Find jobs for Supervisor

Wolseley UK Supervisor Reviews

Updated Jun 12, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 11 of over 245 reviews

2.1
18%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Wolseley UK Chief Executive Officer  Simon Oakland
Simon Oakland
3 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Best out of a bad bunch

    Feb 10, 2022 - Branch Supervisor in Birmingham, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great knowledge experience, often good laughs, great team

    Cons

    Long days, understaffed, stressful & tiring

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Wolseley UK Response

    Employee Engagement Partner

    Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We're pleased to see that you enjoy working within your team - workplace culture is very important to us. However, we are disappointed to note that you feel your job can be stressful. As per our recent employee engagement survey, we are continuing to explore ways to make life easier for our employees in a way that safeguards the viability of our business. Kind regards, WUK Engagement Team

  2. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 10 years

    New Manager a Bully Had to step down from my role

    Jun 12, 2022 - Supervisor in Barnsley, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Some employees are great and Goid tradespeople

    Cons

    Cant report managers as it’s always you in wrong. Cant voice any concerns Old manager left new manager came in basically tried pushing me out got another meme et of staff from his old branch to come and soon sat him down and made him start doing my job shoved me out on van. Also he was approached for the job by area manager so interview and job advertising process was all a sham as it was already decided who was getting job. He used to tell you to do something and say to you if it’s not done by time you finish it’ll b ok I’ll sort it then you’d come in next day and be shouted at in front of everyone for not finishing it

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Wolseley UK Response

    Employee Engagement Partner

    Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We’re saddened to learn that you feel this way. Please be assured that the business has a zero-tolerance policy when it comes to bullying or harassment of any kind. Any reported cases will always be treated with the appropriate level of care and are subject to a full internal investigation. Please also note that we have official processes in place both for onboarding new colleagues and for those moving roles within the business. All activity of this nature is subject to these processes, and if you suspected that they had been bypassed or circumvented in any way, our internal whistle-blowing service is available for all colleagues to report these concerns anonymously. As someone who spent more than a decade with the business, it’s a real shame that your time with us came to an end in such circumstances. Thank you for your contribution during that time. Kind regards, WUK Engagement Team

  3. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Stressful

    May 13, 2022 - Supervisor in Hereford, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Nothing i can think of

    Cons

    Everything, Long hours, no lunch, stressfull, no appreciation.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Wolseley UK Response

    Employee Engagement Partner

    Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We're sorry to hear you're not having a great time at the moment. We're particularly concerned that you appear not to be taking a lunch break - which you are of course entitled to take. Please be absolutely clear that under no circumstance should you be expected not to take these breaks. If you feel this is something you'd like to raise, or you'd like any additional support (anonymous, of course) regarding this, or the level of stress you are currently experiencing, you can always contact our Employee Engagement Team who will be more than happy to discuss. If need be, we will also signpost you elsewhere for additional support. Kind regards, WUK Engagement Team

  4. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great when you do everything

    Dec 22, 2021 - Branch Supervisor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good wage, good hours, great customers

    Cons

    The hr department are useless, I put a complaint in regarding my boss which was then not dealt with on the day so of my boss. My then boss and the other employee made my life hell and made complaints about me to hr that lead to my dismissal because two people against one person

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    So so

    Aug 24, 2021 - Warehouse Supervisor in Manchester, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Discount, Going rate of pay in industry, 25 days holiday.

