Wolseley UK Reviews

Updated Jul 28, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 165 of over 172 reviews

3.2
45%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Wolseley UK Chief Executive Officer  Simon Oakland
Simon Oakland
15 Ratings
Pros
  • "Has a share save scheme and competitive pension(in 7 reviews)

  • "Company has Good share save scheme(in 7 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "long hours(in 6 reviews)

  • "valid evidence shown the higher management talk you round in circles so you have no chance of winning(in 5 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Very good work environment and great staff.

      Jul 28, 2021 - Hgv Driver Class II in Belfast, Northern Ireland, Northern Ireland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Small amount of drops compared to multi drop work.

      Cons

      Can be boring when you finish early.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee

      IF YOU VALUE YOUR WORK LIFE BALANCE AVOID!

      Jun 14, 2021 - Business Support 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      No pros that I could say honestly

      Cons

      This company is in absolute turmoil from top to bottom! I worked with the company before it started it's transformation but over the last 4 years it has ripped out its own heart. It has thrown money at 3rd party companies and contractors, taken advice from people outside the industry who wrecked the business model and ignored the advice of those who it had brought in to review where it was going wrong. Those that were once loyal to the company are either worked until they burn out or have given up and moved on. The Leadership team all have their own agenda meaning the right hand has no clue at all about the left is doing and this company is like a dog being wagged by many tails. The goal posts are consistently being moved and there is no hope of personal development. Some staff have been placed on consultation so many times that they practically beg for the pay off just to be free to walk away! Staff are over worked at all levels and the salary for just about every role here is below the industry average. If you value you work life balance and stability in your working environment then run for the hills!

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Wolseley UK Response

      Wolseley Feedback

      The picture you paint is not the reality of many of the colleagues that work here, as shown in our reviews, but if you feel that way we're genuinely sorry and wished we'd had the opportunity to talk to you about it before you left - either through our colleague forums, our local listening groups or any of the multiple ways our leadership team reaches out directly to our colleagues, who we value deeply. To be fair, you're right in some quarters, the strategy that your referred to: blending our businesses and expertise under single brands and sites didn't deliver what was expected. But we've seen a strong course correction and the strategy of recent years is winning. Our customers value our specialist knowledge, product ranges and the services we provide and we're seeing sustainable, profitable growth right across our business. This means we're actively investing in colleague numbers, our branch estate and our digital strategy. And, importantly, our Wolseley Talent Guild. Personal development is a massive focus for us, and we're delivering huge amounts in this area, with well over 100 colleagues starting professional qualifications in the last six months alone. We've probably gone on quite a bit now, and wouldn't normally, but we care: about our colleagues and what we offer them, and the type of business we're building and growing, and we wanted to reflect that in response. Thanks for taking the time to feedback, we appreciate it.

    3. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Company overview

      Jul 23, 2021 - Showroom Manager in York, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Hardwooking, professional team who are dedicated

      Cons

      Company is struggling to grow and is losing a lot of staff

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      If you value a work life balance don't bother.

      Mar 4, 2021 - Branch Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Met some under appreciated staff who were faultless but misled.

      Cons

      Too many chiefs not enough Indians. Old man's club hierarchy Arcaic approach to business Dillusions of grandeur. Obseen and unrealistic expectations of Staff No support. Blame culture.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Wolseley UK Response

      Head of Talent Acquisition

      Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback, and we're sorry that your experience wasn't a positive one. It'd be great if you could get in touch via our corporate website as there might be some insights from your time with us that we could learn from. For our part, we do try and foster a entrepreneurial approach with our branch managers and have many very successful branches ran within that spirit and that are performing well (and are happy) as a result, with our average tenure and time in post way ahead of the average in the sector. With that said, we're still a large corporate, with competing priorities all over our business, and we make no apologies for managing things like resourcing and workforce numbers closely - it's the responsible thing to do, particularly over recent times as we've battled with the trading conditions of the pandemic. We strive to do the best by our staff and by our customers, and we're really sorry that wasn't your experience. Like we said, if you felt you could get in touch, we'd appreciate it, as there may be things we could learn from your experience.

    5. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Wolseley review

      Jul 5, 2021 - Business Owner in Harrogate, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Everything done properly and transparent

      Cons

      Typical big company. Treat as a payroll number

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Good

      Jul 6, 2021 - Administrative 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Discount, hours, training, systems, benefits

      Cons

      No cons - easy work life

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Not A Bad Company To Work For

      Jun 25, 2021 - Marketing Manager in Royal Leamington Spa, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work Facilities are very good Location Pay Bonus People

      Cons

      Business Undergoing Change Work/Life balance can be tough Company Plan not always clear Good Staff leave Regular reorganisations

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Doooo

      Jul 24, 2021 - Sales Associate in Greenford, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Zero zero zero zero and zero

      Cons

      Lots, too many to mention

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Great Company to work for

      Jun 28, 2021 - Technical Lead in Ripon, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible Develop staff and like to promote internally

      Cons

      Ripon Head office location not easily accessible via public transport

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Wolseley UK Response

      Wolseley Feedback

      Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback and we're glad that you recognise the efforts to develop our people and support them to progress. Your feedback on the Ripon site location is really useful, we're a big employer in the area, have roots across the community, and are currently renovating and modernising the site - so we're not planning on a move any time soon! That said, we're always looking to attract top talent to our teams there (and keep the great people we have!), and we'll take that feedback away and see what we can do to make life easier for people hoping to commute via public transport to the site. Thanks again!

    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      It's not that bad

      May 20, 2021 - Regional Account Manager in Warrington, North West England, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      good company and they tend to try look after the staff on a local/team level

      Cons

      the leadership team are out of touch with the customer and employees and tend to make silly decisions that cost 100s of thousands/millions and reverse them a couple of years down the road costing 100s of thousands/millions, the money could have been invested in different areas and had better results for example delivery vehicles for the smaller branches of kept the Worcester distribution depot open

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Wolseley UK Response

      Head of Talent Acquisition

      Thank you for the honest feedback, and glad to see you see and appreciate the efforts to look after our people. And we totally accept and recognise the feedback on the strategy in previous years, but hopefully you can see that our Leadership Team has us on the right path (which we've now been told in back to back colleague surveys!), delivering sustainable growth, and supporting our specialist trades with the service, expertise and products that will see us and them grown for years to come. Thanks again!

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 165 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Wolseley UK Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Wolseley UK? Share Your Experiences

    Wolseley UK logo
    or