Wolseley UK Reviews

Updated Aug 9, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 236 of over 245 reviews

3.4
58%
Recommend to a Friend
54%
Approve of CEO
Wolseley UK Chief Executive Officer  Simon Oakland
Simon Oakland
42 Ratings
Pros
  • "Company has Good share save scheme(in 7 reviews)

  • "Good people, friendly atmosphere, left alone to get on with the job with minimal supervision, remote working was possible even before lockdown(in 7 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Can be hard work with challenging customer needs and it can be long hours(in 7 reviews)

  • "Unsure of what the future holds in Wolseley UK(in 7 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great teamworking company

      Jun 21, 2022 - Assistant Branch Manager in Warwick, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Dedicated to customer service with lots of support to get the right things to customers at the right time. Fantastic online services.

      Cons

      Nothing everything is perfect but everyone pulls together.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Wolseley UK Response

      Employee Engagement Partner

      Hi there, Wow - five stars! We'll most definitely take that as a positive! We absolutely agree that providing best-in-class customer service is something we are 100% dedicated to. Our brand-new company values (which we're sure you'll have seen) serve to reinforce this further still. We're also really pleased to learn that you feel you receive the right support to help you serve our customers in the best possible way. Please also be assured that we'll never rest on our laurels and are always striving to improve, so please continue to share your feedback (good and bad!) through our internal channels, and through our anonymous engagement surveys. We genuinely do read every single comment, and this helps to shape how we operate moving forward. Kind regards, WUK Engagement Team

    2. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Pay rise and enhanced maternity leave

      Aug 2, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      This year's pay rise has been generous and maternity leave is going up to 26 weeks

      Cons

      Not enough staff to cover unforeseen situations.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Wolseley UK Response

      Employee Engagement Partner

      Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts following the recent enhancements to our pay and general benefits offering. As you'll have seen in the communications that have gone out via us (The Employee Engagement Team), our owners and the Leadership Team are very much aware of the challenges that everyone is facing with regards to the cost of living etc., and so they are pleased to have been able to offer such enhancements at this time. Kind regards, WUK Engagement Team

    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Nice company to work for

      Jul 26, 2022 - Administrator in Stoke-on-Trent, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good environment with friendly colleagues. Excellent manager.

      Cons

      Some unrealistic targets and long hours.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Wolseley UK Response

      Employee Engagement Partner

      Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. We're really pleased to discover that you enjoy your immediate working environment is a positive and friendly one - long may that continue! However, it is disappointing to note that you feel some of your targets are 'unrealistic' - we don't feel that this should be the case. Please be reminded that you'll soon be having a performance conversation with your line manager (if you haven't done so already!), and this will give you the ideal opportunity to raise such issues with a view to working towards an appropriate solution. Kind regards, WUK Engagement Team

    4. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Great if you want to take on responsibility and not get paid for it.

      Aug 9, 2022 - Warehouse Assistant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Weekends off. Hour lunches. bank holidays off.

      Cons

      Expected to learn and know all job roles inculding managers roles because you get no cover when people take their holidays.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great place to work

      Jul 19, 2022 - Sales Assistant in Norwich, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great rate of pay. Good amounts of holiday.

      Cons

      Long days. Stock take is not fun!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Wolseley UK Response

      Employee Engagement Partner

      Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your time with us. We're really pleased to learn that you felt your pay and benefits package was satisfactory. We are always striving to offer what we can to ensure our employees are paid fairly for the work they do and that our wider offering provides access to a decent standard of living. To that end, we have recently enhanced our offering amid the current cost of living challenges. If you'd ever like to return, please visit www.wolseleycareers.co.uk and see what opportunities are available. Kind regards, WUK Engagement Team

    6. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Steady and secure job just not very fulfilling

      Jul 5, 2022 - IT Technician in Ripon, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible workload excluding project demands at times Recently converted to a mostly work from home culture In most teams, good-spirited colleagues and line managers

      Cons

      Drought of general technical skills to be found in many areas. Heads of department have been in position for too long leading to blind spots and few fresh ideas. Hard to get inspired as a technical resource in this sector

