Wolseley UK Manager Reviews

Updated Jun 21, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 56 of over 237 reviews

3.7
58%
Recommend to a Friend
50%
Approve of CEO
Wolseley UK Chief Executive Officer  Simon Oakland
Simon Oakland
12 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great teamworking company

    Jun 21, 2022 - Assistant Branch Manager in Warwick, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Dedicated to customer service with lots of support to get the right things to customers at the right time. Fantastic online services.

    Cons

    Nothing everything is perfect but everyone pulls together.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Wolseley UK Response

    Employee Engagement Partner

    Hi there, Wow - five stars! We'll most definitely take that as a positive! We absolutely agree that providing best-in-class customer service is something we are 100% dedicated to. Our brand-new company values (which we're sure you'll have seen) serve to reinforce this further still. We're also really pleased to learn that you feel you receive the right support to help you serve our customers in the best possible way. Please also be assured that we'll never rest on our laurels and are always striving to improve, so please continue to share your feedback (good and bad!) through our internal channels, and through our anonymous engagement surveys. We genuinely do read every single comment, and this helps to shape how we operate moving forward. Kind regards, WUK Engagement Team

  2. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Aiming high

    May 19, 2022 - Human Resources Specialist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Customer focused Lots of initiatives to get involved with Business managers are great

    Cons

    Lack of structure to HR plan Chosen few get looked after

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Wolseley UK Response

    Employee Engagement Partner

    Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. It's great to know that you enjoyed the many initiatives we offer and that you had a good rapport with business managers during your time with us. Please also be assured that, in HR, we have undergone a restructure whilst playing a key role in the recent acquisition of several new businesses and launching new tools and initiatives such as Workday and our Wolseley Talent Guild. As a result, the HR function has achieved great things and has even been recognised with a couple of awards and accolades externally. Kind regards, WUK Engagement Team

  3. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Not bad

    May 13, 2022 - Branch Manager in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Excellent systems for customers makes role easier with good background support.

    Cons

    Cut throat and don't allow much time for performance of business

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Wolseley UK Response

    Employee Engagement Partner

    Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to review your experiences with us. We're glad you liked our systems and that you felt they were conducive to efficient working - this is really encouraging to learn! We welcome all constructive feedback and will also take the less impressive aspects on board too. Kind regards, WUK Engagement Team

  4. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Branch Manager

    Apr 27, 2022 - Branch Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good team in branch to work with.

    Cons

    Head office and senior management detached from what is happening at the branch level.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Wolseley UK Response

    Employee Engagement Partner

    Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We’re pleased to learn that you enjoyed the cultural aspects of life at Wolseley – it’s a bit part of what we are. Regarding your comments on management structure and those in support service roles; the way in which managers, branch teams and support teams work together is something we are actively seeking to improve, having carried out recent research into how we can collaborate better. We know this is something we can get better at and so that is what we’re aiming to do. Thanks again for your feedback! Kind regards, WUK Engagement Team

  5. 4.0
    Current Contractor

    Good culture

    Mar 28, 2022 - Project Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good business culture top down

    Cons

    Some branches dated in appearance

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Profit first

    Mar 16, 2022 - Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great team who worked well

    Cons

    Profit rewarded over behaviour of managers

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Wolseley UK Response

    Employee Engagement Partner

    Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We're really pleased to learn that you enjoyed being part of the team you were in, though it's unfortunate that you feel our culture - in your experience - was too profit driven. Our culture and our collective understanding of how we work together is very important to us and something we're always striving to improve. To that end, we will shortly be launching some new company values as part of our ongoing mission to ensure doing the right things are recognised and rewarded. Many thanks, WUK Engagement Team

  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great Opportunities!

    Feb 12, 2022 - Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Plenty of space for promotion across multiple brands within the business. Opportunity for financial reward for those that are successful. Free, in depth training courses.

    Cons

    Tight headcount in the branches. Recruitment authorisation (especially for direct replacement) timescale puts unnecessary pressure on branches.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Wolseley UK Response

    Employee Engagement Partner

    Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We're thrilled that you agree that our opportunities for growth and development are abundant. Our award-winning Talent Guild goes from strength to strength and has been a great tool for upward mobility for a number of colleagues across the business. Kind regards, WUK Engagement Team

  8. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Enjoyable career

    Feb 1, 2022 - Branch Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Company trust you to get on with your job. Not micromanaged.

    Cons

    Salary can take a long time to increase.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Wolseley UK Response

    Employee Engagement Partner

    Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. It's really great that you feel empowered to take the initiative in your role - after all, no one wants to feel as though they're being micromanaged! Our pay structure is under regular review, but these things do take time to get right unfortunately. Kind regards, WUK Engagement Team

  9. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Salary

    Jan 25, 2022 - Test Manager in London, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    good Work life balance and working atmosphere

    Cons

    Not applicable at this point

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Sales

    Jan 28, 2022 - Account Manager in Leicester, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great team ethic, good benefits

    Cons

    Senior Management don't listen to ideas

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Wolseley UK Response

    Employee Engagement Partner

    Hi there, Thank you for your review. It's great to learn that you enjoy being part of your team and that you like what we offer in terms of benefits. However, we are disappointed to note that you feel senior management doesn't listen to ideas - this is something we are working on as we speak in the wake of the engagement survey. We're paying very close attention to collaboration and how we get all parts of the business at all levels to work better together and we are absolutely determined to ensure we see improvement on this. Please do keep an eye out for internal communications on this very subject, and feel free to contact our Employee Engagement Team if there's anything you'd like to discuss. Kind regards, WUK Engagement Team

Viewing 1 - 10 of 56 Reviews

Popular Careers with Wolseley UK Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Wolseley UK? Share Your Experiences

Wolseley UK logo
or