Wolseley UK Sales Reviews

Updated Jul 19, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 40 of over 245 reviews

2.4
23%
Recommend to a Friend
34%
Approve of CEO
Wolseley UK Chief Executive Officer  Simon Oakland
Simon Oakland
9 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Really good

    Aug 20, 2021 - Sales Advisor - Full Time in Shrewsbury, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Management are supportive, shifts are good Monday to Friday, pay is good for job role

    Cons

    Can be busy if understaff

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Wolseley UK Response

    Hi there, Thank you for the positive feedback. Great to hear you're happy with your pay and that you're well supported by your manager.

  2. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Great place to work

    Jul 19, 2022 - Sales Assistant in Norwich, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great rate of pay. Good amounts of holiday.

    Cons

    Long days. Stock take is not fun!

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Wolseley UK Response

    Employee Engagement Partner

    Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your time with us. We're really pleased to learn that you felt your pay and benefits package was satisfactory. We are always striving to offer what we can to ensure our employees are paid fairly for the work they do and that our wider offering provides access to a decent standard of living. To that end, we have recently enhanced our offering amid the current cost of living challenges. If you'd ever like to return, please visit www.wolseleycareers.co.uk and see what opportunities are available. Kind regards, WUK Engagement Team

  3. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Not great

    Jun 21, 2022 - Sales Associate in Ripon, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Customers were always great and team

    Cons

    Constant change and poor wages

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Wolseley UK Response

    Employee Engagement Partner

    Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences. We're pleased to find that you enjoyed being part of the team you were in. Regarding wages, (and this may have been since your departure) the business has undertaken a business-wide pay review which saw a number of salaries 'right-sized', with a number of colleagues seeing their salaries increase. Ensuring that each colleague receives a fair salary is clearly a very important task for us to keep on top of, and we are confident that our pay structure is very competitive within our market. Many thanks, WUK Engagement Team

  4. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 10 years

    Good company not managed

    Jun 1, 2022 - Technical Sales 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Branch level staff are excellent Stock availability is excellent

    Cons

    Staffing levels are a joke with pressure to achieve targets with no input from senior management of how to achieve targets and grow a business

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Wolseley UK Response

    Employee Engagement Partner

    Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. It seems some of your experiences were positive while others were less so. We appreciate that branches can sometimes come under pressure due to increased workloads, but overcoming these challenges should be a team effort, with senior managers doing playing their part too – please continue to raise any issues you may have internally to ensure you’re getting the support you need. Please also note that, particularly given the wider economic challenges faced in recent times, any measures taken the minimise costs will have been taken in order to safeguard the future of the business and to ensure that we continue to thrive. Kind regards, WUK Engagement Team

  5. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Woeful company, bullying is accepted and rewarded

    Jun 13, 2022 - Sales Assistant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Some decent work colleagues and paid on time

    Cons

    Bullying, low pay, lack of staff. No instruction and guidance and constant pressure, place is very messy and dangerous, I advised this when I left though doubt if anything was done about it.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Wolseley UK Response

    Employee Engagement Partner

    Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Here at Wolseley, we have a zero-tolerance policy when it comes to bullying. All formal complaints are taken seriously and dealt with confidentially and promptly, and so any instances of such behaviour could and should have been reported so that the appropriate action could be taken. Normally, cases will be concluded within two weeks, subject to the complexity of the investigation. Regarding your comment on pay, we believe that all employees should have access to a decent standard of living, which is why we are committed to paying - as a minimum - what we call the 'Wolseley Wage' which is the National Living Wage plus 30p. All our salaries are very competitive within the market, and this is under regular review to ensure that this remains the case. In addition, all our staff receive full training for their role through our Learning and Development programmes, while a number of opportunities to upskill are available through our award-winning Wolseley Talent Guild. That being said, it is extremely disappointing to note that you felt there were safety issues in your place of work. Safety remains our number one priority and the business expects impeccable standards to be upheld at all times. However, please note that we do have our 'Speak Up' whistle-blowing service where colleagues can report any forms of malpractice anonymously. Again, all complaints will be taken seriously and are subject to a full investigation. Kind regards, WUK Engagement Team

  6. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 8 years

    Only a progressive company on paper.....

