Wolseley UK Sales Assistant Reviews

Updated Jun 13, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 4 of over 237 reviews

1.8
3%
Recommend to a Friend
Wolseley UK Chief Executive Officer  Simon Oakland
Simon Oakland
0 Rating

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

  1. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Experience

    May 31, 2019 - Sales Assistant in London, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good environment, stable employment, bonus every 3 months

    Cons

    Can be very busy in the winter months

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Woeful company, bullying is accepted and rewarded

    Jun 13, 2022 - Sales Assistant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Some decent work colleagues and paid on time

    Cons

    Bullying, low pay, lack of staff. No instruction and guidance and constant pressure, place is very messy and dangerous, I advised this when I left though doubt if anything was done about it.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Wolseley UK Response

    Employee Engagement Partner

    Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Here at Wolseley, we have a zero-tolerance policy when it comes to bullying. All formal complaints are taken seriously and dealt with confidentially and promptly, and so any instances of such behaviour could and should have been reported so that the appropriate action could be taken. Normally, cases will be concluded within two weeks, subject to the complexity of the investigation. Regarding your comment on pay, we believe that all employees should have access to a decent standard of living, which is why we are committed to paying - as a minimum - what we call the 'Wolseley Wage' which is the National Living Wage plus 30p. All our salaries are very competitive within the market, and this is under regular review to ensure that this remains the case. In addition, all our staff receive full training for their role through our Learning and Development programmes, while a number of opportunities to upskill are available through our award-winning Wolseley Talent Guild. That being said, it is extremely disappointing to note that you felt there were safety issues in your place of work. Safety remains our number one priority and the business expects impeccable standards to be upheld at all times. However, please note that we do have our 'Speak Up' whistle-blowing service where colleagues can report any forms of malpractice anonymously. Again, all complaints will be taken seriously and are subject to a full investigation. Kind regards, WUK Engagement Team

  3. 3.0
    Former Employee

    not bad

    Feb 7, 2022 - Sales Assistant in Dunfermline, Scotland
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    good company with lots of chances to progress

    Cons

    large company but sometimes forget the personal touch

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Wolseley UK Response

    Employee Engagement Partner

    Hi there, Thank you for your comments. We're sorry that you're no longer part of our team, but thank you for drawing attention to the many career development opportunities available to our colleagues. Perhaps we shall see you again one day? Kind regards, WUK Engagement Team

  4. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    It's gone from bad to worse.

    Jan 29, 2022 - Sales Assistant in Manchester, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Relationships with colleagues and customers. The job itself is quite fun and enjoyable.

    Cons

    Low pay for the work you're expected to carry out and the knowledge you're expected to have. Short staffed with management not caring and failing to provide cover. Lack of progression despite it being talked about as a possibility. No communication between upper management and those working in the shops. Mental health and stress not taken seriously - expected to just get on with it and pull in consistent figures year-on-year despite being left with 50% of the staff we had 2 years ago.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Wolseley UK Response

    Employee Engagement Partner

    Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are disappointed to learn that your experience with us seems to be generally quite negative at the moment. We’re always striving to improve our offering to our employees and our ways of working, and we’d like to take this opportunity to respond to some of the claims made here. Firstly, regarding your point on pay: the business has gone to great lengths in recent times to benchmark and rightsize salaries for employees in a wide range of roles, and this has ensured that what we offer is extremely competitive. In addition, career progression is absolutely achievable – we have an award-winning initiative to facilitate this in the Wolseley Talent Guild, with hundreds of employees having already taken full advantage of the development opportunities available to them through it. We accept that lines of communication between senior management and branch staff could be improved, and this is one of the many things we are working on in the wake of our employee engagement survey. Lastly, on your point regarding mental health and stress: please be assured that this is something the company takes very seriously. We already have a number of Mental Health First Aiders and Champions stationed across the business and we were one of the first in our sector to introduce this on such a large scale. This is regularly promoted across our channels, and to help us maximise this even further, all line managers will be completing awareness training starting April 2022. In our annual engagement surveys, we ask all employees to indicate the extent to which they agree or disagree that the amount of stress in their job is manageable, and this improved by 11% percentage points between 2020 and 2021. If you do have specific concerns and you’d like to discuss this further, you are of course most welcome to contact our Employee Engagement Team for additional information and support. Kind regards, WUK Engagement Team

Viewing 1 - 4 of 4 English Reviews

Popular Careers with Wolseley UK Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Wolseley UK? Share Your Experiences

Wolseley UK logo
or