagement. -The ability to work from home, and flexible working means a better work-life balance -Wiltshire Rewards -Supportive managers, and team

      Cons

      -Hot desking can be difficult as there isn't always desks available to dock -The relationship between the 3 different hubs isn't always positive as most activity occurs at Trowbridge

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Wiltshire Council Response

      Resource Advisor

      Thank you for your review, great idea about the team activities!

    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great people and benefits

      Aug 29, 2019 - Council Officer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      As an organisation what we achieve, often in difficult circumstances is really impressive. I'm lucky to work with really talented people and most people seem to really enjoy what they do. Benefits like the holiday package, pension and flexible working are massive plusses too.

      Cons

      Funding reductions do not make things easy.

      1 person found this review helpful

      Wiltshire Council Response

      Resource Advisor

      Thank you for your review.

    5. 3.0
      Former Employee

      As good as the manager you have

      Aug 22, 2019 - Office Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible working and treated like adults

      Cons

      Lack of promotion/ reward opportunities

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Current Contractor, less than 1 year

      Locum SW

      Mar 5, 2019 - Anonymous Contractor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Supportive team, approachable managers, flexible working

      Cons

      Pay is not great if working in a perm job

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great

      Oct 14, 2018 - Licensing Officer in Trowbridge, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible working hours and locations. great management,

      Cons

      Due to having to legislate the pay could be higher

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Wiltshire Council Response

      Resource Advisor

      Thank you for your review, and I'm glad you enjoy the flexible working!

    8. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Good place to work

      Oct 9, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Offers good flexible working conditions.

      Cons

      Restructures happened every 2-3 years.

      1 person found this review helpful

      Wiltshire Council Response

      Resource Advisor

      Thank you for your review!

    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Love working at Wiltshire

      Aug 16, 2018 - Technical Lead in Trowbridge, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible working, career progression for those who seek it and qualification courses to help you move up.

      Cons

      Parking, but flexible working around the county helps alot.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Wiltshire Council Response

      Resource Advisor

      Thank you for your review!

    10. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Lack of Team

      Feb 11, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Trowbridge, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible working at home or local hubs. Ability to negotiate part-time hours to suit personal circumstances. Allowed to get on with jobs without being micro-managed

      Cons

      Reorganisations Less specialists, more generalists Under staffed Lack of incentives Lack of pay rises No team feeling Hot desking Lack of training and support after restructuring

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Wiltshire Council Response

      Resource Advisor

      Thank you for your review, and I'm glad you're enjoying the flexible working and what sounds like an effective manager who supports you to 'get on with things'. Many of the Cons you've mentioned are unfortunately the result of needing to focus on delivering services in an environment of the increasing financial challenges, something all local government organisations are experiencing. I'd be really keen to hear some of your ideas for any ways to improve them, and especially in developing a team spirit, as this is something we are working with the #EPIC staff engagement group, please get in touch james.kent@wiltshire.gov.uk or put your ideas on EPIC ideas so we can keep improving things.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 27 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Wiltshire Council Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Wiltshire Council? Share Your Experiences

    Wiltshire Council logo
    or