    Cons

    Hours, No flexibility,. Laziness of long serving staff. Clueless management

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Wolseley UK Response

    Employee Engagement Partner

    Hi there, Thanks for leaving us a review. We're pleased to learn that you enjoy the perks of your job and are satisfied with your salary, but it is disappointing to read that you are disappointed with the output of some of your colleagues. If you do feel that you aren't receiving the appropriate level of support from various managers, you will have an opportunity to tell us more when we roll out our next engagement survey in a few weeks. Kind regards, WUK Engagement Team

  6. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Worst company to work for

    Jul 5, 2021 - Supervisor in Gainsborough, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The tradesman customers were great

    Cons

    Too many to mention very little training and make one mistake or error of judgement they will fail you on your probation terrible management. Major staff turnover. left one star because you have to to submit.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Tough Industry for Women

    Mar 11, 2021 - Shift Supervisor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Company based training is done really well. You will have plenty of opportunities to train in various aspects of the company and gain extensive product knowledge. These trains can result in qualifications as well if you wish to pursue. As Wolseley is a large company, there is potential for advancement within the various roles.

    Cons

    This is a male dominate industry and working environment that struggles to accommodate women. If you are working at branch level, your time is not your own. Work life balance does not exist with many working overtime without compensation or recognition.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Wolseley UK Response

    Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review. We're really pleased to hear that you appreciate the training approach and ability to grow and advance in the business. Getting the Wolseley Talent Guild of the ground - with both the professional qualifications and apprenticeships, and the internal job-based training - has been a key focus and massive piece of work over the past year involving people from all over the business, so it's great to hear it's hitting the mark. On the points you raise about gender and work-life balance, you're absolutely right, and we're dead chuffed that you're listed as a current employee so you can help us get better in this space. We're seeing a lot more women enter our business and are always looking for ways to ensure we can make our business attractive to anyone that wants to build a career with us, regardless of gender, ethnicity or background. If you want to get on, we want to help you get on. But that starts with making working conditions the best we can for those colleagues that are already with us! We know and fully appreciate that over the past 12 months battling the pandemic colleagues have regularly had to go over and above, have worked additional hours, and performed duties outside of the normal day-to-day. We can't thank you enough, but know that as we emerge from the pandemic we need to ensure work-life balance is one of the things that stringer than before. If you've got ideas, or suggestions, it'd be amazing if you could feed these to your Rep on the Colleague Forum, who can ensure they're heard by the Leadership Team on your behalf. On the final point, on branch visits. Absolutely. All our Leadership Team regularly spend time in branches, distribution centres and other offices - but we had to stop that, restricting travel to ensure the safety of those working within the branches during Covid. We've got plans to get back on the road, which the Government guidelines allow more of from May onwards. Thanks again for getting in touch!

  8. 2.0
    Current Employee

    Ok

    Jan 7, 2021 - Retail Supervisor in Northampton, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good company when times are good

    Cons

    Never allowed enough staff so extremely busy

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Wolseley UK Response

    Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for taking the time to send us your feedback. The pandemic has been an incredibly busy and difficult time across all of our branches and colleagues and we fully appreciate the effort put in to maintain the essential service that our customers rely on us for. We endeavour to keep staffing levels at all branches at a sustainable level to maintain service and safety, and review our workforce management plans across our business on a weekly basis. That said, we will take your feedback on board, it is much appreciated.

  9. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Working at Wolseley

    Nov 16, 2020 - Branch Supervisor in London, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The relationship with your work colleagues and regular customers

    Cons

    Amount of work you were expected to do, lack of staff

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Wolseley UK Response

    Head of Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback, we really appreciate it. As we've said elsewhere on here, staffing has been really difficult throughout the pandemic which has been an incredibly busy time for our business - so balancing the colleagues we need in the branch to ensure we keep providing a great service has been a focus. We regularly review staffing levels (across our business on a weekly basis) to ensure we can maintain service and safety. Thanks again for taking the time.

  10. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Wolseley

    Jul 31, 2019 - Branch Supervisor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good work life balance, decent hours and flexible working hours. Can meet great people within the business.

    Cons

    No overtime paid, stocktakes at Christmas. Slow career progress. Very tick box exercise company. Reward system isn't great. Not really valued by senior management.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 11 Reviews

Popular Careers with Wolseley UK Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Wolseley UK? Share Your Experiences

Wolseley UK logo
or