Wolseley UK Branch Supervisor Reviews

Updated Jun 21, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 26 of over 237 reviews

3.5
76%
Recommend to a Friend
47%
Approve of CEO
Wolseley UK Chief Executive Officer  Simon Oakland
Simon Oakland
6 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great teamworking company

    Jun 21, 2022 - Assistant Branch Manager in Warwick, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Dedicated to customer service with lots of support to get the right things to customers at the right time. Fantastic online services.

    Cons

    Nothing everything is perfect but everyone pulls together.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Wolseley UK Response

    Employee Engagement Partner

    Hi there, Wow - five stars! We'll most definitely take that as a positive! We absolutely agree that providing best-in-class customer service is something we are 100% dedicated to. Our brand-new company values (which we're sure you'll have seen) serve to reinforce this further still. We're also really pleased to learn that you feel you receive the right support to help you serve our customers in the best possible way. Please also be assured that we'll never rest on our laurels and are always striving to improve, so please continue to share your feedback (good and bad!) through our internal channels, and through our anonymous engagement surveys. We genuinely do read every single comment, and this helps to shape how we operate moving forward. Kind regards, WUK Engagement Team

  2. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Not bad

    May 13, 2022 - Branch Manager in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Excellent systems for customers makes role easier with good background support.

    Cons

    Cut throat and don't allow much time for performance of business

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Wolseley UK Response

    Employee Engagement Partner

    Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to review your experiences with us. We're glad you liked our systems and that you felt they were conducive to efficient working - this is really encouraging to learn! We welcome all constructive feedback and will also take the less impressive aspects on board too. Kind regards, WUK Engagement Team

  3. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Branch Manager

    Apr 27, 2022 - Branch Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good team in branch to work with.

    Cons

    Head office and senior management detached from what is happening at the branch level.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Wolseley UK Response

    Employee Engagement Partner

    Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We’re pleased to learn that you enjoyed the cultural aspects of life at Wolseley – it’s a bit part of what we are. Regarding your comments on management structure and those in support service roles; the way in which managers, branch teams and support teams work together is something we are actively seeking to improve, having carried out recent research into how we can collaborate better. We know this is something we can get better at and so that is what we’re aiming to do. Thanks again for your feedback! Kind regards, WUK Engagement Team

  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Best out of a bad bunch

    Feb 10, 2022 - Branch Supervisor in Birmingham, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great knowledge experience, often good laughs, great team

    Cons

    Long days, understaffed, stressful & tiring

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Wolseley UK Response

    Employee Engagement Partner

    Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We're pleased to see that you enjoy working within your team - workplace culture is very important to us. However, we are disappointed to note that you feel your job can be stressful. As per our recent employee engagement survey, we are continuing to explore ways to make life easier for our employees in a way that safeguards the viability of our business. Kind regards, WUK Engagement Team

  5. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Enjoyable career

    Feb 1, 2022 - Branch Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Company trust you to get on with your job. Not micromanaged.

    Cons

    Salary can take a long time to increase.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Wolseley UK Response

    Employee Engagement Partner

    Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. It's really great that you feel empowered to take the initiative in your role - after all, no one wants to feel as though they're being micromanaged! Our pay structure is under regular review, but these things do take time to get right unfortunately. Kind regards, WUK Engagement Team

  6. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great when you do everything

    Dec 22, 2021 - Branch Supervisor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good wage, good hours, great customers

    Cons

    The hr department are useless, I put a complaint in regarding my boss which was then not dealt with on the day so of my boss. My then boss and the other employee made my life hell and made complaints about me to hr that lead to my dismissal because two people against one person

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Great Company

    Sep 13, 2021 - Branch Manager in London, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very supportive and Pension and Benefits

    Cons

    Historically LT changed a lot and area managers changed

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Wolseley UK Response

    Employee Engagement Partner

    Five stars! We will take that as a compliment :) - thank you! While it's nice to receive such a positive review, we are still striving improve - and once again you will have your opportunity to air your views on how we do that with our next engagement survey coming up before the end of the year. Many thanks, WUK Employee Engagement Team

  8. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Tight payroll

    Sep 7, 2021 - Branch Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great colleagues, good pay, lone manager

    Cons

    Low staffing budgets, blame culture rather than fix the problem. Very little support

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Wolseley UK Response

    Employee Engagement Partner

    Hi there, Thanks for leaving us a review! While it's great to note that you're happy with your pay and enjoy a good relationship with your colleagues, we are of course aware that there is always room for improvement, and this is something we are constantly striving to do. If you haven't already, please raise the concerns mentioned above with your Area Manager and/or your Colleague Forum Rep - as we certainly do not want our colleagues feeling under-supported or subject to undue blame. Many thanks, WUK Employee Engagement Team

  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    The best

    May 8, 2021 - Branch Manager in London, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great place to work People in the team are the best Good training coming into the branches

    Cons

    People have been here a long time so expect a lot News from the area managers is bad

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Wolseley UK Response

    Head of Talent Acquisition

    Cor blimey, what a lovely review. Ta! And thanks for the feedback around ensuring voices are heard, we hear you! Our Colleague Forum is really gathering pace, with over 150 colleagues now having regular meetings with members of the Leadership Team and discussing everything from strategy to long service awards, so please keep feeding in to your forum rep as it's having a really positive impact across our business and making our decision making stronger!

  10. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    If you value a work life balance don't bother.

    Mar 4, 2021 - Branch Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Met some under appreciated staff who were faultless but misled.

    Cons

    Too many chiefs not enough Indians. Old man's club hierarchy Arcaic approach to business Dillusions of grandeur. Obseen and unrealistic expectations of Staff No support. Blame culture.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    Wolseley UK Response

    Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback, and we're sorry that your experience wasn't a positive one. It'd be great if you could get in touch via our corporate website as there might be some insights from your time with us that we could learn from. For our part, we do try and foster a entrepreneurial approach with our branch managers and have many very successful branches ran within that spirit and that are performing well (and are happy) as a result, with our average tenure and time in post way ahead of the average in the sector. With that said, we're still a large corporate, with competing priorities all over our business, and we make no apologies for managing things like resourcing and workforce numbers closely - it's the responsible thing to do, particularly over recent times as we've battled with the trading conditions of the pandemic. We strive to do the best by our staff and by our customers, and we're really sorry that wasn't your experience. Like we said, if you felt you could get in touch, we'd appreciate it, as there may be things we could learn from your experience.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 26 Reviews

Popular Careers with Wolseley UK Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Wolseley UK? Share Your Experiences

Wolseley UK logo
or