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Wolseley UK Response

      Employee Engagement Partner

      Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to share such detailed and constructive feedback - you certainly raise some excellent points. As you'll be aware, the business is always seeking ways to improve and we do this by consulting our colleagues each step of the way, and colleagues should always feel as though they have a voice. With that in mind, we will take this feedback on board - both the good and the bad. As always, if you have any general issues you'd like to raise and get answers on from senior leaders, you can do so via your Colleague Forum Rep. Kind regards, WUK Engagement Team

    7. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Misleading

      Jul 8, 2022 - Customer Service Advisor in Halifax, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good colleagues Multiple locations so always one near you

      Cons

      No proper training Unrealistic targets If targets are met, bonus is never paid out No lunch break unless you don't want paying

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Wolseley UK Response

      Employee Engagement Partner

      Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. The suggestion that staff have been lied to and that agreements relating to bonuses have been reneged on is very serious. We refute these claims and believe them to be completely unsubstantiated. In addition, all our staff receive the necessary training for their role. This is to ensure that we are both legally compliant and that everyone is equipped to carry out their role effectively. What's more, for those who wish to develop their skills further, we have an award-winning talent development programme in place to facilitate this - and many employees have taken advantage of this to great effect. As a result, our engagement score in this area continues to improve with very survey. Kind regards, WUK Engagement Team

    8. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Okay

      Jun 30, 2022 - Branch Manager in Gillingham, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good Staff fun to work for

      Cons

      Senior Managers are no good and dont care

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Wolseley UK Response

      Employee Engagement Partner

      Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. We're pleased to discover that there are aspects of working here that you see as positive, but equally, we're disappointed that you appear to feel a sense of disillusionment towards senior management. Whilst we are not in a position to comment on specific individuals or cases, we can assure you that, generally, colleagues are working as hard as they can to achieve our common objectives. As always, if you have any specific concerns and you'd like to raise these anonymously, you can do so by contacting your Employee Engagement Team (the ask-us-anything address!), or better still, your Colleague Forum rep. Kind regards, WUK Engagement Team

    9. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Okay Employer

      Jun 30, 2022 - National Account Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The company is big on health and safety and growing as a business, there are good benefits in regards to health and safety.

      Cons

      The salaries are not competitive generally based on a geographical basis, meaning everyone is on similar salaries regardless of where they are working/living in the country. The can be quite archaic- in their ways and making money always comes first.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Wolseley UK Response

      Employee Engagement Partner

      Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to share such detailed and constructive feedback. As you'll be aware, the business is always seeking ways to improve and we do this by consulting our colleagues each step of the way. With that in mind, we will take this feedback on board - both the good and the bad. As always, if you have any general issues you'd like to raise and get answers on from senior leaders, you can do so via your Colleague Forum Rep. Kind regards, WUK Engagement Team

    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Decent place to work.

      Jun 13, 2022 - Customer Care Representative in Plymouth, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The pay is decent and great work colleagues.

      Cons

      If you don’t know much about plumbing it’s difficult.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Wolseley UK Response

      Employee Engagement Partner

      Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. It's great to learn that you're happy with your pay and that you enjoy being part of the team you're in - long may that continue! Many thanks, WUK Engagement Team

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 236 Reviews

    Wolseley UK Reviews FAQs

    Wolseley UK has an overall rating of 3.4 out of 5, based on over 245 reviews left anonymously by employees. 58% of employees would recommend working at Wolseley UK to a friend and 55% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

    According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Wolseley UK employees rate their compensation and benefits as 2.9 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Wolseley UK. This rating has improved by 3% over the last 12 months.

    58% of Wolseley UK employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Wolseley UK 3.1 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.2 for culture and values and 3.2 for career opportunities.

    According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Wolseley UK to be career development, benefits, coworkers and the cons to be senior leadership, culture, management.

    Popular Careers with Wolseley UK Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Wolseley UK? Share Your Experiences

    Wolseley UK logo
    or