    Apr 15, 2022 - Technical Sales in Northampton, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Benefits, although reduced even further

    Cons

    CEO only outdoor cash Senior leadership team doesn't know left hand from right hand Has a "face fits" culture, so only expect a promotion in certain regions if your Jose is already brown

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Wolseley UK Response

    Employee Engagement Partner

    Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Our Reward & Benefits offering is increasing in a wide range of areas, giving our employees (and in many cases, their immediate family members too) access to great tools and initiatives designed to support physical, mental and financial wellbeing. Therefore, your claim that our benefits offering is being reduced doesn't ring true. In addition, while you may have felt as though you were unduly overlooked for promotions due to what you describe as a ‘face fits’ culture, this is absolutely and unequivocally at odds with our Diversity Policy which is in place to reaffirm our commitment to providing equal opportunities and fair treatment and to ensure that we do not unlawfully discriminate. Please note that if you felt your career progress was unfairly hindered by others during your time with us, this should have been brought to the attention of our HR team who would have investigated the matter. Kind regards, WUK Engagement Team

  7. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    You get what you're payed for - Derby Road Branch

    Apr 11, 2022 - Retail Sales Associate in Ipswich, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You have an employee discount.

    Cons

    Nothing is modernised, there is no forward-thinking when it comes to daily efficiencies. If you do not fall into the clique, you can forget about it. You have your day to clean the toilets too :s I decided not to do that.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Wolseley UK Response

    Employee Engagement Partner

    Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We're sorry to hear that our employee discount scheme was the only thing you could think of when asked to pick out some positives - pretty damning! I understand you're no longer part of our team, however, please note that our processes and how we collaborate better are two areas we're really working hard to address following our most recent employee engagement survey. Please also note that if you felt you were treated unfairly or asked to carry out tasks that you shouldn't have been, then you would have had the option to raise this with your manager or your manager's manager. Many thanks, WUK Engagement Team

  8. 3.0
    Former Employee

    not bad

    Feb 7, 2022 - Sales Assistant in Dunfermline, Scotland
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    good company with lots of chances to progress

    Cons

    large company but sometimes forget the personal touch

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Wolseley UK Response

    Employee Engagement Partner

    Hi there, Thank you for your comments. We're sorry that you're no longer part of our team, but thank you for drawing attention to the many career development opportunities available to our colleagues. Perhaps we shall see you again one day? Kind regards, WUK Engagement Team

  9. 3.0
    Current Employee

    National Company

    Jan 27, 2022 - Sales Manager in Bristol, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    best operational toolbox in the industry

    Cons

    havent quite got the people agenda right yet.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Wolseley UK Response

    Employee Engagement Partner

    Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. Please rest assured we're always looking for ways to improve and our people are at the forefront of everything we do well. We do what we can to engage with all colleagues across the business through our various communication channels, and we always take on board your feedback received through engagement surveys. If you have anything you'd like to raise, or a particular query, you can always contact our Employee Engagement Team. Kind regards, WUK Engagement Team

  10. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    It's gone from bad to worse.

    Jan 29, 2022 - Sales Assistant in Manchester, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Relationships with colleagues and customers. The job itself is quite fun and enjoyable.

    Cons

    Low pay for the work you're expected to carry out and the knowledge you're expected to have. Short staffed with management not caring and failing to provide cover. Lack of progression despite it being talked about as a possibility. No communication between upper management and those working in the shops. Mental health and stress not taken seriously - expected to just get on with it and pull in consistent figures year-on-year despite being left with 50% of the staff we had 2 years ago.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Wolseley UK Response

    Employee Engagement Partner

    Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are disappointed to learn that your experience with us seems to be generally quite negative at the moment. We’re always striving to improve our offering to our employees and our ways of working, and we’d like to take this opportunity to respond to some of the claims made here. Firstly, regarding your point on pay: the business has gone to great lengths in recent times to benchmark and rightsize salaries for employees in a wide range of roles, and this has ensured that what we offer is extremely competitive. In addition, career progression is absolutely achievable – we have an award-winning initiative to facilitate this in the Wolseley Talent Guild, with hundreds of employees having already taken full advantage of the development opportunities available to them through it. We accept that lines of communication between senior management and branch staff could be improved, and this is one of the many things we are working on in the wake of our employee engagement survey. Lastly, on your point regarding mental health and stress: please be assured that this is something the company takes very seriously. We already have a number of Mental Health First Aiders and Champions stationed across the business and we were one of the first in our sector to introduce this on such a large scale. This is regularly promoted across our channels, and to help us maximise this even further, all line managers will be completing awareness training starting April 2022. In our annual engagement surveys, we ask all employees to indicate the extent to which they agree or disagree that the amount of stress in their job is manageable, and this improved by 11% percentage points between 2020 and 2021. If you do have specific concerns and you’d like to discuss this further, you are of course most welcome to contact our Employee Engagement Team for additional information and support. Kind regards, WUK Engagement Team

Viewing 1 - 10 of 40 Reviews

Popular Careers with Wolseley UK Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Wolseley UK? Share Your Experiences

Wolseley UK logo
or